We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Bucksport, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - we'll be back!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Hotel Monasterio. We stayed for 4 night overall, 3 before traveling to Machu Picchu and 1 after. The staff was friendly and helpful to us. The only comment I have was the service in the restuarant could have been a little more attentive, but it was typical of what we witnessed in all of Peru.

The grounds and the rooms are amazing. To stay at the hotel is an experience in itself. We weren't sure that we'd enjoy Cusco very much when we booked our trip, but the city was a great surprise and this hotel only enhanced the experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms. Enjoyed the second floor rooms that overlooked the back courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,912
    271
    66
    33
    9
See reviews for
447
1,147
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Monaterio was our 3rd Orient Express Hotel during our recent trip to Peru and although a beautiful building, I wish the service was just a bit more like their Rio Sagrado and Sanctuary Lodge properties....although maybe they were going for the more formal standoff-ish service.

As you know, the property was once a monastery and the building and grounds are truly gorgeous. We were told that a lot of the art is original and it contributes beautifully to the decor. The breakfast room is gorgeous overlooking the courtyard. Our room was upgraded to a junior suite that included a living area and an upstairs loft. We were very pleased to receive the upgrade as it gave us more room to spread out. Room itself was beautiful. There was one window overlooking the street which was quite loud early in the morning. But we went went with the flow and just got up early! I would suggest an oxygen enhanced room since we really felt the altitude here even though we'd already been in the highlands for 5 nights prior.

Breakfast spread was expansive with both cold and hot items. The gregorian chant music fit the decor and there was a guitar player out in the courtyard. On all 3 mornings we had to wait a little longer than one would expect for someone to approach our table and offer us coffee. The staff was not as talkative and warm as either of our previous hotels, but they were professional and nice.

I did have excellent service from Adrianna at customer service via email prior to the trip to arrange a city tour. she was very prompt in responding to my questions and helped us change our tour time once we arrived. Our city guide and tour was excellent and I'd highly recommend it. We went outside of the city and then to various locations within the city. 4 hours went so fast but it gave us an overview of places we wanted to go back and visit.

Cusco itself was a great city. We were lucky enough to be there with parades leading up to the summer solstice festival. Each day there were parades with groups of school children in tradition clothing performing dances to traditional music. It was fantastic to watch. The square was filled with local families cheering on their children. I couldn't watch enough!

Interesting thing we notice in Cusco was tons of dogs, unleashed wandering everywhere! Driving through the city we had to see well over 60 dogs just hanging out in the park, in front of homes, trotting down the street. All breeds of dogs! They do not bother you at all, its just funny to see all the loose dogs!

Two fantastic restaurants we'd recommend were the Inka Grill and Ima Sumaq (both recommended by John at the Sanctuary Lodge). Both food and service were great! Lots of local cuisine to choose from.

I think we were spoiled by the superb service at Rio Sagrado and the excellent service at the Sanctuary Lodge ...... because without having those fantastic experiences first, Hotel Monasterio would probably have been rated higher for us. I would still recommend the hotel Monasterio, but I'd like to suggest perhaps the staff open up and share more of their personality and energy with guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miskyroo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Monasterio was a wonderful experience in every respect. We loved how the hotel has restored the old building, keeping the structure of the old monastery but updating the facilities to meet the exacting standards of its clientele. We were given a suite with three beds, it had a huge walk-in closet and bathroom. The room was charmingly "old world" with it's religious paintings in gilded frames. We had free wifi service in the suite (although the download speed was not that great). The bar, restaurants, and lobby were beautifully decorated with antique furnishings and paintings. The biggest surprise, one that we almost missed completely, was finding the amazing chapel of the hotel. In keeping with the religious theme of the hotel, gregorian chants are played as one walks to breakfast. Service is impeccable; the staff were so attentive and accommodating. Location-wise, the hotel is about a block away from the main square and is so close to restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing venues in Cuzco. It was definitely one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Monasterio is such an awesom experience to defy translation. Having traveled the world over and feeling somewhat jaded with 5 star hotels it was such a surprising welcome experience. From the gracious reception to the Gregorian chants played at breakfast, the 16th century oil paintings on the walls, the harpest in the lounge, the gilded chapel, the beautiful outdoor dining all gave a feeling of sensous comfort that was almost spiritual. All of this said it is still to my knowledge the only hotel in the world to oxygenate the rooms which made a tremendous difference to my husband's altitude sickness. After checking in and a few hours resting in the oxygen infused room he was ready to see Cusco. We stayed here on our first vist to Cusco in November 2004 and several subsequest visits since; as nice as the other hotels are in town I cannot stay anywhere but the Monasterio.

Room Tip: Rooms are small since it was a 1500s monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKE94506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is truly a 5 star experience. From the moment you enter the gorgeous surroundings, the staff cannot do enough to please you. We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite which was beautiful left for one night and upon our return were upgraded to the most magnificent suite with private garden and semi private courtyard. The courtyard with the music transports you to another time and the view of Cusco at night is beyond compare.
Service in the restaurant was wonderful as was the food. This is the second time I've stayed here! I love this place!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patagoniamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great hotel, great service and everything in Cusco on walking distance. We were upgraded to the Royal suite after a misunderstanding with/from the front desk. The upgrade however gave us the silence and tranquility we wanted. During breakfast very suitable Gregorian music. This hotel is visited by a lot of Americans, who have the tendency to need to be loud, which is a pity but the hotel cannot help this of course.
The hotel was larger than we expected, has a good (but very pricy) restaurant. Concierge service excellent, front desk service and attitude should be improved.

Room Tip: If you can afford, have a suite. Standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I came to Cusco to hike the Inca trail for her big 40th bday, and had a couple of extra days in Cusco for which we decided to splurge and spend at Hotel Monasterio. We arrived on her birthday and they made it so special for us! The guest relations team and all of the staff were stellar, and the room and gorgeous courtyards and history of the building made it a completely unique and amazingly relaxing experience. Monasterio is probably one of the most expensive places to stay in Cusco, and it is worth every penny - I HIGHLY recommend this location as part of an amazing experience in Cusco!!!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the first floor in a private courtyard - it was amazingly quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing