We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Cusco and this hotel is an oasis, the people are nice, the rooms very clean and comfortable.
They understand good service and it was appreciated.

The breakfasts were good, nice food and coffee to die for.

We struggled for some time with the altitude, which was crippling,

Good choice, central to everything..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiftZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    547
    151
    36
    11
See reviews for
301
607
85
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Novotel in Cusco has a great location very close to the main Plaza; the service was excellent and the food was very good. The rooms were a good size, very clean and nice. The front desk will bring you oxygen if you need it. They begin serving breakfast at 4:30am for all those heading out on the Machu Picchu train at the crack of dawn. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone going to Cusco

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Novotel Cusco hotel was our home for three days during our visit to Cusco. We came to this hotel, because our tour company (smartours) selected it for us. Because, smartours was in charge of the reservation process I can’t make any comments in that area.When we arrived late night at the hotel, they were ready for us, the checking process was superfast. The people at the front desk and at the concierge desk were very friendly and professional.

Our room was a nice big room located on the fifth floor. Even though the hotel has some character, the room did not. It was a regular modern, clean cut business like type of room. I was expecting something with more charm. The room had a nice and comfortable bed with a heavy comforter; it had also a desk, sofa, an LCD TV and a nice closet. There was a mini refrigerator in the closet and of course an electronic safety box.

The bathroom was small; there was a phone and a hairdryer in there. The shower head was a rain forest type with a good water pressure. One thing that I want to mention is that the hotel doesn’t have converters and there is only one 110V outlet in the bathroom, all the other electric outlets in the room are 220V therefore we had to have all our electronics in the bathroom in order to charge them. It was a pity that the sink was a little bit small. Luckily my Significant other brought an extension cord with him and we were able to charge three devices at the same time. So keep in mind that when you are packing (Bring an extension cord).

The service at the restaurant was very good, the food was excellent. We had dinner at their restaurant on our first night and the flavor and presentation of or our dishes were pretty good. The prices were very reasonable. The food at the breakfast buffet was good; there was a variety of items at the buffet. They had cereals, eggs, breads and a lot of Peruvian items. The coffee was quite strong but that is the norm in Peru. They had a cactus juice that if you drink it alone, it doesn’t have any flavor but if you mix it with orange juice the result is great. I really liked that juice combination.

The only complain that I have regarding the kitchen staff, is that they are a little bit slow. On our last day we ordered some lunch boxes and even though we told them the night before that we need the boxes to be ready by 7:30 AM, still the lunch boxes were not ready when we went to pick them up. Sadly we had to hold up our group a little bit, even our Tour Director had to go and talk to somebody in the kitchen in order for us to get our lunch boxes.

For those who suffer altitude sickness, the hotel provides oxygen and also free coca tea. The hotel is located a few blocks from Plaza de Armas and is close to a pharmacy, nice restaurants and a small supermarket.

The Wi-Fi connection was very weak in the room but a little bit faster in the lobby. There were also two Apple computers in the lobby with very dirty keyboards. The keyboards were gross. Keeping in consideration that so many people use those computers, the hotel staff should try to clean and disinfect more often the keyboards. That is how you transmit bad bacteria to other people.

In general the hotel was good and if I go back to Cusco, I definitively will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

when you arrive at the hotel after gasping for fresh air in the narrow busy street in front, it is a nice surprice you enter a lovely covered piazza. The room in the modern part of the hotel is decent, but blant and anonymous.The beds very hard, the batroom good but nothing special. Breakfast buffet great with plenty of options if not crowded otherwise no refill. The bell men were professional, friendly and efficient especially Cesar was top !
The location of the hotel near the center was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokeAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Manager at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Client,

We appreciate your comments related to your experience as a guest at Novotel Cusco.
Your feedback will help us to keep improving the quality of our services.

Sincerely,

Susan Lara
Sub Gerente
Novotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

An insignificant front door on a busy, one way narrow street. Opens on to a lovely covered piazza. Very central so noisy if your room is at the front. Room well equipped with washing line, iron, ironing board. Sink had no plug. Breakfast good and can be taken in Piazza but this can get very hot when sun shining.
9.00 am checkout.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Sub Gerente at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking your time and let us know about your experience at Novotel Cusco.

Sincerely,

Susan Lara
Sub Gerente
Novotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Arrived for three night stay to find that the room we had been allocated had very little storage space in the way of drawer or shelving space. OK if you're staying for one night when you don't want to unpack your suitcase but if you're staying three nights you need to space to unpack. Once I had complained, the staff quickly found an chest of drawers and removed one of the large chairs and hey presto, problem solved. Just a bit of forethought needed.
Hotel was very good although the room was a little small compared with other hotels that we had stayed in and we liked the central courtyard especially as a place to take a relaxed evening meal. Good location to walk around Cusco as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Manager at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for took your time amd let us know about your experience at Novotel Cusco.

Cordially,

Susan Lara
Sub Gerente
Novotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms were very clean and a decent size with a moderately updated bathroom. The breakfast was mediocre especially as compared with the other hotel in which I stayed (Casa Andina Plazoleta de Limacpampa). The room was warm and didn't appear to have any airconditioning. Our room had an "interior view" which is to say it looked out onto the lobby so it was very noisy. We were booked here through our travel agent who said it was a four star but it paled in comparison to the Casa Andina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Sub Gerente at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Novotel Cusco.
We are sorry for not having met your expectations.

At Novotel, we aim at providing high-level service to each of our clients, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Once again, thank you for letting us know about your experience.

Sincerely,

Susan Lara
Sub Gerente
Novotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#15 of 165 in Cusco
2,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 165 in Cusco
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing