We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern hotel in a central location”
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The public areas are bright and welcoming, particularly the central courtyard, which has been roofed over in glass (sometimes, breakfast is served in the courtyard: if this happens to you, make sure you sit in the shade).

Staff are generally friendly and helpful, although we found one lady on reception to be less than helpful when we wanted a large note changed; once she had gone, her colleague helped us out.

The choices included in the buffet breakfast are extensive and the food is nicely presented.

The hotel is quite central, being only a few minutes from the central square, so there are many restaurants withing easy walking distance, as well as shops, museums, and galleries.

Rooms to the rear on the upper floors are very quiet and have good views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is situated a block away from the main plaza (square) and close to lots of the restaurants you want to visit (as we discovered).

The public area is a mix of stone and glass to make for a light and airy feel. I believe it was part of an old nunnery.

The rooms itself were new, clean and had a nice outlook over Cusco from both sides (we stayed on two occasions).

The bathroom is great with nice, powerful showers.

Breakfast is quite good, serving a mixture of hot and cold foods and pastries.

The service was friendly and everyone spoke English.

I can't talk about price fairly because we managed to score a special when Accor ran one of its promotions.

I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SachE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is not bad, service is OK, food is good, but their wi-fi network is horrendous. The clerk will give you 10 different access numbers before you find one that actually works. After a couple minutes, you have to go through the whole process again! If you need to be plugged in at all times, as in my case for business reasons, do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricioferroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights in late November. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The rooms were very nice, and the breakfast offered a good selection. The location is ideal, since there is plenty to do within walking distance. My room faced a walkway/alley, and I heard conversations of people walking past late into the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is excellently placed for the historic centre of Cusco, most of which is within easy walking distance. Good rooms, pleasant ambience and friendly staff. Unfortunately vehicles stopping outside the hotel do so in the narrow and busy street outside the entrance so its either a quick jump on/off, or walk a short distance to a wider street.

Room Tip: For a peaceful night, don't have a room above the front over the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gratco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to doing the Inca Trail and a final night before flying back home. The Novatel is centrally located and is an ideal base. The staff are very friendly and helpful - apart from a couple of front office supervisors. The hotel has a nice ambience and the modern rooms are well furnished. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Cusco and this hotel is an oasis, the people are nice, the rooms very clean and comfortable.
They understand good service and it was appreciated.

The breakfasts were good, nice food and coffee to die for.

We struggled for some time with the altitude, which was crippling,

Good choice, central to everything..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiftZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $101 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing