We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, makes Cusco a more "magic" experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This little hotel is located just at the entrance of Cusco's main street (Avenida del Sol). It is a recently renovated building, giving it a nice modern touch in an ancient city. The perfect combination.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. Large LCD TV, reading lights, bath tub.
Downside: The air conditioning system went off during the night and it was either too cold or too hot. Never got to make it work appropriately.
Location: It is about 6 or 7 blocks from Cusco's main square, which is good if you want to get away from noisy tourists or locals, but on the downside, Cusco's main square is quite a nice place and you miss it because it is not so close and walking at night along the Avenida del Sol, as local say, is sometimes not so safe. (I have to admit I did not feel unsafe at any moment)
Personnel: You can't ask for more... they are very helpful and friendly.
Restaurant: The hotel's restaurant has a very limited menu and, if you compare it to Lima's gastronomical experience, unfortunately it rates too low. The breakfast is also limited.
Overall, a very good impression.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 3,321 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is well kept, modern and with a nice ambient. My 1st room was very spacious but then had to move due to lack of security box. 2nd room was much smaller which wasn't that great but still same quality.
Main "plaza" is not that close as it seems but still fairly close to walk. If you go during rainy season the bus station for Machu Picchi is only half a block away, this was great (bus + train ride in this time of the year).
Only negative is I requested wake up call, they missed it. Requested help with a cleaning kit, never showed up. Lack a bit of service but general well priced for its quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatinBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence and This is in order to give our guest the best service ever.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Modern hotel with all the amenities. Breakfast is included. We saw a special advertised on their web site and rooms were just $100.
Staff is accommodating. Not all of the front desk personnel speaks good English. They will get you someone that does if you have trouble communicating.
Location is the bomb. Walk to the plaza was enjoyable. Grocery store, pharmany and plenty of shopping. Lots of nice places to dine near the plaza. Since we were not used to the altitude we were advised to eat light (soup) and avoid meat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbalsoaplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were extremely disappointed with how we were treated there. Our room was prepaid in Florida, USA and arranged by a big tour operator that did business in Peru and Ecuador. We got in late at night accompanied by the contact person from the tour company. We could not enter through the front door because of a massive contruction on the street so we got in through the back door.
They gave us Room 229, the room next to the contruction site. When I asked for the air conditioner, I was told that they had none. I have Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension and I needed air conditioning. Then, I asked for the window. The bellman showed us a square plastic pull down cover which I thought was a movie projector screen. That was the window cover - no drapery in the room! When he opened the window, there was a ladder standing next to the window. We were not going to spend the night in this room so we asked for another room on a higher floor. The bellman paged the front desk receptionist and she assigned Room 322. It was good that the bellman knocked on the door before he inserted the key on the slot. There was a couple asleep inside. Embarrassed by the incident, the bellman (Micael) asked my husband to speak with the front desk receptionist. Then, we were told to go to Room 422. It was almost 11 P. M. by then. Still, we were told by the front desk staff that they had no air conditioned room. At 11:10 P.M., we called Americo, the contact person who took us there earlier. He was surprised but he told us that he would make some phone calls the next day. We opened the little bathroom window to try to get some air. It was hot and muggy. I stayed awake all night because I could not breath. I was appalled to see what the view was from our window the next morning. My husband spoke with the front desk receptionist that morning and he was asked what time we would come back from our tour. We were not about to wait until that night to be told that they had no other room again. Our bellman this time was Cesar. He was sympathetic and very nice. We were transferred to Room 508 which was totally different from the previous rooms. Room 508 had air conditioning and a balcony over looking the nicer part of the city. It had a sliding glass door and a regular drapery. It had a desk and two queen size beds with fancy pillows. What a difference! The front desk people insisted that they had no air conditioned rooms. We felt like we were treated like beggars from the street!
When we came back from a tour that afternoon, there was a platter with some chocolates and a note stating that they were sorry that we were treated that way and that they were embarrassed. We did not think that they were really sorry. It was a gesture that they had to do. The music at the lobby was extremely loud and appropriate for young teenagers. We asked them to turn it down. There was no tea pot inside the rooms like you normally see in other big hotels. Cusco was windy and cold the next day we were there and it would have been nice to have something hot to drink then. If you want tea, you would have to go to the lobby where the tea pot was. In the room, there was no hook to put your towel or bathrobe. The only towel rack was the one near the sink that held the 2 hand towels.
There was a small safe and a small refrigerator. There was no iron or ironing board. If there were an emergency, you would not know the escape route. There was no map or directions on the door to lead you out of your floor since elevators could not be used in case of a fire! There was a smoke detector and sprinkler system located on the wall on the side of the bed- not on the ceiling. This hotel was not safe!
The free breakfast was unappetizing. They had jam and jellies in open containers. The sausages and cold cuts did not taste fresh. The had cactus pears and olives in small square containers. They did not look good. The fruit juices were all watered down. We ordered coffee and hot chocolate and they were not brought until we were leaving. Service on the restaurant atbreakfast was extremely slow.
The bellmen were great but they were intimidated by the front desk staff. The front desk people had bad attitudes.
Do yourself a favor. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay eslewhere. There were lots of better hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear guest,

Receive a warm greeting from all staff of the Sonesta Hotel Cusco. Your feedback is very important and thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website for evaluate your experience at our hotel.
According to your comments we are going to take care more closely our services in our differents areas.
We apologize for the inconvenience, we have already make the correctives measures.

It´s correct when you mencioned that our guest use our back door to entrance at the hotel, this was because the main avenue was close eventually (10 days) for the goverment of cusco to improve works.

All our rooms are standard, all of them has the same decoration, color, same features, they do not have air conditioning, but we have incorporated heather, as you are a traveller you can understand Cusco is a cold place during all year, the reason, most of our guest ask for warm room, also we do not have kettles, iron in our rooms, agencies know about that.

Security at our hotel is certificated, each room has a map behaid the door, the corridors has in green big drows the words (Salida in spanish and english).
The second room 322 was unoccuppied, the bellboy had the impression to have heard something in there.
Working with neighbors is pretty hard sometimes.

Our staff at the front desk are very friendly and attentive they are professionals with degrees in service and management, all of them are graduated of the best universities in this city, we finding those comments from our guest who can apreciated the human situation.

On the other hand we are really thank you for your comments in order to improve our facilities at our breakfast.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations as a city. However we can suggest many exciting places that you can visit on your next trip to Peru.

Sincerely

Ivonne V. Hinojosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this hotel, with a nice room, nice bathroom, good location, friendly and helpful staff and nice buffet breakfast. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was also good. If you travel with a wheelchair to Cusco, this hotel is a very good option. We had a wheelchair friendly room. Other alternatives are much cheaper, but not as nice as Sonesta hotel...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunroadwheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services, they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Sincerely,

Ivonne V. Hinojosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is well located, a few blocks from Cusco city center and the surrounding area was fairly safe and touristy. The lobby was clean, reception was warm. The luggage storage at the hotel was a very helpful thing. The staff were very professional. Buffet breakfast more than met our expectations. However the room was rather small, but clean; did not have climate control. There was no decent table to write on and there was only one chair and poor (yellow) lighting. That was kind of odd. There is a possibility that if I were to return to Cusco I would try a different hotel. But overall, an okay place to stay in, for a short time.

Room Tip: Try not to get the rooms at the end of the hallway Make sure climate control works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukumaran1-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations, However they serve us an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

Thank you for your comments and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our facilities and services.

Sincerely,

Ivonne V. Hinojosa
Quality Control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ok so this isn't in the heart of Cusco, but it's close enough, and taxis are cheat, if you are affected by the altitude you certainly don't want to walk. The rooms are great but you can tell that attention to detail is not their strong point, the restaurant is also good value for money.

I wonder if they've sorted out the problems with the lifts!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endevaour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Coordinador de Calidad at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,
Reciba un cordial saludo de todo el staff de Sonesta Hotel Cusco. Quisiéramos agradecerle por compartir su reciente experiencia con los seguidores del Tripadvisor.

Realmente sería un placer volver a tenerlo y poder cambiar sus percepciones del hotel, de igual manera le agradecemos haya dejado sus comentarios, le aseguro encontramos en ellos grandes oportunidades de mejora.
Cordialmente,

Ivonne V. Hinojosa
Coordinadora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $84 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing