We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location cannot be beat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location cannot be beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here with a tour group in July, 2014.

Fantastic location in the heart of old Cusco, just two blocks from the Plaza de las Armas.

Rooms are a bit modest for an upscale chain, but service is excellent.

A large breakfast buffet was included with the room.

We stayed in a couple of different rooms, and had no issues with noise.

Only weaknesses were that the dining options were limited (but many great nearby restaurants), and WiFi needed to be reauthorized about every 30 minutes.

Would not hesitate to return if pass through Cusco again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    521
    144
    32
    10
See reviews for
285
579
78
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lovely hotel with friendly employees who make you feel very very welcome. We stayed here for 2 nights initially & then a further night upon our return from Machu Picchu - on our return arrival they said "welcome home" and gave us an upgrade to a Colonial suite. Breakfast buffet has a substantial selection. Hotel is very short walking distance to main square. Complimentary cocoa tea is available all day in the bar (wards off altitude sickness). Rooms are clean & very contemporary. WiFi internet is also complimentary and works in rooms as well as common areas. Would stay here again if return to Cusco.
Only minor comment is that we left our travel clock behind in our Hotel room & we emailed the Hotel & they advised they had it - but requested CC details from us to post back to our home address - it would have been an added delight if they had offered to post it back to us without any charge. The cost to post exceeded the cost of the clock so we declined the offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel twice in early June 2014; for two nights on our way to Machu Picchu, the other for a single night on our return from MP and way to way the Amazon Rainforest. We loved the location which is easy walking distance to the Main Plaza and around the historic district. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable - we stayed in the new wing. Upon arrival we were offered (free) coca tea which we found to be quite tasty. Its available, free of charge, all day long in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent with meats, fruits and scrambled eggs plus plenty of coffee and juices. The hotel lobby atrium is a very nice gathering space and also used during breakfast and other meals. The staff was very helpful in offering directions and guidance on good restaurants. Only issue would be if you encounter a large tour group the lobby get a bit congested but really not that big an issue if one at all. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room on the lobby level off the alley - no view and can be little noisy. Upper leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelshark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location for walking to the museums, restaurants and town centre. The ambiance of the courtyard is just stunning. The rooms are well designed even with a pull out table and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and made even more enjoyable by the environment in the courtyard. The staff were friendly and helpful.....we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We received a very warm welcome at the Novotel Cusco and were allocated a beautiful Colonial room with our Accor Platinum membership. This proved a valuable refuge from the many tour groups who were staying in the hotel and was extremely comfortable although tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have added to our enjoyment.

The Novotel has a great location in the centre of Cusco and within walking distance of all the places we wanted to be. Wi-Fi was slow at times and required numerous re-logins.

Food choices at breakfast were good and the courtyard setting is attractive but more staff seemed to be needed. Owing to tour groups arriving service became very strained shortly after we took our seats and then there were no cups available for coffee, no one to take omelette orders etc as staff struggled and failed to keep up with demand.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here - the Novotel offers a great location and kind and welcoming staff. Our only hesitation in recommending it wholeheartedly is that if you hit a tour group peak in the Hotel's dining or other facilities then service and the guest experience can deteriorate significantly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The lobby was impressive, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was quite good. When it appeared obvious to a waiter that I didn't like scrambled eggs, he told me in Spanglish that he could get me hard-boiled. When I said "fine", he asked me if I wanted a 10 or an 11 minute egg. That small gesture and attention to detail was appreciated. My whole stay was great - and the hotel is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARPAT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

You can walk to most of the key sites in Cusco from here so it makes a great base of operations. For those things farther afield, cabs are reasonable and there are always tours that can be arranged with the concierge. Breakfast was included and was a pretty good buffet. The main restaurant has tables in the courtyard which gives the illusion of being outdoors, but actually has a clear ceiling/roof. It was quite attractive. Rooms are pretty basic. We had a room on the alley and there was quite a bit of noise starting quite early, but other than that, it was a great place to stay. the location is what makes it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andean Wings Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing