We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with few limitations: distant location and noisy due to hotel construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average hotel with few limitations: distant location and noisy due to hotel construction”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Sonesta Hotel is a hotel with a potential to provide better servIce if will solve the construction noise and to establish a shuttle to the main square where all restaurants and stores are. The distance is about 7 large blocks that by night is not a good choice. The front desk service needs to be overall better prepared for tourist needs. However, there is a desire to help with little knowledge. Breakfast was good as well as service. Room service was also good which is a plus after a long walking/hiking day. Room and bathroom are in good shape and a balcony is a plus with great city view. Don't forget that for 3 soles (1 us dollar) you can reach the main square and there is a large store with souvenirs a cross the street grom the Sonesta Hotel (best prices in town).Taxis are available all the time and are inexpensive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dremotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you review in the Tripadvisor website, I do value the time you spent in sharing your experience during your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your preference and for choosing us for your visit to Cusco, I hope that someday in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back and please feel free to us in anything you may need.

Warm Regards,

Iván Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    729
    120
    34
    16
See reviews for
805
1,209
133
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel 4 night as we were part of a tour of Peru with 4-5 stars hotels.
We experienced a lot of problems but mainly there's a problem with hot water which is not acceptable for an hotel of this category.

Location: the hotel is located in the city, 20 minutes walking from the centre - about 5 block from main square. You can find other 4-5 stars hotel in the centre.

Staff: really kind but totally inexperienced: they don't know how to deal with clients and definetly don't how to approach and solve problems. We did not have a chance to talk to the manager, even if asked more than once. In addition they take in consideration only requests made by a man and even if I speak Spanish fluently and my husband speaks English only, they did something only if it was requested by my husband..unbelievable!!!

Room: we changed 3 rooms in 4 nights as our first room have the water in shower was quickly turning hot and icy with no chance to fix it.
Really annoying. Except for the water, the first room was small but ok. The second was simply not complete, for example there were no table but some round bars that came out from the wall to fix it (very dangerous). Also the second room had the same problem with hot and cold water. We changed again the room (after a strong discussion with management) and the third room was bigger (was with 3 beds) but with the same water problem, even if with longer hot-cold cycles, that made it somehow manageble. In all the rooms there was a space devoted to a minibar but if you want the minibar itself you have to ask it to the staff. Many rooms of the hotel are without any window so you should ask a room with a window (unbelievable in a 5 star hotel). Bottle of water not provided on daily basis (only the first day).

Breakfast: there' s a limited selection and medium quality. Juices of really poor quality. In addition, napkins are often missing and clean dishes or cutlery are not replaced frequently so you may need to ask for them if you have breakfast in rush hour.

Dinner: one night we had dinner in the hotel (they offered the food -without wine- for the inconvenient of the shower). The quality of food was good (not excellent, but good) but in this city you can find better restaurants both for the quality of food and setting at the same price.

Bar: high alcohols of commercial brand - nothing really good and with a limited selection.

In conclusion I don't recommend this hotel as you can't have a pleasant shower, some rooms have no window, others are not finished and the staff is not trained (example we asked an international plug and they tried a radiator probably for another room)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
On behalf of the directors of the hotel we apologize and feel embarrassed by the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We are working to improve this kind of difficulties that affect our service. The information provided is very important and useful to guide our service to meet the highest standards for each day of a better way the needs of our customers. If you have any addicional please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Candy Nuñez Alejos
qamshcusco@sonestaperu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had to change rooms three times: the first one, on the second floor, looked onto a junk roof that would give access to the room to a thief from the outside. The second one, also on the second floor, had such openings between the windowframe and the wall that an icy draft made it uncomfortable. The third one, on the third floor, had the same problem but they sent a maintenance guy to tape those slits, which indeed improved the situation some.
We found this incident characteristic for this hotel. It looks nice, and the interior decoration is pleasant, but on many places it is evident that both building and maintenance control was and is deficient. Showers that cannot be turned off, bathroom telephones that, though obligatory, are not there, and much more.
Travelers should remember that in Peru most hotels do not have airconditioning or even heating, and this Sonesta has neither. If you are cold - and in Cusco it can be bitterly cold - you'll have to ask for a fan heater (that may noisily keep you awake all night). If you are hot - and the summer temperatures are high - you will have to do with a fan.
The hotel is rather far from Cusco centre, in a more dilapidated part of town. Rooms that look onto the street enjoy the very noisy traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Receive a warm greeting, sincerely regret the deficiency that presented during their stay with us for the maintenance of the rooms as the phone in the bathroom the fallacy that we know and believe that we are working to correct it promptly. Please let me tell you that for the next year we will have all necessary equipment in the rooms also have a total of 127 rooms with air conditioning and heating included. We hope you give us the opportunity to come back.
For any additional please just contact me.

Regards,
Nuñez Candy Alejos
qamshcusco@sonestaperu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

sonesta was lovely. clean, helpful staff, good breakfast. the rooms were clean and modern, the only complaint was that the sheets were not very soft and there wasn't a lot of ventilation in the room. beautiful lobby, computers/internet access, wifi. i would recommend and stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Receive a warm greeting from Sonesta Hotel - Cusco, it was a pleasure having you as our guest and thank you very much for your comments. It is this way we realize what our strengths and we work on continually improving our weaknesses. Thank you for choosing us and were very attentive to your next visit to your house.

Best regards,
Candy Nuñez Alejos
qamshcusco@sonestaperu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This is a very nice property. It has very nice modern rooms, comfortable beds and nice all marble bathrooms (also very clean and bright). The breakfast is very adequate and served in their restaurant, which is quite attractive. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The drawbacks to this hotel are 1. its location--- while only a 15 minute walk to the center of town, it is slightly uphill and depending on whether you are having any altitude adjustment issues, it could be a problem. I had no problem but other people may. 2. The main room (not the bath) has inadequate lighting. There are lights around the bed but none other. There is a desk in the room but there is no lighting anywhere near the desk.
I am used to staying in very nice hotels and I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Quality Assurance Manager at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Yours sincerely Sonesta Hotel Cusco, we welcome your comments, this information is very valuable to us and allows us to deliver a quality service to all our distinguished guests. We hope to visit again and any concerns, suggestions or additional comments please contact, will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards,
Nuñez Candy Alejos
qamshcusco@sonestaperu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The hotel was under renovations when we stayed here, so the hotel is a work in progress. Our room was newly renovated, and was really lovely. Great bathroom! It had a balcony that looked out on the main street which we really liked (there was a parade during our stay...so we had an amazing view from our room of all the colorful costumes). One couple we were traveling with didn't like the street noise, so they hotel moved them to an interior facing room which was tons more quiet. The hotel staff looked to accommodate every request.

When I say the hotel was under renovations in May, the top two floors of the hotel were out of commission. I never heard any noise, so they must work on the renovations in the daytime, so it wasn't a problem and the renovations might be over by now?

The hotel front desk staff was great. The location was fine for us, but it was a bit of a walk from the main square. The walk is very easy and safe.

The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast...and it was yummy. Great chef making cook to order eggs/omelets and fruits. Of course if your head is aching from the altitude, there was always coca tea in the lobby which you can sip while using one of the computers in the lobby to check email. Overall, for the price this hotel was a good option.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, I am sure all readers will have a great idea of the great service we provide.

I also would like to thank you for choosing us as the hotel to pamper yourself to experience during your stay in a Magic Cusco, it thrills me to know that you could experience our service combined with the staff charm.

Thank you for traveling in Peru, we have a beautiful country to explore, so we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Pèrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I stay for a three night stay finding it very confortable, nice and trendy with all the conforts of a 4 star hotel. Almost new rooms with new carpets, LCD with cable. Its location is around a 10 min walk to the plaza de armas, not a problem by night if you prefer to take a cab in & out no problem hotel staff helps into that or you can call it yourself enough taxis on the streets. Recommended for the price i got 89 + tax per night

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie24sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SHCusco, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, I am sure all readers will have a great idea of the great service we provide.

I also would like to thank you for choosing us as the hotel to pamper yourself to experience during your stay in a Magic Cusco, it thrills me to know that you could experience our service combined with the staff charm.

Thank you for traveling in Peru, we have a beautiful country to explore, so we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

Warm Regards,
Ivan Pèrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 169 in Cusco
1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
Hilton Garden Inn Cusco
#22 of 169 in Cusco
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cusco

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Address: Avenue. El Sol 954, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cusco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#14 Family Hotel in Cusco
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Hotel Cusco is the best place to stay away from the bustle of downtown, we are welcoming you to share contemporary and modern facilities with the comfort that you deserve, our associated are oriented to provide you the best quality services, finally you can delight with our specific services that will make your experience in the magical city fantastic. We are committed to create solutions to your needs, exceeding your expectations and leave you happy, that's our goal thinking in you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cusco
Cusco Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing