We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK, but some improvements needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #31 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK, but some improvements needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights in the Novotel in Cusco; ideally located, close to the "Plaza de Armas", the hotel is at first sight quite breathtaking; in a historic building, with a beautiful and typical inside patio, you expect to be in one of the rooms that have a direct view and access to the patio; wrong ! Most of the rooms are located in the rear and are much more standard than what you could expect from a very historical city and from the hotel entrance. Rooms are OK though not luxurious and quite small especially if you come with a family and use the sofa bed: in that case, you will not have much space left to move around. Then comes the internet connection: I know that most people staying in that hotel are there for vacation to discover one of the wonders of the world: Macchu Pichu, but still you could have the need or desire to stay connected to the world: then be prepared to face one of the slowest internet connection of most Novotels in the world. Otherwise, Service is OK though a little bit slow but staff is nice and the beauty and touristic places of the area make you forget about the little disadvantages of this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JV636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    443
    124
    31
    9
See reviews for
240
484
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The public areas are bright and welcoming, particularly the central courtyard, which has been roofed over in glass (sometimes, breakfast is served in the courtyard: if this happens to you, make sure you sit in the shade).

Staff are generally friendly and helpful, although we found one lady on reception to be less than helpful when we wanted a large note changed; once she had gone, her colleague helped us out.

The choices included in the buffet breakfast are extensive and the food is nicely presented.

The hotel is quite central, being only a few minutes from the central square, so there are many restaurants withing easy walking distance, as well as shops, museums, and galleries.

Rooms to the rear on the upper floors are very quiet and have good views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is situated a block away from the main plaza (square) and close to lots of the restaurants you want to visit (as we discovered).

The public area is a mix of stone and glass to make for a light and airy feel. I believe it was part of an old nunnery.

The rooms itself were new, clean and had a nice outlook over Cusco from both sides (we stayed on two occasions).

The bathroom is great with nice, powerful showers.

Breakfast is quite good, serving a mixture of hot and cold foods and pastries.

The service was friendly and everyone spoke English.

I can't talk about price fairly because we managed to score a special when Accor ran one of its promotions.

I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SachE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is not bad, service is OK, food is good, but their wi-fi network is horrendous. The clerk will give you 10 different access numbers before you find one that actually works. After a couple minutes, you have to go through the whole process again! If you need to be plugged in at all times, as in my case for business reasons, do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricioferroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights in late November. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The rooms were very nice, and the breakfast offered a good selection. The location is ideal, since there is plenty to do within walking distance. My room faced a walkway/alley, and I heard conversations of people walking past late into the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is excellently placed for the historic centre of Cusco, most of which is within easy walking distance. Good rooms, pleasant ambience and friendly staff. Unfortunately vehicles stopping outside the hotel do so in the narrow and busy street outside the entrance so its either a quick jump on/off, or walk a short distance to a wider street.

Room Tip: For a peaceful night, don't have a room above the front over the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to doing the Inca Trail and a final night before flying back home. The Novatel is centrally located and is an ideal base. The staff are very friendly and helpful - apart from a couple of front office supervisors. The hotel has a nice ambience and the modern rooms are well furnished. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa del Sol Ramada Cusco
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Cusco
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
#17 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing