We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are kinder monasteries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There are kinder monasteries”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A tired building with bags of potential. However we found some of the front desk staff aggressive to the point of being offensive . I hate to say it but we felt that it might have just been stoked by old fashioned prejudice . The concierge desk employees were just incompetent and our dinner in the principal restaurant simply awful albeit our waiter was charming and attentive. As always with Orient Express Hotels guest services charged an excessive tariff . Sadly management don't seem to have woken up to the fact there is a lot of better product in town at 60-70 % of the room rate.
we wouldn't stay again even though Mirella the charming and professional front desk manager genuinely seemed to feel our comments were justified and handled our complaints very professionally . By the way if you decide to stay take a good torch in case you get a room like ours where the artificial lighting was awful.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy rooms and the rooms where you need a torch to shave by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    274
    68
    33
    9
See reviews for
460
1,173
88
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had gone to South America for a trip to visit various places and stayed at Monasterio at Cusco. The hotel is very nice and our room was decent however we went to Machu Pichu and arrived late at the hotel as something had gone wrong with the train engine. As we arrived late we tried to operate the safe and it did not open. As it was late next day we called the housekeeping dept. and they opened it for us. I did check everything except my money was lying in an envelope and I just saw the envelope was there and was fine with it. I was carrying the USD and local currency and had just left the pounds as it was of no use to me in Peru and was for my further trip to London. Next day when I was leaving I counted the money to transfer it back in my wallet and realised a part of it was smartly stolen. On complaining to the hotel they said to talk to the cops which I had no time for as i had a flight to catch. I always count my money before and after keeping it in the safe except did not realise money can be stolen from the safe of such a high rated hotel. And i do know it was missing as I knew the exact amount of pounds I was carrying and had not spent it as it was for my later visit to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avi_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
We are sorry for the inconvenience. We have no trust issues about our staff though. We believe that there must have been a misunderstanding, since initially we were told you lost your phone, but then some minutes later it was found in the bottom of your bag.

We reviewed all the security tapes and nothing was found.

We can guarantee you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus in reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful service which we expected from an Orient Express hotel, lovely rooms and fabulous food. We stayed as part of a package off our Holland America Cruise. From start to finished we had the best service and our room was large and spotlessly clean. Not a brilliant view but quite atmospheric. Large intricate paintings added to the splendor. The breakfast buffet had a superb variety of food which set us up for the day. Right in the centre of Cuzco within walking distance of many interesting buildings. Went on the Orient express train up to Machu Piccu and the service was equally good.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the buffet breakfast, it was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel monasterio is a heaven of beauty and peace. All is perfect ! If by any chance you fall on a junior suite make sure to have the bathroom on the same floor as the bedroom. Otherwise your stay will end up uncomfortable and this is most unfortunate in this mythic hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souha294005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is a converted monastery built round cloistered courtyards. This works well for the dining room, breakfast room, bar and chapel. Worth a stay just for the public spaces and service. The enclosed layout leads to problems with the bedroom size and positioning of windows. Our first room was very cramped but we had a better one on our return from Machhu Picchu - it pays to ask.
The breakfast served in the main courtyard is excellent and a guitar player under the Andean Pine tree adds a very special atmosphere.
Dinner in the dining room with Opera singing on selected nights is also not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldcodger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French living in Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Suite, and my 11 year-old son stayed in a superior double room. It is true that the rooms are not gigantic, but you don't expect gigantic rooms in Peru, nor is Cusco, and even less in an old Monastery. On the other hand, the old courtyard, the bar, the restaurants, everything is spacious.
The staff was extremely helpful, and we absolutely loved the place. The dinner was excellent, the breakfasts perfect, and anything off the menu that you require, they will sort it out.
In the bar, the chimney has a fire in the evenings, which gives the place a very cosy ambiance, and for those who suffer from altitude sickness, there is the possibility of having oxygen in your room.
Sure, it is not cheap, but it is the Orient-Express experience that you pay for, and that is what you get.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and i are spending a week discovering Peru. This hotel is a wonderful place the service is impeccable they can't do enough for you. The hotel is amazing it retains much of its history you don't know where to look next. Your room has everything you need when travelling and very spacious. The location is perfect just behind the main square, you can walk and explore Cusco safety. I would recommend this hotel. Its worth paying a bit extra to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettit161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing