We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“distancia perfeita do burburinho perfect distance from the hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
SP
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“distancia perfeita do burburinho perfect distance from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fica no final da av do sol, bom para se dormir com sossego e caminhar ate os principais pontos turisticos. Hotel moderno, bonito, com camas confortaveis. Nao tem ar condicionado, mas nos forneceram ventilador. Embora a temperatura estivesse cerca de 10 graus a noite, o quarto estava bem quente, o que pode ser otimo no inverno. Cafe da manha bom , falta maior variedade de paes, mas os ovos sao feitos na hora, ao seu estilo! Funcionarios atenciosos, mas alguns tinham dificuldade em entender Portugues e Ingles.

Located at the end of el sol ave., great for a peaceful night sleep and near major spots. Modern, nice hotel, with comfortable beds. We stayed in 2 different rooms and none had air conditioner, which can be a problem in hotter days. They provided us a fan, upon request. Rooms are kept warm, although the temperature outside was around 50 at night, a good thing in the winter. Good breakfast, we missed a bigger variety of bread, though. On the other hand, they will cook your eggs as you wish! Gentle and smily employees, but some had trouble understanding both Portuguese and English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    731
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
806
1,213
133
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before and 1 night after going to Machu Picchu. The hotel is very good, staff is very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only downside (in my opinion) was the location. It is located about 4 blocks from the city center, but uphill and, at Cusco altitude, this means at least 30-40 minutes walk.

I went to Cusco mainly because I wanted to visit Machu Picchu. I liked the city and its sights, but next time I go to Machu Picchu (I hope I can return one day!) I plan to spend more time in Valle Sagrado and Machu Picchu and only visit the Cusco airport. I had a very hard time to get used to Cusco altitude, and I don't think the city or its surroundings were worth the trouble, compared to Machu Picchu and the Valle Sagrado.

Word of advice: take the coca tea at least 2-3 times per day. It tastes bad and you'll start smelling like it after a few days, but it really helps you deal with the high altitude symptom - mainly fatigue, nausea and headache. And take it easy on your first days in Cusco, rest and drink a lot of water, or you may experience more serious lung and brain problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city and share with us trough the Trip Advisor web site.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest. we know about our weaknesses and our strengths, the reason that we are working really hard with the only purpose which is our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa

Quality control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I usually stay at 5 star hotels (like the Monasterio hotel from my last trip to Cusco) and found this one to be good for the price. I paid around $130/night which came with free buffet breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, custom made omelets, yogurt, cereal, bread, etc). Initially, I asked for a quiet room and went with the porter to check one out beforehand. Was too loud so we went to another "interior" room which had no windows. It was perfect. However, that night, it was too warm so I changed rooms which they were able to accommodate luckily since they were full. I was then put in a room with a window and was quiet. The room was updated with an LCD TV. The bathroom was spacious and also had a window which was nice to let all the steam out during my hot showers. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you rooms ahead of time if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city Cusco.
We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did not do much walking around this area in Cusco as we were only there for a couple of nights but I like the fact that the handicraft market is just across the street from this hotel; makes it easy for tourists to go souvenir-hunting. There is also a couple of restaurants just down the street. The breakfast was adequate, the room was clean & spacious. Although our room was facing the street & the market, we really did find it noisy at night. The staff was friendly, had coca tea and/or coca candies available in the lobby at all times. Also around the lobby & during the day a Peruvian woman dressed in her native, colorful attire was demonstrating the art of weaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floRDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guest;

We would like to thank you very much for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cusco for your recent visit to this magical city.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

We really appreciate your comments as they motivate us to continue working hard to surpass the expectations of our guest.

Best Regards

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Front desk staff are unhelpful and arrogant. We were misinformed by one of the receptionists in regards to availability and rates. The manager instead of explaining and apologizing for the mistake kept giving us inaccurate information, saying that they don't have any rooms available for the following nights but then she suggested us to make a new booking with a higher rate for the remaining of our stay!. The money is not the issue, but it's wrong to encourage bad service lying to customers. The manager is obviously completely incompetent and unprofessional. Stay at Eco Inn instead!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Control at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations as a hotel. however we had the mencion day our hotel with high occupancy, we cordially showed two room the last one and they was bigger for you. We have guest who come to the hotel with reservations and different request so they are our responsibility.

Adicional thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.


Sincerely,

Ivonne Hinojosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is located just at the entrance of Cusco's main street (Avenida del Sol). It is a recently renovated building, giving it a nice modern touch in an ancient city. The perfect combination.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. Large LCD TV, reading lights, bath tub.
Downside: The air conditioning system went off during the night and it was either too cold or too hot. Never got to make it work appropriately.
Location: It is about 6 or 7 blocks from Cusco's main square, which is good if you want to get away from noisy tourists or locals, but on the downside, Cusco's main square is quite a nice place and you miss it because it is not so close and walking at night along the Avenida del Sol, as local say, is sometimes not so safe. (I have to admit I did not feel unsafe at any moment)
Personnel: You can't ask for more... they are very helpful and friendly.
Restaurant: The hotel's restaurant has a very limited menu and, if you compare it to Lima's gastronomical experience, unfortunately it rates too low. The breakfast is also limited.
Overall, a very good impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is well kept, modern and with a nice ambient. My 1st room was very spacious but then had to move due to lack of security box. 2nd room was much smaller which wasn't that great but still same quality.
Main "plaza" is not that close as it seems but still fairly close to walk. If you go during rainy season the bus station for Machu Picchi is only half a block away, this was great (bus + train ride in this time of the year).
Only negative is I requested wake up call, they missed it. Requested help with a cleaning kit, never showed up. Lack a bit of service but general well priced for its quality.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatinBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence and This is in order to give our guest the best service ever.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#22 of 169 in Cusco
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing