We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have fond memories of our stay at this hotel, from the spacious and comfortable room, the enormous bathroom, prompt and courteous attention to my altitude sickness and their administering oxygen, an afternoon enjoying the bar recovering from altitude sickness and taking a day off from touring, and the warmth and friendliness throughout. It is such a delightful hotel, and a welcome respite during a lengthy trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    256
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,076
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was very impressed by the setting of this hotel an old monastery updated to include all modern amenities while preserving key features of the original design, such as the heavy doors, original graffity in some walls, and the chapel. Outstanding service, excellent restaurant (american guests apparently cannot leave their baseball hats even for a five star dinner, but it is not the restaurant's fault). Music in the courtyard for breakfast, and other fine touches make this hotel special.
Highly recommended, a perfect complement when you visit a city with so much history.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urufenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great stay, charming hotel. Rooms are wide and clean. the hotel´s deco is really good.

Staff is fanstatic.
Only thing was that we arrived at 19:00 and the staff said we just missed the 18:30 free Pisco! shouldnt have told us that or gave us the drinks anyway!

totally recomend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for a couple days pre and post trekking to Machu Picchu. Upon arrival we were given a cup of Coca Tea while we completed check-in. Staff is very professional and courteous. They were also very helpful in arranging a car/driver to take us to Pisac Market. Our "city clothes" were stored at the hotel during our trek and when we arrived back at the hotel, our bags were already in our room. Breakfast was very good with plenty to chose from. Location is brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 62lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Before departing for the Inca Trail, we stayed at the Hotel Monasterio for 3 nights. The welcome upon arrival was wonderful. Great facility, and unique luxurious rooms with great breakfast. However they don't quite get there on all of the service. They messed up our dinner reservations two nights and also forgot our welcome cocktail. But the workers were always willing to help and make your stay great. The woman in the lobby bar was flawless with impeccable service. Also the man at guest services was incredible. So overall great hotel and people willing to help, but fell slightly short on great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this vintage-devine hotel as part of the Celebrity Expedition post cruise. Breakfast & dinner were both excellent. However, the room had a twist: with the high altitude, outside temperature should be cool in the evening but with the window closed for the whole day, it could be warm in the evening when we walked into the room. The thermostat only had heat but with no fan option, so we had to opened the patio door & window to cool down the room.. with no screen & a bit of security risk..

Afterwards, we found out there were rooms that had air conditioner or like another guest, asked for a fan to circulate the air..

Besides that, wonder experience especially the hotel chapel & the manicured courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_TO_Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We loved the ambience of this hotel. The room was a little on the small side and our view was of the airconditioner, but the surroundings compensated. The bed and bedding were made for a perfect sleep. It was very quiet. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast excellent. We were a little less than impressed with the Opera Night in the restaurant. Our meal, while good, was very rushed and the "opera" not quite what we expected.

Room Tip: If you are a little infirm, ask for a room on one level. The rooms evidently vary enormously in size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linton3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing