We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good tour hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good tour hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here twice on my tour of Peru. The first time I had a room that faced the main street and it was noisy. The second time I had a room at the back. No view, but it is quieter. This hotel is walking distance to the main square and the many restaurants and attractions. This location had some of the fastest wifi connection speed. It only worked in the room, not the lobby. They have computers in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent. The bar had ESPN.
The rooms were on the smallish side, with US electrical outleets.

Room Tip: A room in the back, if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffTPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Best Regards

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    729
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
805
1,209
133
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a family stay on our second part our trip to Machu Picchu / Cusco area. The hotel has a very good location, 5 blocks away from the central plaza and at a walking distance from many of the main attractions at Cusco.

The rooms are nicely furnished, clean, have very good bathrooms and great beds. The staff was helpful and helped us with all our requests. Breakfast was good, a standard buffet breakfast with most of the typical things you would want.

The only issue with is hotel is noise. One of our rooms was on the 4th floor overlooking Av. del Sol and was very noisy, as windows are not air tight and let all the street noise in. Our second room was 3 rooms away from the elevator and you could hear both the elevator and all the people who were talking when waiting for the elevator.

This hotel would get at better rating from me if they solved this issue. A change of better windows is in order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you review in the Tripadvisor website, I do value the time you spent in sharing your experience during your stay with us.
Your comments are important for us an thank you one more time for your kind support in order to improve our service.
Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing us for your visit to Cusco, I hope that someday in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and please feel free to us in anything you may need.

Warm Regards,

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel Sonesta its located in the middle of the town. Walking distance from everything. Excellent service. The room was ok, nice view to the Plaza. but the second time around, it had no view to anything (view to a wall).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you review in the Tripadvisor website, I do value the time you spent in sharing your experience during your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing us for your visit to Cusco, I hope that someday in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and please feel free to us in anything you may need.

Warm Regards,
Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our room was small, but had everything we needed for our stay. The rates really were inexpensive. The breakfast buffet here was the best I have ever experienced as an included in the price of the room meal. We spent 3 nights here and as is apparently normal in Cusco, the city services were sporadic. For well over 24 hours there was no water at the hotel or in the surrounding area. Yet, hotel staff coped beautifully and the breakfast remained as great as ever.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. Dogs bark at night and would really disturb sleep on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickySleeper482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you review in the Tripadvisor website, I do value the time you spent in sharing your experience during your stay with us.
Your comments are important for us and thank you one more time for your kind support in order to improve our service, so we will be work so hard thinking just in our guest.
Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing us for your visit to Cusco, I hope that someday in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and please feel free to us in anything you may need.

Warm Regards,
Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very good hotel, with a nice breakfast, and not so far from the city center. The service is excellent, and the rooms are quite good. There is an interesting inca market just in front of the hotel, where you can buy a lot of things. it is almost 4 blocks from the city center. I would recommend the hotel for the value and service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city and for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Gratefully,

Iván Pérez García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way back from Machu Pichu and used the hotel as our base the day before we headed back to Lima. The hotel looks pretty new and clean - it reminded me a lot of a Courtyard by Marriott to be honest. Its not a luxury hotel, but when compared to other hotels in the area - this must be one of the best. I liked that everything looked so new, including the linens, paint, restaurant, etc.

I recommend that you book direct and pay attention to the different rate options they give. Some of them include american breakfast and make sure you pay special attention to the total number of people in the room, Sonesta is very strict about this in Peru. Overall, it was a great experience and a hotel if you're hoping to walk around and explore Cusco by foot

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the street - nice views, but could be noisy at times because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGARCIASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to host you soon again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed there for three nights and the stay couldn't have been any better. The staff were always friendly and everyone treated us well. Overall a very good experience. One thing i could suggest is to have a electric water heater in the room or to provide one upon request. Even though the staff always provided us with hot water when we needed them it would be convenient to have that at the room without bothering anyone. However all the other positives made the stay really nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to host you soon again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#22 of 169 in Cusco
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing