We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Cusco.....by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Cusco.....by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Monasterio in July 2012. After reading countless reviews, we decided on the Monasterio. We were a party of 3 adults, and most other hotels in the area had very small rooms. When we arrived, I made sure they knew that we wanted a large room with a terrace or balcony. (Reading through the reviews I found out that there were many styles & various sizes of oxygenated rooms.) I also showed them my VIP Expedia card, which I believe helped get us the presidential suite. Yes we were escorted to the finest room in the hotel (a major upgrade)! We made this beautiful suite our home for 5 nights. We truly felt like we were living in a castle. The presidential suite over looked one of two smaller courtyards. The room itself was amazing, oxygenated, very large & comfortable with sitting areas, private balcony and a beautiful bathroom. The entire length of the suite was all floor to ceiling windows that opened on to a beautiful courtyard, and the cascading hill above. We had sunshine in the late afternoon where we enjoyed sipping wine on our private deck. The service and the food were exceptional. We ate most of our night time meals in the bar restaurant by the fireplace. The breakfast in the courtyard is most memorable. You will just love the early morning fresh mountain air with the powerful warming sun shinning through at the high altitude. The coffee is excellent and you can enjoy either a very selective buffet or breakfast or order by menu - or both - your choice. There was always a classical musician playing live music during breakfast time..... Just beautiful. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. Although expensive, its worth every penny!

Room Tip: In order to get the style of room you want, ask to see a room or two first before checking in to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 222fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,077
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is always nice to write a good review for a hotel I stay at.

Of course being is Cusco on vacation is different than being on business. This time on vacation and the room was nice but the ambiance of the former Monastery is so great.

Service was first rate -- always a smile and every employee you pass solicits a warm and sincere good day or or good evening.

Food was good too. So was the singing soprano at the main restaurant.

Cannot say how much I enjoyed the stay -- even being a little altitude sick did not sour my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radarman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Perú
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was amazing get in there and find a tower of champagne with amazing staff sharing with everybody,, I will not forget the evening there with all my family and all the people who enjoy it . Also the room we arrange before was really nice with a patio and conecting the 2 rooms we have,, they ask the day after if we would like a book lunch because we made the Machupicchu and was excelent at all,,

Room Tip: Please check always the rates in your reservation have option for a pluss have a nice room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus Mirko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Htel Monasterio is a beautiful place to visit Cusco. It takes you back in time and makes your stay be more realistic in this great city of Cusco.
Its expensive, but the service is perfect, the rooms are clean, spacious and elegant.
The food is delicious, you really get back in time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with oxygen. They charge a bit but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful it will take your breath away. It is an old monastery (and they actually play music of monks chanting) and they have kept all the historic detail in tact. It is the most peaceful hotel I have ever been to. The rooms are nice but small. The bed is comfortable, the shower has good pressure, and if you get a room with access to the courtyard the sitting area is a very nice place to relax. I am NYC foodie (think Per Se, Masa, La Bernardin) and I found the food there to be exquisite; it would easily rival almost any meal I've had in a fine dining restaurant. The staff is eager to please, and in fact rushed to get my husband oxygen when he was feeling ill. They even called later in the evening to make sure he was feeling better. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time, rivaling The Four Seasons George V in Paris, Villa d'Este in Lake Como, etc. If you are visiting Cusco, please do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Hotel Monasterio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most extraordinary property I have stayed at. Quiet, elegant, fabulous ambience, very clean, wonderful service by everyone. Great breakfast buffet, with live guitar music during the later breakfast hours. Meanwhile, quiet gregorian chants fill the cloister during the day and evening. Free wifi, plenty of free water in the rooms, and location is very close to the Cathedral and main square. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. It is an refurbished monastary, so rooms and bathrooms are not roomy because of the age (1692 is the official date on their door), but you can't beat the aura and location. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the street side were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaminMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monasterio on two different occasions on our recent trip to Peru. The first stay covered three nights and we were very happy with the property. The staff was great, the property was well taken care of and the location was great. On our second stay, which was for only one night, our room experience was not so good. We stayed on the third floor and the room seemed to have very thin walls and we heard noises all night. So, when you book make sure you don't get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor seemed to have very thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#3 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing