We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and not far from the square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel Monasterio is a great hotel, not far from the main square at Cusco. The staff are all very welcoming and try to assist in every way.

The food is excellent - great buffet breakfast spread, or they'll cook you something else if you want. Check in was smooth and you can have as much coca tea as you like (helps combat altitude sickness).

Because this location is at high altitude, some people might need assistance with breathing, so some rooms are fitted with oxygen enrichment facilities. However, be aware that if you haven't pre-paid for this, there is an extra fee to pay of around $64 (USD).

In order to combat altitude sickness, you can get Acetazolamide on prescription (best to take Dr's advice as there are side-effects). However, you can purchase this at pharmacies in Cuzco (ask for Acetazolamida).

The rooms are were well appointed and in common with other places don't come with tea or coffee making facilities.

Beds were comfy and gave a good night's sleep. The bath mat even comes tied with a ribbon!

WiFi internet varied a bit, but was gerally ok

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royv1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest:


We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Gustavo de Leon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel Monasterio is spectacular. Built in the 16th century as a monastery. This is a spiritual, serene property that you will love. Our room overlooked the front street, was a loft plan and wonderful. The bedroom was on the loft level, lovely seating area and bath downstairs. I mentioned that we faced the street because there was a bit of noise from the plaza. Not really traffic noise but we listened to drivers locking and unlocking their car doors all evening. Beep, Beep, Beep.
The bilevel suites are situated on the front of the building, so enjoy the space and bring your earplugs.
Our dining experience there was fantastic. Breakfast is buffet and not lacking anything. A guitarist plays each morning either directly in the breakfast room or in the courtyard. Dinner in the main dining room is a great experience. The food, service and ambiance were above any expectations.
This is an Orient Express property. Orient Express has just opened a new hotel next door which appears to be very "new".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were in Cuzco twice and stayed at the Monasterio on the way in. The coca tea was helpful for us flat-landers and I just relaxed the first day. The breakfast was sumptuous and of very high quality and the rooms (we had separate rooms for us and our 21 year old daughter) were well appointed, immaculate and sprinkled with stern portraits of former (I hope) priests. Wi-fi was free and good and the staff were superb. My only criticism - and it is a small one is that one night in the bar the music, although very nice was too loud.

Room Tip: No tips. This is a world-class place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Monasterio hotel

Reflecting on my recent trip to South America ,this gem of a hotel stands out in more ways than one. Nestled in the historic town of Cusco, which is such a lovely and lively little town, this Orient Express hotel occupies a monastery in a very tasteful way. The original layouts of the place are unchanged and all changes and adaptations needed to operate a luxury hotel are tastefully done. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel, in between a trip to Machu Picchu.

An old monastery, as its title suggests, built in the 16th century and converted into a hotel in the 1970's (taken over by the Orient Express group in the late 1990s).

Located very close the beautiful main square of Cusco, the hotel provided a luxurious oasis from the town, and a great place to relax from our tours. The ambience is excellent, with piped music of what seemed to be gregorian chanting.

We had booked a triple deluxe room for both stays and were upgraded to a deluxe suite, and then an appartment, both fantastic rooms.

The hotel has three very attractive courtyards, the largest with a 300 year old cedar tree, where you could also dine. We ate at the main restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the overall service.

Free oxygen tanks are provided to help acclimatise to the high altitude of Cusco. You can also have additional oxygen piped into your room, but this has a surcharge of $63 per day. A ready supply of complimentary coca tea is also available in the lobby, again to help with acclimatisation.

Minor quibbles - the rooms have limited natural light, but guess this is to be expected given the original purpose of the building, and whilst walls are presumably very thick, noise seemed to travel during the night.

We took the Hiram Bingham train to Machu Picchu, which is also run by the Orient Express chain, and it has to be one of the great railway journeys of the World.

The train and the hotel are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location at walking distance 2 minutes to the cathedral and the finest and best shops and restaurants such as cicciolina, limo, manzanito, inka grill and MAP cafe. The center of the hotel is a beautiful garden with a 300 years old cedar tree where you will enjoy the buffet breakfast with incredible Peruvian food such as the lomo salteado and great fruit and bread selection, local food varying from day to day so you don't get bored. A typical thing is reception at the lobby with coca leaves tea. Be prepared with some medications for high sickness and panadol/or pain killer for headache Even with the in room oxygen provided and have a good warm coat for the chilly nights and early morning when you go out, but you will enjoy the amazing blue sky and fine alpaca/vicuna coats/scarf/gloves and other stuffs. Rooms are cozy with good amenities from occitane. A great experience really!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristinachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The pictures online of this hotel do not do it justice. It was much nicer than I expected. We ended up with a two story room, with a sitting area that was really nice. The rooms were really quaint, i would suggest better bedding tho. It looked a little dated. The food was awesome. The service was also really good, everyone was super friendly and helpful. The hotel was really pretty too. Its small, but has nice charm. For a luxury stay, I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforlife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $223 - $1,362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing