We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow factor guaranteed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow factor guaranteed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Id like to make a short review about the place as it has loads of good reviews already.
I remember spending hours on my 2 floors room looking at a frame of one of the dozen of pictures around the room. The frame was just at the same time crazy and looking extremely expensive and surely ASTONISHING! I only stay one night at the Monasterio (bit of a shame), but from what i saw, the hotel was just like the frame i spent hours staring at.

Lets see the negative points, as there are just a few:
- Needless to say, the price is insane. (perhaps thats what called my attention)
- Beautiful breakfast overlooking the amazing garden. All very glamourous and luxurious, however I felt that they forgot to put some food in it. For the price we paid, I was expecting more of the food, which was average. Not bad, just not as amazing as the hotel.
- On the arrival they couldnt find our reservation. Thats the kind of thing you DO NOT want to hear after paying the crazy amount of money for the night and loooooong 6 hours on the train/taxi from Aguas Calientes. (that was a long day!)

Appart from those mentioned items, the place is a relic. I have never seen anywhere quite as similar to it (not that i havent search!).

Jean A.

Room Tip: The only tip i leave is: The 'Inca Cosmopolitan' is just a very expensive regular Cosmopolit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanArnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,077
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at where the hotel itself was a special experience. The setting was beautiful, the restaurant was delicious and the service was incredible. It was expensive, but was worth every penny for my wife and I on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are delighted to read your comments. Thank you for your preference and for taking the time to let us know

your feedback. This really encourages all our staff to continue working and improving service, and specially

to make our guests feel like they never left their homes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cusco.

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, it used to be a monastery, there is a beautiful old church inside. This hotel has an amazing charm, character, history. On top of it, the service is excellent, the rooms are amazing, and the food fantastic. There is a beautiful "patio interior" where you can enjoy being outside in an amazing atmosphere and have a drink or any of your main meals. Cossy bar area with chimney where every evening there is life jazz music. The stuff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blntxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference. It is a great pleasure for us to assist all our clients in any request they may have and to surpass their expectations to make their stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was our honeymoon and I'd seen a review of the hotel in a mag and we paid extra to stay on tw occasions during our stay. The first room was lovely but small but when we returned from Augas calientes they had looked after our cases and didn't need to re check in which was good -our room this time was full of character and I only wish we could have stayed longer. The bedroom was situated up some stairs, the bed big and the lounge part beautifl. It made our stay! Thank you staff for that!
A nearby restaurant above a shop on the little lane was lovely and we watched the football with the locals. We missed the museum in the pleasant square outside the hotel due to our schedule so factor in some time and it is handy for the main square once you have gt over the altitude as it is quite a slope and even we struggled a bit in our 30's! Next door is an even newer Orient hotel - which we didn't get time to check out either - sure it is lovely....wish I was still there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airportspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are delighted to read your comments. Thank you for your preference and for taking the time to let us know your feedback. This really encourages all our staff to continue working and improving service, and specially to make our guests feel like they never left their homes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cusco.

Best regards
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unique hotel on a XVI century monastery full of beautiful colonial art work and exquisite architecture. Excellent service, marvelous ambiance. Rooms are comfortable with oxygen supplemented with the air conditioning (you have to ask for it), best location in a quiet area near the main plaza. Great breakfast buffet, the food at both of its restaurants could be improved in view of the culinary development in Peru. Nearby restaurants offer a great opportunity to have a taste of peruvian fusion (peruvian, oriental and european) cuisine. Wonderful trip full of pleasant surprises and welcomed by a very warm and helpful community.

Room Tip: Ask for a flat room not a duplex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

On my recent trip to south America which included Ecuador and Peru. I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Monesterio in the city of Cuzco, Peru.
Originally a monestery dating back to 1592 now a national Landmark. The hotel
decor features gilded antiques , traditional religious art , hand carved pillars and floors of cobblestones brick and terracotta . most striking is the wonderful ambiance that still retrains
the peace and tranquility that it still contains from century's past.
The amenties in the suites are modern and furnishings are expensive and top of the line. The two restaurants bar and internet service are beautiful,ly appointed and will satisfy the 21st
century guest. Without a doubt it should be top of the hotel list when visiting the beautiful city of Cuzco. .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTamigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

First, the hotel is in a beautiful old building that reeks of history. The public areas are lovely and the staff were very thoughtful and anxious to help us settle in. Our room was apparently one of the nicest ones but we were quite surprised by high small it was (so we reminded ourselves that ok, it did use to be a monk's cell!!). We had to call down to housekeeping to get them to separate the beds as we were a couple of friends traveling and not a couple. This was done quickly and without complaint. The shower was a bit sus - running from freezing to scalding hot. The room was tired, that is no doubt, but still had a quaintness about it. But then we also were paying pretty high prices so maybe a freshen up is in order. I became sick from a tummy parasite and the hotel could not have been more wonderful. They got me an English speaking doctor and an ambulance really quickly and were very kind to my friend who stayed behind while I stayed in hospital for a couple of days. Anyway, it was still a lovely stay and in a fantastic location but was not quite up to the Orient Express standard I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#3 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing