We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was shocking! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The service was shocking! ”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel was the price was cheap for a 4 star and the location was convenient. The food was very expensive and tasted average, hotel staff was very unhelpful they prefer hiding sitting at the back of the reception instead of servicing the customers. They charged my twice and did not know what to do to reverse the fund. Managers were useless. The hotel should be downgraded to 1 star hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank akp883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Gratefully,

Ivan Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    717
    118
    34
    16
See reviews for
768
1,188
131
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife, 3 year old daughter and I stayed 6 nights at the Sonesta hotel in Cusco. The room was pretty nice and comfortable, had hot water and good wifi. Breakfast was good and we met some good members of the staff that were very hospitable. It was a 15 minute walk to the main area which was nice to be close enough but not in the middle of everything. There was a handicraft market right opposite the hotel which was good and affordable. A grocery store right opposite allowed us to get regular stuff like water, chips, snacks, etc.

Overall, I would recommend the place. The downside was this was on the main road and so could be a bit noisy into the early evenings/early mornings if you are trying to get some sleep and room service probably a bit expensive.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vishesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Gratefully,

Ivan Pérez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a small group touring together. We stayed here twice, at different stages of the tour. There are some very good things about this hotel, and others which were utterly infuriating.

The location is very good - handy for going to places of interest, and with a market directly across the road for gifts and souvenirs.

The rooms we had were lovely, except... not air-conditioned. This became a problem on our second stay, when the weather was very warm and we had a room that faced the internal atrium, and there was absolutely no fresh air to be had even with the windows wide open. We had to ask for a fan. Some of our fellow travellers had to move to other rooms, which they said took a bit of trouble to arrange. Several of us kept being given room keys that didn't work, which was very annoying when we were tired and just wanted to rest.

We had great difficulty getting any service from the front desk/housekeeping. They would always say that our request would be seen to in ten minutes, but no one turned up on most occasions. For example, I asked for an iron and ironing board three times, finally becoming quite angry at the front desk before that was done - about 6 hours after I needed it.

On the other hand, the restaurant was lovely, and the service was top class. We had a very nice lunch there and several breakfasts - all were excellent in terms of food and service.

Good wifi too. Oh and very comfy beds and pillows!

This could be a really fantastic hotel if the lack of air con in the central rooms and poor service were attended to.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing into the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunelm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Gratefully,

Ivan Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was a very nice hotel, near to everything.
The rooms were modern and clean.
Staffs were friendly and we had a good time staying there.
The only negative which i noticed is that the front desk staffs were a bit slow.
Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jineesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Gratefully,

Ivan Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We just came back from our Peru trip where we spent and nights at the Sonesta Hotel. Average size rooms which are adequate but no window in the first room and one tiny window in the second room upon our return. I guess that means our rooms were on the backside of the hotel. Also, no way to adjust the temperature in the room. First it was really cold and then it got hot and stuffy. But we were not in the rooms long enough to miss the views from the window so it didn't really matter. The breakfast buffet is excellent - one of the best we experienced while in Peru. The reason I rated this hotel above average is because of the excellent customer service from every staff member we came in contact with. We were always met with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hykergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Best Regards

Ivan Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here twice on my tour of Peru. The first time I had a room that faced the main street and it was noisy. The second time I had a room at the back. No view, but it is quieter. This hotel is walking distance to the main square and the many restaurants and attractions. This location had some of the fastest wifi connection speed. It only worked in the room, not the lobby. They have computers in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent. The bar had ESPN.
The rooms were on the smallish side, with US electrical outleets.

Room Tip: A room in the back, if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffTPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Best Regards

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a family stay on our second part our trip to Machu Picchu / Cusco area. The hotel has a very good location, 5 blocks away from the central plaza and at a walking distance from many of the main attractions at Cusco.

The rooms are nicely furnished, clean, have very good bathrooms and great beds. The staff was helpful and helped us with all our requests. Breakfast was good, a standard buffet breakfast with most of the typical things you would want.

The only issue with is hotel is noise. One of our rooms was on the 4th floor overlooking Av. del Sol and was very noisy, as windows are not air tight and let all the street noise in. Our second room was 3 rooms away from the elevator and you could hear both the elevator and all the people who were talking when waiting for the elevator.

This hotel would get at better rating from me if they solved this issue. A change of better windows is in order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you review in the Tripadvisor website, I do value the time you spent in sharing your experience during your stay with us.
Your comments are important for us an thank you one more time for your kind support in order to improve our service.
Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing us for your visit to Cusco, I hope that someday in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and please feel free to us in anything you may need.

Warm Regards,

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#31 of 167 in Cusco
1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.6 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing