We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique looking hotel that more than met our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Ranked #8 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were booked in the Libertador by Gate 1 Travel during our vacation trip to Peru. The hotel was mostly "innocent" from the outside, but stepping into the lobby...BEHOLD! A picturesque hacienda with a glass-covered courtyard lobby with another courtyard outside the restaurant. There is also an intimate bar area off the lobby which we used as a landmark during the interesting (but initially confusing) passage to access the guest rooms in the rear building. Our room for 3 nights was reasonably spacious, clean and matched the splendor of the rest of the hotel architecture.

This hotel provided bottled water daily and they had no trouble at the front desk breaking down our larger soles for smaller change. There is also a business center with PC's and free internet. The beds were comfortable, but we had a bit of street noise. We also had a sliver of a view of the surrounding hillsides over a neighboring roof. However, we normally spend little time in our hotel rooms when we travel and the Libertador is convenient to the center of Cusco. About 3 1/2 short blocks to the Plaza de Armas. We were also just across the street from the Temple of the Sun located inside the Convent of Santo Domingo.

The area around the hotel seemed quite safe and we had little concern being out at night.

There are good restaurants between the hotel and Plaza and more around the Plaza and beyond. Other than a very good breakfast buffet including a very attentive wait staff, we did not eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms that do not overlook the streets. If so, you will probably not have a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about the location of our Hotel.
We are very close to the temple of the Sun and few blocks to the main square.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Kind regards,
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

For the price of this 5-star hotel the customer service was poor. The morning concierge informed our group that her job was not to make reservations and decided to tell us that the reception desk would be of better help. It seemed that everyone that worked in the lobby wanted to send us to someone else for help.

Room Tip: There are closer hotels (5 star) to the center of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am certainly disappointed by the answer you experienced with the concierge, which gave you the impression that all the staff in the lobby could do the same. Your experience falls way below our standards. With this information I can investigate what fell through with the assistance and service procedures and we will ensure it won’t happen again.
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to the Palacio del Inka in Cusco after a strenuous 4-day hike to Machu Picchu and it couldn't have been a wiser choice!

The hotel's original structure can still be seen throughout much of the hotel and upon entering you are greeted warmly with a luxurious fragrance and incredibly plush surroundings that continually remind you that you are in Cuzco. The decor is top-notch featuring a warm, inviting color-palette throughout, the rooms are comfortable with huge beds and plush linens - our room had a balcony which overlooked an enchanting courtyard with bubbling fountain.

Since we were both incredibly busy before travelling to Peru, we failed to book Spa and massage appointments, which was the primary reason for booking at Palacio del Inka as the Spa photos are beautiful. Upon arriving to our room, we immediately reviewed the Spa menu which is expansive and can be overwhelming. We decided to seek out the assistance of our impeccable Concierge, Roger, who imediately enveloped our needs and made them his own - he has a tough job dealing with so many different personalities and I commend him for a job well done (A few American travellers had just arrived and were already giving him problems and complaining about everything, which he handled with exceptional courtesy and professionalism). With his help, the Spa was able to accommodate us with 2 Hydro Therapy Massages at a promtional rate (89 Soles each!!!) as well as a pampering, yet therapeutic massage for one of us that evening and the other the next day before our taxi to the airport. Carmen, the Spa Manager, was delightful in ensuring we made the most of our experience during the Hydro Therapy Massage, and we were both treated with care during our Swedish massages by Sonia and Cristina (go for the orange scented oil!).

Dining at the bar with Eva as bartender was an extroadinary experience as she watched over us carefully, but allowed the 2 of us to dine privately and enjoy each other's company. She, too, has a way about her that was gracious and nurturing...even when yet another set of grumpy American's arrived to express their discontent (it's not a Motel 6, so no, there are no ice machines down every hall). Eva and her colleague quickly tended to the grumpy guest, offering to walk the glasses of ice they demanded back to her room for her, which inevitibly soothed the patron. (It boggles my mind that people behave this way, expecially when travelling to other parts of the world - how embarrassing for us.) However, we ourselves quickly returned to our munchies of a club sandwich, mini-pizzas of arugula and prosciutto, and the quinoa-crusted chicken fingers (delicious) - the roasted corn and fresh potato chips were also fantastic bar snacks that were served along with our drinks.

All in all, this 1-night stay was filled with content, caring, pampering, wonderful experiences that were curated meticulously by Roger, Carmen, Sonia, Cristina, and Eva. Two New Yorkers went home incredibly relaxed and satisfied, longing for a return to the Palacio del Inka, and we couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: The Colonial section of the hotel is older, yet renovated flawlessly. We amused ourselves over and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our property with other future guest.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Staying in this hotel was a special experience because it had this palace feel. It was like a museum with so much artwork and architecture to enjoy. The location was perfect for a tourist, close to the main square and other attractions, restaurants and shops. The service was excellent and attentive. Breakfast was sumptuous. On our first night the room was nice but not very spacious. On our return from Machu Picchu we had an upgraded room which was much nicer and roomier. The memory of this hotel would last a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for take the time to review our property.
My team and I appreciated your kind comments.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Sincerely,
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been to cusco several times and stayed at the monastero , I read the reviews on trip advisor every time before I go. The hotel has Been taken over by star wood luxury collection.
As always I email the hotel before I leave the states with requests that I like, the Starwood answered promptly , and fulfilled my requests.
We arrived from the air port and check in was excellent, seated on a comfortable couch in the lobby while the front desk processed the check then escorted us to our room. The rooms were excellent , even though the windows were small ours had a beautiful view of the cathedral tower which had been built on the inka tempel of the sun. The room lacked a balcony but right across the hall was a 70 foot terrace overlooking cusco,
The hotel public ares are beautiful with period details of the 1500's ,master paintings , inka walls.
Very beautiful . The location excellent and the personal made you feel right at home, the breakfast was excellent ( included in the price), the room upkeep was excellent. My only complaint was the small bars of soap , though a body wash , shampoo and condition were excellent. The beds were very comfortable. All requests to housekeeping were fulfilled very quickly .over all compared to the monasterio the Starwood was a much better value and a much friendlier hotel. I would recommend this hotel to the picky traveler, my wife and I have traveled the world and would give this hotel a 8.5 on acomadotions, and a ten on value, a 10 on location, and a 9 on personal ( many employees spoke excellent english) we plan to stay here in the future. We will be leaving on tues the 8 of October ,and will have very fond memories of our stay in cusco, I hope your stay will be as pleasant


The monastero has a nicer court yard but thr rooms were not as nice
The staff and door men were excellent with directions

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NonsmokerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for take the time to review our property. It is satisfactory to know our service and hotel were to your liking.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel has a dark, medieval feel with all its antique furnishings. The breakfast was sumptuous with a buffet as well as made to order items. The staff was excellent and helpful. You are close to the main square and shopping. Wifi was not free, but every room had lovely robes and slippers for your comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.
We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's a really beautiful hotel, in a historic building, and has a very good location, in front of Plaza Santo Domingo, near Plaza de Armas. Very good service, kind employees, specially Jonatan and Josver, who attended us. Hotel can storage your luggage when you leave for Machhu Picchu, free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aschwarzr, Gerente at Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the location and of course the comment about our staff, especially Jonathan and Josver. It is satisfactory to know that everything was to your liking. The storage is a facility that we provide our guests not only for comfort, but also help make of this a great and unforgettable experience.
We will be pleased to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Arturo Schwarz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#28 of 172 in Cusco
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco

Address: Plazoleta Santo Domingo 259, Cusco 51 84, Peru (Formerly Libertador Palacio del Inka Hotel Cusco)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cusco
#1 Business Hotel in Cusco
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#2 Spa Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $189 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco sits in a restored palace with elements dating back to the 15th century. Our luxury hotel in Cusco, Peru is across the road from the remains of the Coricancha temple and just a short walk from Cusco Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Hotel Cusco
Cusco Libertador Palacio Del Inka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing