We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service , wonderful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service , wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights, our room was beautiful, the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and separate shower It was located in the 6 floor which is the best. The hotel is remodeled, the staff were so helpful and courteous!! I want to mentioned especially Inira, Marianela and Renzo.
The breakfast, included in the price, was wonderful, Buffett with Peruvian food too, it exceeded our expectations.
If you stay on a high floor the rooms facing the street have a nice view but may be noisy if you are at a lower floor, the 6 floor is the best

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjb271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco, as a destination during your stay.

We will be looking forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that Sonesta Cusco offers.

If we can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a pleasure to assist you.


Warm regards,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    643
    107
    32
    15
See reviews for
662
1,060
117
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here in July for 3 nights. good service, speedy check-in and out, great breakfast with Peruvian specialties, also good a la carte in the restaurant. However, on our first night they were unable to provide us with a heater, and it was simply freezing. We got one on our second day, but could not warm up the bathroom, which was too cold for comfort, not to mention morning shower. Also experienced traffic noise even though we were on the 5th floor. The walk uphill to the main attractions can be too strenuous if you experience altitude sickness. We chose a more centrally located hotel for our last night in Cusco following visit to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing Sonesta Cusco, as a destination during your stay, otherwise

My staff and I look forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that Sonesta Cusco offers.

Kind regards,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here in Summer 2014,
Pros: Excellent service, staff extremely helpful, rooms spacious, decent breakfast, location close to central market for shopping
Cons: Noise from traffic if room is facing the main road, uphill walk to main square.
Will like to mention great service from Concierge Indira who helped us with our families needs !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco, as a destination during your stay.

We will be looking forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that Sonesta Cusco offers.

If we can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a pleasure to assist you.


Warm regards,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found the hotel thru expedia as did a rating for value. The bedroom is a good size, bit surprised to see 3 beds. Check in was easy and the standard of cleanliness and built was to a good standard.

Great place to overnight on or to Machu Pichu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinbagonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my appreciation for share with us your kind comments through the Trip Advisor website.

We would like to explain you Sonesta Cusco is located in Cusco city not in Machupicchu town, if so probably your comments is for some hotel and not ours.



Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

good value for money, at $100 is a good price to just spend a night. Very far from the main square. Breakfast is good and the staff is very attentive. The rooms did not have any heating and we had to ask for a portable heater

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I would like to express my appreciation for share with us your kind comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I am glad you really enjoyed our service besides our buffet breakfast, which is prepared every morning thinking in each of our guest, considering this is a great way to start the day.

Once again thank you for your kindness and for choosing our property as your home in the city of Cusco, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here twice on my visit to Machu Picchu. The first time was definitely better. The air conditioning worked the first time, but when I checked in a week later, the other room did not have any air conditioning or heat, and a fan was in the room. The fan moved the air, but was noisy. The restaurant was very good, but on the second visit, the restaurant was not available, so they moved the food area to the front of the hotel. The food was not as good then. Complimentary coca tea available for check-in to help combat the altitude sickness. The complimentary breakfast the first time had a variety of items, but when they moved the food serving area to the front, there was a limited amount of food available. Even though I had paid for a single room, the hotel staff did not want to honor this request, but they finally did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaCZ3976PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my appreciation for share with us your kind comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Once again thank you for your review, thank you for choosing our property as your home in the city of Cusco, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent staff. good food, v good decor in public areas . room clean , tidy comfortable. Don't forget though that ALL hotels toilets cannot flush loo paper not just here, so it goes in the bin provided as sanitary stuff does in UK. luxurious compared to inca trail camping lol. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: back rooms views over slums not nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my appreciation for share with us your kind comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Once again thank you for your kindness and for choosing our property as your home in the city of Cusco, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Iván Pérez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing