We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel in Cusco”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and the end of our vacation. We got an upgrade to a suite due to my SPG gold status. This included a sitting room and a bedroom with a large walk in closet. The room was very comfortably furnished. The staff was very helpful from check in through checkout. They made dinner reservations for us on several evenings and gave us guidance on getting around Cusco. The hotel building had been a conquistador palace and, in fact, it had at lease 2 internal courtyards. The buffet breakfast was quite good and the service very attentive. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments about our Palacio del Inka.
Starwood is always thinking of the benefits for their SPG members in order to make an unforgettable experience. Be sure that I am going to show your lines to all the staff.
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    276
    66
    21
    6
See reviews for
478
929
95
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Palacio del Inka for 2 nights near the end of our week in Peru. It is a beautiful historic hotel right in front of the Koricancha and within easy walking distance to the main plaza and cathedral. Our room was well equipped with luxury amenities, a large flat screen TV and a very comfortable king-sized bed. We did find the room to be somewhat dark – even with all lights on and a bit small – but very comfortable nonetheless.
Within the hotel there is a well-equipped business center (with the fastest internet of our trip), a pleasant bar, a fitness center, several shops, a large lobby, pretty courtyards and a rambling dining room where a delicious and generous breakfast buffet is served. The entire hotel is well decorated, taking advantage of the history of the building.
The service throughout the hotel was excellent and the location is perfect for seeing the main attractions in Cusco. A wonderful stay – we just wish it could have been longer! We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCtravelerJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, about our Palacio del Inka, the décor combined with the Inka architecture.
We are located close to the main tourist attractions , as you mentioned right in front of the Qoricancha “ the Temple of the sun”, and close to the Main Square, churches, museums, in the heart of Cusco City just by walking distance.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant, specially our breakfast buffet.
Furthermore, the courtyard is below our Cuatro Bustos Mansion, which is a heritage of the Cusquenian culture.
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Best Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently had the pleasure to visit Cusco and luckily stayed here. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and charming with many pieces of art to admire and appreciate. Apparently this historic building is purported to be once the home of Francisco Pizarro. It is a large building with plenty of space to sit and relax. The staff was very efficient and helpful.The rooms were large, very clean and well appointed. Our view from our room was a view of the ruins on which the hotel is partially built. The dining room staff was very helpful and accomodating. The meals were plentiful and delicious. This hotel has one of the best locations. It is across from the Inca Temple of the Sun which is very worthwhile to visit. The main plaza, Plaza de Armas, is merely a few blocks away. There is quite a bit of construction on many of the streets, but it did not hinder us in anyway. As far s the Internet, yes, one can not access it from their room, or at least when we where there, we couldn't; however, there are many areas around the lobby where Internet reception is available for free. Would highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful and memorable stay in Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the ruins if you are interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oskisgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our property in your visit to Cusco city.
Moreover thank you for your kind word about our Palacio del Inka, as you mentioned it is beautiful and charming with many pieces of art.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Best regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very small room. Inconsistent hot water. No free breakfast, even though every other hotel I stayed at in Peru offered that. Also, you have to pay for wifi. In general, sub par service. Do not use the hotel transportation, they will rip you off by 300-400%. Also, bath tub had marks on it and was not a jacuzzi like my 5 star hotel in Aguas Calientes. The check in and check out process was longer than other hotels. Also on check out, this was the only hotel in my life that gave me a check out card to give to the doorman to leave the hotel. Stay away from this prison!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel. Trust me, you will be doing yourself a HUGE favor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel during your last stay in Cusco.
We highly appreciated your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It is based upon the information that you gave us, that we are able to make the necessary changes and corrections to our service.
Best regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Pros: The hotel is located right next to Qorikancha (Temple of the Sun). We could see ruins outside our room window. The area was really safe to walk around in and only a 5 minute walk to the main square in Cusco. The square has beautiful churches and a bustling nightlife. Many good restaurants, both high-end and lower, are located within walking distance. The lobby and hotel itself has a lot of character - it's far from authentic, more of a modern luxury mixed with hints of Mayan charm. The travel agency located near the concierge is fabulous. They helped with securing hard to get tickets for Huayna PIcchu and were so great to work with.

Cons: They lost our luggage. We had stored our luggage with the bell desk since we had a late flight out. We came back to the hotel 30 minutes before we were to be picked up by the car we had reserved with the concierge. We thought that would be plenty of time to retrieve our luggage but they didn't come back for 25 minutes to tell us that they couldn't find our bags, knowing that there was a car waiting for us. There was so much confusion around who was looking for what between the bell and the front desk. Finally, they asked us to go into the bags room to see if we could spot our bags. They weren't in either of the storage areas. After several calls and us stressing that we were going to miss our flight, we found the original bellman and he had put our bags in an empty banquet room. No other bags were in there, just ours. By this time, we'd been waiting/looking for our luggage for 45 minutes and were not 15 minutes late to meet the car. The staff knew we had a car scheduled and no one thought to tell the driver to wait so he had left. Luckily, the travel agency had an extra black car that was able to take us but we were rushing to make our flight.

Side note: Breakfast is typical upscale hotel pricey, around $40US p/p for the buffet and mediocre for the cost. The fresh juices were nice but I would suggest to venture out. Also, rooms are very small.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ruins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirstyTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you having chosen our Palacio del Inka in your visit to Cusco city.
We are located in the heart of Cusco city, right next to the Qorikancha “The Temple of the Sun” as you mentioned.
And the other hang, It is based upon the information that you gave us, that we are able to make the necessary changes and corrections to our service.
Best regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I just wanted to thank all the warm and welcoming staff at this gem of a hotel. Has a beautiful hacienda zoro style.
It's position, service and staff are some of the best I been lucky enough to encounter. Super helpful and warm.
thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 828Mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property.
Moreover I am proud of my team work.
Be sure I have showed your lines
Best regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

An excellent, large and luxurious hotel in the centre of Cusco, very conveniently located less than 10 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas and located right across the road from the Temple of the Sun. The Palacio del Inka (part of the Starwood chain) looks very pretty both inside and out. It sits on the site of a large Incan building and much of the original exterior (and in some cases interior) stonework still remains. It's amazing to think that, when you sit in the hotel bar or restaurant, the bare wall right next to you was fashioned by a bronze age Incan craftsman over 500 years ago with access to almost no metal tools. On arrival the reception is friendly and efficient and you will be offered a selection of tea during the check-in process. The reception area itself is worth spending some time absorbing. Rooms are not overly large with limited storage space and your view may consist of little but the alley running down the side of the hotel, but the beds are extremely comfortable - luxuriously so - and you will certainly appreciate this after a day of seeing the sights. As expected there is a free in-room safe for valuables, and the bathroom is nice with a bath / shower combo. A couple of bottles of water are provided free each day, which is very welcome. Overall, despite being large, the hotel doesn't feel so, and in fact is very calm and relaxed. The restaurant is really top notch both for dinner and the buffet breakfast (I recommend the pancakes, cooked to order) and the hotel staff are excellent while being unobtrusive. There's also a nice spa, the only downside being that you have to pay simply to use the basics such as pool and sauna (this seems to be the way in Peru), although we got lucky and got a 2-for-1 deal on the 'basic thermal circuit' for £30. The only other minor irritation is that internet is only free in the communal areas, unless you are a Starwood gold or platinum member. The only shops within the hotel are high end jewellery boutiques but there's a pharmacy just across the street and plenty of other little shops nearby if you want to buy snacks to munch on. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -00simon00-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our property in your visit to Cusco city.
Moreover thank you for your kind word about our Palacio del Inka.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Best regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.4 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#15 of 165 in Cusco
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Plazoleta Santo Domingo 259, Cusco 51 84, Peru (Formerly Libertador Palacio del Inka Hotel Cusco)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cusco
#1 Business Hotel in Cusco
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#3 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Hotel Cusco
Cusco Libertador Palacio Del Inka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing