We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel steeped in history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Monasterio for two nights at the end of a fabulous trip to Peru. The Hotel lived up to our expectations - excellent but discreet service, wonderful cuisine, we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Hotel and spacious rooms with all modern amenities.

We arrived late on a Saturday night and were both suffering with travellers sickness after having visited Machu Picchu the previous two days. The following day we requested a doctor who came within 20 minutes and because we were unable to go out of the hotel to buy our own medicine, the Concierge kindly offered to go out and buy it for us!

The soft chanting of monks was heard everywhere you went within the Hotel and the beautiful pieces of art all added to the historical charm of this amazing place. If I were to return, there is no better address in Cusco!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which was just perfect in size, a large bedroom with king bed and upstairs was...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cancer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,375)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel Monasterio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,375 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a wonderful and luxurious way to end our honeymoon in Peru.
The concierge at this hotel went above and beyond the levels of service one would expect at a five star hotel to ensure we had an awesome time. ( think his name was Jose!)
Breakfast was sensational, what a way to start the day and the whole aura of this hotel is fabulous.
We loved it and would love to return, or try the new property that Orient Express have just opened in the adjoining building that once was a convent, it has a pool and spa..
Monasterio comes very highly recommended!!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank running_bull_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the most interesting and gorgeous hotel! In the heart of Cusco, this remodeled 16th century monastery has all the history and character; yet has all the modern convenience you could want. The courtyards are beautiful. Breakfast in the center court of the beautifully arched walkways is a real treat. The food and service never failed to be outstanding. Definitely not to be missed if you are staying in the area and well worth the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsibusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a truly amazing hotel. I believe it’s owned by the Catholic Church and managed by Orient Express. You are besieged by helpers as soon as you enter the ancient domain. And they really do help to make your stay a fantastic experience. The hotel is full of history and even includes it’s own huge gold plated chapel and some boutique shops. The staff here and Orient Express make things happen incredibly smoothly. Breakfast outside in the courtyard is an absolute delight (Shirtsleeves in October at 7.0am despite being 11000ft above sea level).
Cusco centre is only a few yards away – the Cathedral and the main square. We (aged >60 and unfit) even managed the one hour walk up to Sacsayhuaman – just turn right outside the hotel and keep going.
The hotel can direct you to some high quality restaurants. Their restaurant is quite international but they would cook you anything you wanted if you ask.
In fact they could probably provide pretty much anything! Including looking after your luggage if you go out to Machu Picchu.
If you use their laundry facilities your clothes come back cleaner and better packaged than when you bought them.
Don’t just stay one night and move on. Three nights minimum is needed.

Room Tip: Some say ask for a couryard room. We got upgraded to the Presidents suite on our first stay and then...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancingqueen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When you stay in a first rate hotel that is in a Monastery first occupied in the 1500's it cannot help but be a special experience.

The rooms were small, but very nice with exceptional bathrooms. The service and food were first rate. Would love to visit again.

Cusco is a very interesting city with lots of attractions, especially the fact that they will have a festival at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPG1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'll start off by saying I wasn't in favor of staying at the Monasterio during our visit to Cusco. I thought we could find a nice hotel that wouldn't be as expensive. But my wife really wanted to stay at the Monasterio, so I gave in and we stayed there for five nights during our recent visit.

I will freely admit that I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with an interesting history. The service was impeccable, the staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. I was very impressed with them. The check in process was the smoothest I've ever experienced. After we arrived we were seated in the lobby, given coca tea and they took care of the check in. We went to have breakfast and when we returned our bags were in our room. I discovered that I like being spoiled like that.

I will also mention that we thought the location of the hotel was perfect, just a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas and many other sites in Cusco. We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning and we both thought the buffet was great. We didn't get a chance to eat dinner in the restaurant, but they had a nice menu. There are several good restaurants within a block of the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel, it was a real pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: The rooms with oxygen are a bit on the small side, but considering it would be prohibitive to pump o...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was at the Hotel Monasterio last October and surely it was an investment of good memories. I arrived late night from Machu Picchu and the service was just an excellent as soon as you entered the door.

The concierge directed us to the waiting room and offered us some coca de mate. Though it was late at night, they still have some time to show us around the hotel.

The room was just big, if you are not acclimated with high elevation, the room will just make you feel more comfortable because there's good oxygen supply. Toiletries, well like Four Seasons hotel, they offer you L'occitane soap and shampoo, just a bit bigger.

They have a chapel within the hotel and there is no issues on taking pictures. Breakfast was just excellent and I think this is where the best breakfast I had in Peru, overlooking the courtyard!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cianmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 170 in Cusco
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $312 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing