We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value, but a little far from the main plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After reading all the reviews complaining about the noise at hotels near the main plaza in Cusco (Plaza de Armas), I looked for a hotel a little further away. Many previous reviews cited the Sonesta Hotel Cusco as modern and further away from the hustle and bustle.

The Sonesta feels like an hotel that has gone through renovations to bring it some modern touches. For example, most of the fixtures in the rooms feel old (like the bathtub) but have modern touches (like a curved shower rod). The room I had was not big but still comfortable. WiFi service was fine throughout the hotel.

Like most hotels in Cusco, breakfast was included. The food was okay. On one morning, they had it in one of the conference rooms, and the selection was limited. On another day, they had it in the restaurant, where there was a made-to-order egg/omelette station.

The service was pretty good. All the hotel staff that I interacted with were friendly and helpful. No complaints on this count.

The only thing is that the hotel is a little far from the main plaza, which at least meant that the neighborhood is relatively quiet. It is a slight uphill walk (but straightforward) down El Sol and takes a good 15 minutes. The neighborhood is relatively quiet, though. There is also a Mega supermarket diagonally across the street, which is helpful for stocking up on supplies. Also, it is close to the handicraft market and Wanchaq train station, which is where the PeruRail buses are temporarily leaving for Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you for the time you set aside to share your impressions on Trip Advisor’s website. We sincerely hope to have a second opportunity to serve you and offer you the real Sonesta experience.

Kindest gards,
The Sonesta Cusco team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,138)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Hotel Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 3,139 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pretty amazed with a service in Sonesta - very professional, helpful and in terms of Peruvian speed - kind of fast ;-). They helped us a lot with luggage (storage, transfers into the rooms) and information. Hotel itself is modern, clean and pleasant, breakfast is sumptuous with a great service. The small things which always make a difference - refreshing welcome drink after arrival. There's free wi-fi, big craft market on the other side of the street and the main square - Plaza de Armas - about 15 min walk away. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Modern hotel, with a lovely lobby. Upon arrival, we were greeted by someone dressed in traditional Peruvian attire, who offered us a cup of coca tea. Check in was fast and easy, rooms large and clean, beds very comfy.

The hotel is on a main street, directly across from the largest artisan marketplace. It is downhill not uphill from the center. Most of the action happens a short 5-10 minute walk from this hotel. Airport is a 10 minute ride. Wifi and free breakfast add to this pPerfect place to stay...would stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyliramc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dedar Guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city, your opinion encourage us to put a lot of effort everyday to keep providing a great service to our guests. We hope you can stay again, if you have any suggestion or comment please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I would stay here again. The staff is very helpful. They assisted us in getting our luggage transferred, letters mailed, getting to the train station which is right across the street (very nice if you are heading to Machu Picchu), and made sure we had everything we needed. They greeted us with a cool fruit beverage followed by a hot coca tea. Our room was comfortable but I have to admit quite noisy. During the day you could here construction and in the evening people out in the hall. But at night time it was quiet and my sleep was undisturbed. It's about 20 minutes to walk to the main square. That seems far to some people but the main square is bustling with people and I prefer it to be a little quieter where I sleep. The 20 min walk was enjoyable. The best part is they only charge about $6.00 to pick you up at the airport. Just email them your flight info and arrival time and they are there waiting with your name on a sign. A taxi is twice that much. I wish I had gotten the nice young women's name at the front desk because she was excellent. This was our first day in Peru and she kept us straight!!! Breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco and Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.
Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fica no final da av do sol, bom para se dormir com sossego e caminhar ate os principais pontos turisticos. Hotel moderno, bonito, com camas confortaveis. Nao tem ar condicionado, mas nos forneceram ventilador. Embora a temperatura estivesse cerca de 10 graus a noite, o quarto estava bem quente, o que pode ser otimo no inverno. Cafe da manha bom , falta maior variedade de paes, mas os ovos sao feitos na hora, ao seu estilo! Funcionarios atenciosos, mas alguns tinham dificuldade em entender Portugues e Ingles.

Located at the end of el sol ave., great for a peaceful night sleep and near major spots. Modern, nice hotel, with comfortable beds. We stayed in 2 different rooms and none had air conditioner, which can be a problem in hotter days. They provided us a fan, upon request. Rooms are kept warm, although the temperature outside was around 50 at night, a good thing in the winter. Good breakfast, we missed a bigger variety of bread, though. On the other hand, they will cook your eggs as you wish! Gentle and smily employees, but some had trouble understanding both Portuguese and English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before and 1 night after going to Machu Picchu. The hotel is very good, staff is very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only downside (in my opinion) was the location. It is located about 4 blocks from the city center, but uphill and, at Cusco altitude, this means at least 30-40 minutes walk.

I went to Cusco mainly because I wanted to visit Machu Picchu. I liked the city and its sights, but next time I go to Machu Picchu (I hope I can return one day!) I plan to spend more time in Valle Sagrado and Machu Picchu and only visit the Cusco airport. I had a very hard time to get used to Cusco altitude, and I don't think the city or its surroundings were worth the trouble, compared to Machu Picchu and the Valle Sagrado.

Word of advice: take the coca tea at least 2-3 times per day. It tastes bad and you'll start smelling like it after a few days, but it really helps you deal with the high altitude symptom - mainly fatigue, nausea and headache. And take it easy on your first days in Cusco, rest and drink a lot of water, or you may experience more serious lung and brain problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city and share with us trough the Trip Advisor web site.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest. we know about our weaknesses and our strengths, the reason that we are working really hard with the only purpose which is our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa

Quality control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I usually stay at 5 star hotels (like the Monasterio hotel from my last trip to Cusco) and found this one to be good for the price. I paid around $130/night which came with free buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, custom made omelets, yogurt, cereal, bread, etc). Initially, I asked for a quiet room and went with the porter to check one out beforehand. Was too loud so we went to another "interior" room which had no windows. It was perfect. However, that night, it was too warm so I changed rooms which they were able to accommodate luckily since they were full. I was then put in a room with a window and was quiet. The room was updated with an LCD TV. The bathroom was spacious and also had a window which was nice to let all the steam out during my hot showers. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you rooms ahead of time if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city Cusco.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $81 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing