We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Torre Dorada(Cusco)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$319
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$645
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,546)
Filter reviews
2,546 results
Traveler rating
2,140
293
70
33
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,140
293
70
33
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer monasteryopera singersopera nightgregorian chantslobby barbeautiful hotelmachu picchupresidential suitethe hiram bingham trainmain restaurantextra oxygenhistoric buildinghigh altitudebreakfast buffetthe main squarecoca teacentral courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 2,546 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Most excellent location only a short walk away from the main square and the San Blas area. This Orient Express hotel is by far an excellent choice in the city of Cusco - very accommodating in each and every way. Staff top notch. Beds divine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel Monasterio was one the highlights of our trip to Cusco. I wish I could add a plus to the five stars, or even add a sixth star. Converted from a monastery, the hotel somehow maintained the look and feel of the old monastery, but provided luxury accommodations at the same time. If we ever go back to Cusco, the Hotel Monasterio will be our choice. The location was perfect - just off the main square. The accommodations were excellent - spacious, comfortable, and decorated with original art work. Dining was also very good. We especially enjoyed "opera night", which is held during dinner every Tuesday and Thursday evenings. We also enjoyed seeing the chef hand pick fresh herbs from a small garden in the interior courtyard of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were told that all of the rooms are different. If you don't like your room, I would ask to see another one - it will likely be different.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were booked in here two nights as part of an organized tour.
A great location, a wonderful building, excellent rooms and amenities, perfect service, and dinner one of the nights we were there was accompanied by live opera arias with a very fine local mezzosoprano. This is really being pampered and we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel_Tzipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This in many respects is a lovely Hotel, which because of the nature of the building makes it hard to justify as a 5 star establishment.
The good..... Wonderful ambience, attentive staff, excellent food.
The bad...... You really need to book a luxury room as the monks cells did not convert into what we would find acceptable. Small dark and with no air conditioning. The luxury rooms have aircon, but wait for it, only available between 6pm and 6am!
There was no swimming pool which was no bad thing, as trying to exercise at that altitude would probably not be wise.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Monasterio in Cusco with a group of 11 travelers. The service, food, accommodations and attention to detail at this 400 year old landmark hotel were superb. All of our rooms had oxygen which helped us adjust to the high altitude. The staff knew our names after the first day. The room attendants gave the best turn-down service, leaving chocolates and amenities like L'Occitane soap. The porters delivered our bags quickly even though occupancy was at 100%. Compliments to the hotel management for having such a well trained staff.
KZFung

Room Tip: Inquire about the rooms with oxygen. They are more expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aumkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews