We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't want to ever leave!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I didn't want to ever leave!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have travelled extensively and have high standards for accommodations. Hotel Monasterio was one of the most beautiful, if not THE most beautiful, hotel I have ever stayed at. This property exudes atmosphere, being an old monastery that has been beautifully turned into a hotel. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of town. The grounds, inner squares, fountains and gardens were pristine. The rooms were gorgeous, large, beautifully decorated in keeping with the ambience of the former monastery. The bed was luxurious and a delight to fall into at night. The buffet brunch was so beautifully displayed that I took a photo of it. The choices were numerous including options like gluten free products, four kinds of honey, smoked fish, many exotic fruits, breads and sweet buns,whipped cream cheese, etc. The staff were fabulous - accommodating, gracious and welcoming. We had supper in the 'opera restaurant' where we were treated to beautiful operatic solos and duets and delicious foods. Is it any wonder I was so reluctant to leave?? This is one hotel that shouldn't be missed!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvgreathotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Lima!

All the best,

Patricio Zucconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    256
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,076
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We travel quite a bit and always stay at the top hotels in each city, and Monasterio definitely has been one of the best experiences!! Great staff, smooth check-in and amazing grounds! We got upgraded both times we stayed here!! THe breakfast was awesome!! THey stored our bags while we went to Machu Picchu for 3 days and had them already in our rooms on the way back. Every detail was thought out and I especially love the hymns they play! I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to everyone!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

I really hope to have you back with us soon

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is just beautiful and rounded out the Cusco experience nicely. Gorgeous building. Rooms are not huge but are clean and very comfortable. Fantastic location encourages walking explorations of the city. The food was fantastic and fresh. Very helpful staff. Lovely and relaxing experience, would love to return.

Room Tip: Recommend oxygenated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RatherTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy you had a good time at Cusco and from your comment I see you really enjoyed the property in all aspects..

I really hope to have you back with us soon

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to MP and 4 nights on our return We had booked oxygenated roomes for all nights and was really pleased we did. I was quite unwell from the plane trip when we arrived and the room they gave us was really lovely with loads of character but just stank of cigar smoke. They found another room which wasn't half as nice but
as we were leaving very early the next morning we didn't fuss.
On our return however, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite, large, spacious overlooking a lovely courtyard and hills of Cuzco, with the same great atmosphere that prevades all the common areas. The courtyard with its ancient tree,the flowers, the paintings of the Mother and child and Arc anglels, the enchanting sounds of the music(monks chanting), all within the wonderfully preserved and well maintained monastery, provides a peaceful and unique setting that we just loved.
The buffet breakfasts were excellent as was the staff and the service. Being a short walk away from the Plaza de Armas, the center of Cuzco, and many great restaurants and shops added greatly to the experience. We dinned 2 nights in the Monansterios main restaurant which was
a lovely and unique experience with good food and impressive preformance by opera singers.
My husband who much prefers the new upmarket hotels, just loved this place.
And they have free WiFi...as it should be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is located in an old monastery. The grounds are beautifully manicured and full of photo os. There is a wonderful little lobby bar that's perfect for enjoying a cocktail or a cup of Coca tea (that helps with the effects of altitude. Speaking of altitude, when you reserve your room and they ask "would you like OXYGEN?" ....the answer to this question should be a RESOUNDING "yes!"
It will help you sleep much better, and also give you a place to recover after walking up a couple of stairs. Word to the wise: take it easy the first day....even if you are in great shape and don't normally get altitude sickness, this city will have you short of breath after a brief walk with a slight incline! The Monasterio is operated by The Orient Express chain---impeccable attention to detail and service levels!

Room Tip: Definitely get the oxygen---well worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely hotel right in the centre of town and walking distance to all the sights and churches. The service and cuisine was excellent and breakfast outside in the courtyard wonderful. Rooms are excellent although if you are staying there do not have a room in the front of the hotel overlooking the square, the noise from vehicles in the early morning was not pleasant
Otherwise it's the only please to stay in Cusco

Room Tip: An inside room not overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comment here.

I really hope to have you back with us soon

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very disappointed by experience at hotel after hearing so many good things about it. Specifically, there is a water temperature problem in the shower. Goes from hot to very hot to scalding to ice cold. Also, we had a suite with a small sofa in the living room. Unfortunately, there were no lamps near the sofa so you could not read without redecorating. Our arrival experience was also poor. We were told that our rooms would be ready at 2:00 but we said we needed to be ready to leave on a tour by then. They offered no assistance so we wound up opening up our suitcases in a public exterior corridor, while it was raining, and changing in the public restrooms. To make matters worse, our rooms were not ready by 2:00 and when we got back our suitcases were sent to the wrong room. We also watched as the bell staff, front desk and housekeeping gave full priority to a cruise ship group. They all had rooms by 1:00 and only then did they begin cleaning other rooms, including ours. We did not receive one update or an encouraging word from the hotel staff during this entire mess.

Room Tip: Do not book a junior suite. The bedroom and bathroom are on different levels in some. Very exciting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtpihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing