We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Incredible & Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Monasterio to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible & Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is so beautiful it will take your breath away. It is an old monastery (and they actually play music of monks chanting) and they have kept all the historic detail in tact. It is the most peaceful hotel I have ever been to. The rooms are nice but small. The bed is comfortable, the shower has good pressure, and if you get a room with access to the courtyard the sitting area is a very nice place to relax. I am NYC foodie (think Per Se, Masa, La Bernardin) and I found the food there to be exquisite; it would easily rival almost any meal I've had in a fine dining restaurant. The staff is eager to please, and in fact rushed to get my husband oxygen when he was feeling ill. They even called later in the evening to make sure he was feeling better. This is one of my favorite hotels of all time, rivaling The Four Seasons George V in Paris, Villa d'Este in Lake Como, etc. If you are visiting Cusco, please do yourself a favor and spend at least one night at Hotel Monasterio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    238
    61
    32
    9
See reviews for
365
934
74
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the most extraordinary property I have stayed at. Quiet, elegant, fabulous ambience, very clean, wonderful service by everyone. Great breakfast buffet, with live guitar music during the later breakfast hours. Meanwhile, quiet gregorian chants fill the cloister during the day and evening. Free wifi, plenty of free water in the rooms, and location is very close to the Cathedral and main square. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shopping close by. It is an refurbished monastary, so rooms and bathrooms are not roomy because of the age (1692 is the official date on their door), but you can't beat the aura and location. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the street side were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaminMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monasterio on two different occasions on our recent trip to Peru. The first stay covered three nights and we were very happy with the property. The staff was great, the property was well taken care of and the location was great. On our second stay, which was for only one night, our room experience was not so good. We stayed on the third floor and the room seemed to have very thin walls and we heard noises all night. So, when you book make sure you don't get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor seemed to have very thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was in a very central location, aesthetically pleasing and the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help us with our requests. We enjoyed the atmosphere of being in a former monastery and enjoyed the original paintings adorning the corridors and the beautiful relaxing music. The courtyard gardens were also very nice . The breakfast buffet was delicious and had alot of variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Meh. Fancy hotel that struts like a peacock. went as part of a honeymoon trip. First room had no window -- though they made a big deal of the fact that it was our honeymoon. second room slightly better but in a remote part of the hotel that felt like it was out of The Shining. Snooty, snobby and entirely different than our experiences elsewhere in Peru, where we found everyone warm, friendly and helpful. Not here. Maybe if you're a celeb shelling out untold fortunes per night, but otherwise I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The building and grounds are spectactular, especially the internal courtyard. I thought the rooms were a little small/dark (we were in a deluxe room) for the price. The service was good (for Peru). Overall, a lovely hotle and definitely one of the best options in Cusco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The main thing I liked about Hotel Monasterio is its history. I like the fact that it was a former monastery and university and is now a national monument. The ambience of the hotel made you feel like you were going back to the 15th century. I liked the piped-in Gregorian music in the halls and dining area at the ground floor. The lobby also had this antiquated and cozy feel. The halls of the hotel were nice to walk in and had nice view of the higher areas of Cuzco. The church in the hotel also had a grandiose yet still cozy feel. Our room, though small, made us imagine that it was once a dorm room of a priest. I also liked the very old cedar tree in the middle of the building. I liked the fact that part of the building is still made of ancient Incan walls.

As to other aspects, the hotel staff was very friendly, approachable, and made one feel at home. I liked it that they had house tea at the lobby to fight off "altitude sickness." Also, its location is central since it's only two streets away from the Plaza de Armas, the heart of Cuzco. Plus there's a little plaza just right outside the hotel.

I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone who would want to experience Cuzco and its ancient history.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing