We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect restaurant experience...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We did not stay at The Monasterio, but we went there a couple of times for dinner during our stay. The conclusion of our group: fantastic, outstanding, great, all the superlatives you can imagine. You should be dressed nicely although informal is OK, this is a five star restaurant inside a hotel which was until some years ago a convent. It has been renovated, and it gives you a magic experience from the moment you get into the patio. Service is excellent, people are welcoming you in a professional manner, menu is an amazing reading, and the food, 4 of 5 stars, I will say. But due to the location, the service, and the experience this evening will give you, I will say in total, a 5 of 5. Prices are within the top range. If you do visit this restaurant, you will have one memorable evening to remember the rest of your life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredoarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    257
    63
    32
    9
See reviews for
425
1,078
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is simply a must if staying in Cusco. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the rooms are wonderfully decorated and the beds, linens and towels glorious. Breakfast is excellent. The only wrinkle for the place was the oxygen supply! We were told they had o2 pumped into most rooms. They do but for an extra 62 dollars a night. We asked for an oxygen tank (which was unlimited and free in all other orient express hotels we stayed at) and they said they could give us one small one with about a 20 minute supply and the next they would have to charge for. We agreed and the tank lasted less than 10 minutes. We told them this and they gave us another free. These 'free' tanks seem to be the tail end of used (perhaps room?) tanks. Why they are so precious about their oxygen is a mystery. This hotel is pricey but worth it. There is very old original paintings everywhere. Spanish guitar playing in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Check for the oxygen supply before checking in! O2 really helps with dull headaches and insomnia at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Beautiful architecture and history in this former monastery but just lacking a bit of attention to detail and rooms could use an upgrade

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

gorgeous property, beautiful setting, incredible service. you will feel like get back in the past, in a real monasterio. very central, easy to walk around Cusco, well worth!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcoolbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Monasterio, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, we feel blessed working in this incredible property, and off course for having guests like you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes,

Stephan Post
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is my second visit to Cusco and I choose to stay one month at the Hotel Monestario to study spanish. The staff are incredible people and I actually feel part of the Hotel Monasterio Family.
The location is fabulous, the service is beyond your expectations, the food is simply devine, the artwork is original, my room was amazing and I love the oxygen feature. This hotel is so special I have never seen it replicated anywhere else in the world. A one of a kind place that takes you back in time. Very romantic and fun.

I awoke every morning to enjoy a fabulous breakfast and the soft live music from a great guitarist. The food was so fresh, beautifully presented and the array of choices was simply astounding. Carlos and his team were simply amazing. I never wanted for anything. Their attention to detail was striking.
I also had dinner at Tupay and listened to magificent Opera. I have never heard such beautiful music in such a gorgeous setting. They offer this three times a week and I highly recommend reservations.
I took the art tour which in itself is an incredible tour and a great cooking lesson from Executive Chef, Frederico Ziegler whom I simply adore. It was so much fun and I have my beautiful apron to prove it.
I must say how impressed I was with their philosophy to support the local orphanages and their commitment to their community. Impressive.
I simply adore the GM and his entire staff! I truly did not want to leave this magical place. Yes, I did have tears in my eyes as I had such gratitude for the new friends I had made at this most precious place on earth.
This should be rated a 5 star property in Cusco.

Room Tip: I love all of the rooms in this hotel. it depends what you like. I stayed in a Jr. Suite on the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

It´s the best place to stay in Peru! Very close to the main square, and all main atractions.
Oxigenated rooms really help aclimatize to the altitude, coca tea is always available on the main entrance. Enjoy live guitar during breakfast in the main courtyard. You can take a tour of paitings around the Hotel that ends in a live cooking class....just amazing!
If you like opera, enjoy Tupay Restaurant for dinner, with live Opera show, good food, and good service too! People is extraordinary and they have a high quallity service, very helpfull and kind.

You really will enjoy your stay at Monasterio Hotel...if you have the opportunity to come, dont miss it...it´s a total lifetime experience!

Room Tip: Try oxygen in the room, it really helps. Concierge and guest relations desk will solve all your doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
675 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel has beautiful courtyards and is located 2 min away from Plaza de Armas. The room was nice, comfortable except for the air conditioning that was noisy and huge. Breakfast was very nice with local specialities and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenataBiancalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Monasterio

Property: Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Address: Calle Palacio 140 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#4 Business Hotel in Cusco
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#7 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Monasterio 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the lively Cusco central square is Belmond Hotel Monasterio, a former monastery and national monument dating from 1592. This delightful retreat combines centuries-old charm with luxury hotel service, inspired restaurants and boutique rooms and suites-all clustered around a tranquil central courtyard. The ideal hotel from which to discover the delights of Cusco, its doors open to a vibrant scene of old and modern architecture, markets, galleries and restaurants serving 'new Andean' cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio Hotel Cusco
Hotel Monasterio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing