We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year eve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was amazing get in there and find a tower of champagne with amazing staff sharing with everybody,, I will not forget the evening there with all my family and all the people who enjoy it . Also the room we arrange before was really nice with a patio and conecting the 2 rooms we have,, they ask the day after if we would like a book lunch because we made the Machupicchu and was excelent at all,,

Room Tip: Please check always the rates in your reservation have option for a pluss have a nice room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus Mirko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay in our hotel has met your expectations.

Thank you for your comments which encourage us to every day in order to give the best service to our guests.

Kind regards,

Gustavo de León
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Htel Monasterio is a beautiful place to visit Cusco. It takes you back in time and makes your stay be more realistic in this great city of Cusco.
Its expensive, but the service is perfect, the rooms are clean, spacious and elegant.
The food is delicious, you really get back in time.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with oxygen. They charge a bit but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful it will take your breath away. It is an old monastery (and they actually play music of monks chanting) and they have kept all the historic detail in tact. It is the most peaceful hotel I have ever been to. The rooms are nice but small. The bed is comfortable, the shower has good pressure, and if you get a room with access to the courtyard the sitting area is a very nice place to relax. I am NYC foodie (think Per Se, Masa, La Bernardin) and I found the food there to be exquisite; it would easily rival almost any meal I've had in a fine dining restaurant. The staff is eager to please, and in fact rushed to get my husband oxygen when he was feeling ill. They even called later in the evening to make sure he was feeling better. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time, rivaling The Four Seasons George V in Paris, Villa d'Este in Lake Como, etc. If you are visiting Cusco, please do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Hotel Monasterio.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most extraordinary property I have stayed at. Quiet, elegant, fabulous ambience, very clean, wonderful service by everyone. Great breakfast buffet, with live guitar music during the later breakfast hours. Meanwhile, quiet gregorian chants fill the cloister during the day and evening. Free wifi, plenty of free water in the rooms, and location is very close to the Cathedral and main square. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. It is an refurbished monastary, so rooms and bathrooms are not roomy because of the age (1692 is the official date on their door), but you can't beat the aura and location. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the street side were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaminMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monasterio on two different occasions on our recent trip to Peru. The first stay covered three nights and we were very happy with the property. The staff was great, the property was well taken care of and the location was great. On our second stay, which was for only one night, our room experience was not so good. We stayed on the third floor and the room seemed to have very thin walls and we heard noises all night. So, when you book make sure you don't get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor seemed to have very thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was in a very central location, aesthetically pleasing and the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us with our requests. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being in a former monastery and enjoyed the original paintings adorning the corridors and the beautiful relaxing music. The courtyard gardens were also very nice . The breakfast buffet was delicious and had alot of variety.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Meh. Fancy hotel that struts like a peacock. went as part of a honeymoon trip. First room had no window -- though they made a big deal of the fact that it was our honeymoon. second room slightly better but in a remote part of the hotel that felt like it was out of The Shining. Snooty, snobby and entirely different than our experiences elsewhere in Peru, where we found everyone warm, friendly and helpful. Not here. Maybe if you're a celeb shelling out untold fortunes per night, but otherwise I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $223 - $1,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing