We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service EVER!”
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #30 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best service EVER!”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This year our family of 6 (4 kids, ages 17, 14, 12, and 8) made a much-anticipated trip to Machu Picchu with the mandatory stop-over being Cusco. We generally stay in 5-star hotels so when I reserved at the Novotel in Cusco I was a little hesitant. I am so glad we did not stay in any of the pricier hotels as we would have missed out on so much. We loved the location with its easy walk to almost anything interesting. The atrium provides a wonderfully relaxing patio feel on a cool day, especially with your complementary cup of coca tea, and the breakfast buffet has a good selection of continental and peruvian foods. These aspects make the Novotel a nice choice but what truly sets the hotel apart is the service.

We had spent 2 nights in Cusco and were to take a train on the 3rd day to Machu Picchu where we were to spend a night in Aguas Calientes and then return to Cusco on the 4th day to recoup our luggage at the hotel and spend one last night at the Novotel. As luck would have it, we received an email from Peru Rail notifying us of a strike that would cancel all trains going to Machu Picchu. There is no other way to get there except by foot! This is where Novotel made all the difference. That evening the gentleman who helps with tours (I wish I could remember his name) told us to try to leave early (4 a.m.) with a driver who could drive to a train station beyond the strike affected area. Apparently, when people strike in that area they put large boulders and whole trees everywhere along the road, and there is only one road to take. We did as he suggested and left early. He was even there at 4 a.m. to see that all went well with our driver. Unfortunately a short time into our road trip we were informed that the roads were already blocked so we returned to the hotel and slept a little before trying to find a solution.

That morning there was our guy, ready to help us find a solution. He immediately jumped into a taxi with us and accompanied us to the train station where, after waiting with tons of stranded, frustrated tourists, he found a solution that even the Peru Rail worker behind the counter had not. That night we asked the hotel staff if it was possible to have a sack breakfast to go as we were leaving before the restaurant opened but instead the chef opened the whole buffet an hour earlier for us and when I told him how much I loved his orange cake and he wrote down the recipe for me!

Throughout our stay the concierges in the atrium were sweet and so friendly that when we returned from our beautiful Machu Picchu adventure we felt like we were home!

One note: we stayed in the spacious colonial rooms; one for my husband and myself and a 4-person one for our children. We had everything we needed including wi-fi in our room. Ask for a password at the front desk and you are set.

Trust me, forgo the fuzzy robes and swanky restaurants of the 5-stars and let the beauty around you be your fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aglaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    563
    152
    39
    12
See reviews for
322
626
87
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I had the pleasure of taking a trip to Peru for the first time at the end of September through early October 2010. I used Rosario Lombardi at LatinAmerica4less to secure my trip. For those who see great deals through LatinAmerica4less, but are weary about booking; the key is to stay on top of your agent. No really... email often and follow-up with telephone calls, especially as your trip date approaches and you are awaiting your travel documents; you will have nothing to be concerned about , if you do the aforementioned.

Grayline Tour company in Cuzco was absolutely awesome.

Hotel Novotel is a hidden gem which sits on a side street.The lobby area is a beautiful outdoor courtyard with plenty of dinning seating and pillow stuffed lounge chairs. Although the courtyard is large, it's very quiet and relaxing. Additionally, the courtyard has free wi-fi and an Apple computer for business use. The hotel has a boutique and restaraunt that plentiful;although, I only had breakfast during my three day stay.

The hotel staff was incredibly helpful and nice; they provided the ultimate Peruvian customer service experience. The hotel room was very modern, clean and sound-proof. I felt completely at ease upon entering the room and was able to sleep comfortably.
.
Hotel Novotel, was a upgrade from the proposed travel package offered by LatinAmerica4less, but it was well worth the money. I would highly recommend Hotel Novotel to anyone traveling to Cuzco as it is central located to lots of eateries, shops, the traffic circle and other historical monuments.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N2mndgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Great hotel - very unassuming from the street but beautiful glass-covered courtyard inside. Free wifi in the lobby, included breakfast buffet, flat screen tv's in the room, awesome rain-head shower, spotlessly clean. Rooms were a bit small but well laid out. Overall would highly recommend!

Note: Cusco is a high city, around 3,300 m (10,800 ft) altitude so it is noticeable when moving around and sleeping if you're not accustomed to it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

An easy ten minute walk from the main Plaza this hotel is set in a peaceful location away from what is a busy town centre.

From the outside the hotel does not appear very special but step inside and any rservations the traveller may have will be quickly transformed. The entrance leads onto a lovely covered courtyard complete with fountain which is very elegant and the whole courtyard is a pleasure to sit and relax in. Light entertainment in the form of a duo quietly playing background music was provided in the evening which added to the whole atmosphere of the place.

Rooms were spacious and immaculate, the staff were attentive and helpful and meals were more than adequate.

Free internet access is provided in the courtyard, although there can be a wait at certain times to use the only computer available.

It would be hard to find any fault with this hotel and we enjoyed our stay immensely and were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingonish, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel has everything you could want - first class service and a great location, beautiful and comfortable lobby but it sure could use some better beds and pillows.

You walk into a wonderful colonial era courtyard with comfortable seating and the usual endless cocoa mate. The staff is as helpful and professional as you could wish. The hotel has a contemporary addition and those bedrooms are the antithesis of the courtyard. I understand the colonial era rooms are lovely. (Perhaps they also have comfortable beds.) The clean spareness of the rooms is OK , but a little cold. we wished for one painting on the wall. You can easily escape to the lobby and the staff did find us other pillows. we would still stay there again but we might request a pillow top for the bed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotariantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This is a superb hotel in a great location, just a few minutes away from the central Plaza de Armas in cusco. The hotel itself is built from an old peublo style building with a central countryard, but the rooms are brand new and very well appointed (LCD TV etc). The breakfast was included in our room rate and the selecton of breads, fruits, juices etc was excellent. Another attraction is the free internet (only in the courtyard though !)

there is a cheap laundry service just across the street (about 7 soles per KG) offered by a very sweet lady called Raimunda [the store is actually a souvenier store but has a sign outside about the laundry]. We had just returned from the amazon and were glad to have the laundry option.

there are also a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We went to an italian brick-oven place on the same street which was excellent.

all in all, i highly recommend this place. We also stayed at the Terra Andina Cusco for 1 night, which was not as upscale as the Novotel but cost the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stylebhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Really enjoyed staying here. The hotel was built upon an old building so has lots of history and feel. It has a wonderful courtyard for breakfast basking and the staff where very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onefootforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 169 in Cusco
3,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 169 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing