We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!! Worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Purchase, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic Experience!! Worth every penny!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I came to Cusco to hike the Inca trail for her big 40th bday, and had a couple of extra days in Cusco for which we decided to splurge and spend at Hotel Monasterio. We arrived on her birthday and they made it so special for us! The guest relations team and all of the staff were stellar, and the room and gorgeous courtyards and history of the building made it a completely unique and amazingly relaxing experience. Monasterio is probably one of the most expensive places to stay in Cusco, and it is worth every penny - I HIGHLY recommend this location as part of an amazing experience in Cusco!!!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the first floor in a private courtyard - it was amazingly quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    272
    66
    33
    9
See reviews for
449
1,152
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We travel all over the world and I would say this is the best hotel we ever stayed in! The service is absolutely exceptional! The Concierge, Heime was fabulous! He went out of his way every time he saw us to ensure that every little detail of our stay was perfect. The guest service staff, Christie and Fernando were also fabulous! The laundry staff were incredible! This was an adventure trip for us and we stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions over the past month. The last time we were here, we came off of a 10 day river rafting trip and all of our clothes were wet and smelly from the trip. We gave them 3 laundry bags full of clothes and they turned them around in about 4 hours! The food was excellent and the room service was also excellent. All the staff were truly exceptional! We staed in one of their Royal suites each time and they are superb!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in a royal suite! Absolutely beautiful with a very large private courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family. It is very expensive but worth every penny. The walls have breathtaking art work and the rooms are someone thing out of a period piece movie. Cusco is at such as high altitude that I recommend taking a shot of oxygen at the airport.

Room Tip: Tip to getting a good room is you have to know somebody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnickerbockerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Gustavo de Leon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

How often do you get a chance to stay at a hotel that dates back to 1592? This place has been restored and is arguably the best hotel in all of Peru. It retains the charm of its original monastery. The walls in some of our rooms were about 3 to 4 feet thick. It also has a chapel that has several original paintings. Breakfast was very good and consisted of lots of fresh fruits and some peruvian delicacies. Service was outstanding. This hotel is located very close to the city center. Overall this is once in a lifetime experience that I would recommend.

Room Tip: There is a great bakers about 50 yards to the left of the main door as you go down the hill. This ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Monastario was, of course, a monastery at one point in its history, and it still retains some signs of its origins, including a chapel within the premises. The hotel's exterior walls also incorporate some original Inca stonework, with large blocks of stone hewn so finely that you could scarcely insert a razor blade between the joints. Overall the public spaces of this hotel are truly impressive. This is no run-of-the-mill hotel -- it imparts a genuine sense of its historic place in the capital of the Inca. The location is excellent, very close to the Cuzco's main square.

Be aware that the standard rooms are rather small -- and the solution, to upgrade to a suite, is an expensive one. The restaurant is also quite good, if rather expensive for Cuzco. Also the general standard of service in this hotel is not what one would expect, given its prestige ownership and its high room rates. Perhaps it's a cultural thing in the Peruvian highlands, but the kind of cheerful, helpful efficiency that one would normally expect in a hotel of this quality is just not there. Everyone from reception staff to restaurant waiters seemed slow and distracted, with customer service not their main priority.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We visited the Monasterio twice on our itinerary. Our first night at altitude proved problematic as my wife suffered from altitude sickness. Staff responded well arranging a Doctor's visit and the following morning collected the recommended medication.

Our first room was small and somewhat limited but we were promised a larger room on our return and this was met.

Staff were generally very helpful with notable exception of the restaurants. Although there were generally a number of staff in evidence they appeared not to see customer service as their responsibility.

We ate early on our return to the Monasterio from Machu Pichu to find most of the restaurant staff not yet in place. As they trickled in their first priority seemed to be social before settling down to offer acceptable service. This was repeated in the other restaurants with only the bar staff offering 5 star service.

Easy to fix and I'm sure the hotel management will accept not only our comment but also others reporting on trip advisor in this respect to make the hotel the success it deserves.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Carberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

The Monasterio is wonderfull, it's location is unique, guest relations are really helpfull and present during your stay, a true plus!
However I must agree with some of the critics regarding the staff in the restaurant, we have found the maitre d'hotel very pretencious, and the reception in times as well.
But this doesn' change the fact we had a memorable stay, and that we would definetely recommend it! Food was ood in he resaurant and breakfast.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 337, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Belmond, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing