We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to Main Square”
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location close to Main Square”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Novotel for 3 nights as part of a trip to the Sacred Valley. The hotel building is nicely restored, with inca walls and beautiful courtyard atrium. We stayed in a Contemporary room - clean, beds are comfortable, but nothing special.

Our first night we stayed in room 304(?) - above a side street with an outside window. At night, it was very noisy - almost as if we had the window open. I mentioned it to the staff, and when we returned 3 nights later from the Sacred Valley they'd given us an inner courtyard room. I highly recommend these, even the 1st floor (basement) level, as they are very quiet, and still get windows with lots of light.

Breakfast buffet had plenty of options, with breads, cereals, meat, cheese and various hot options,as well as tea, coffee and fresh squeezed juices. Breakfast opened early enough (4:30am?) so you could fill up before an early tour start or before heading to the airport.

I would definitely recommend staying here, but get an inside room.

Room Tip: Get an inner courtyard room - its quieter (308 - 320, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, General Manager at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

we very much appreciate you taking your time to let us know about your experience in Novotel Cusco.


Regards from Novotel Cusco,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    536
    147
    34
    11
See reviews for
296
593
82
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Sept 14 – 15 & 19

Nothing special. Typical chain type hotel. Clean and friendly service. 220 v outlets in the room but 110 v in the bathroom. Electrical adapters were not required. Restaurant opens at 4:30 am to facilitate early morning departures. Located within a short walk from the city center. Lots of street vendors. They seem to be very particular about taking US one dollar bills. They want only new money. Counterfeit issues maybe. Our room was located on a side alley that was very noisy. Choose a room in the back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, General Manager at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your sharing your comments. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.


Regards from Peru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My favorite property and city during our Peru tour. Beautiful restored property with a bright and warm courtyard. Excellent staff - the bell men especially are professional, friendly and helpful.
One of the concierge staff was not so friendly and didn't really know what he was doing. I asked him about making a dinner reservation at popular restaurant and he said they were only open for lunch - I knew this was not the case. We finally made a reservation but it took him 2 phone calls and he just didn't seem like he wanted to do his job.
We stayed for 2 separate nights - the first night we were upgraded to a Superior room within the old house, facing the courtyard. The room 332 was beautiful with high ceilings, a small balcony overlooking the front street (noisy during the day but the doors insulate quite well), spacious bathroom and nice amenities (toilettries, face cloths, slippers). The 2nd night however we were downgraded to a standard room in another wing - this room 509 was nowhere as quaint and beautiful. It did however have a view of the city which was nice to see in the morning.
Weak wifi throughout the hotel and you have to keep logging in.
We had dinner at Deva and Cicciolina - both great options!
Overall a great property if your room is in the old section. Good location in Cusco, minutes walk to great restaurants, shops, and other nice hotels.

Room Tip: Get a Superior room within the old building - Room 331 and 332 are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
326 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just off the busy main square, but insulated from much of the tourist chaos. Great open courtyard with nice lounging area. The hotel has two sections, a newer, taller portion, which is more modern, and the original area surrounding the courtyard. Breakfast was included in the rate and was a nice variety. Lots of shops/boutiques close by.

Room Tip: Quainter rooms are located in the older portion of the hotel, but quieter rooms are located in the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel I was in quite bad shape due to salmonella poisoning so my partner checked us in and I just went to bed. The next day I wasn't any better so my partner spoke to reception who organized a doctor to come to the hotel. He took me to the medical clinic near by and I got treated. Luckily I was able to recover quickly and enjoy the rest of our stay on Cusco.


The hotel was very well done, our room a little small but still good. Would return to Novotel in Cusco!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosquilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very tasteful public space and old charming building with a colonial feeling. Upon arrival, Daniel? if I remember his name right who is a bellman/concierge welcomed us and did all the registration process, serving Coca Tea explaining what this means and luggage handling. Also throughout our stay, he was the main person who helped our stay most enjoyable. Very courteous, friendly and professional. He made our stay wonderful at this hotel. He is the asset at this hotel. You do not go to front desk as it is in a separate room and not much necessity only at check out time as this bellman/concierge staff did most what we expect. Give 10 stars to him.
On the other hand, we paid extra $$ to get colonial room which is in the main historic building. I ws expecting the same feeling as lobby, but it was not much impressive for decor and amenities. I would have stayed regular room with much less room charge.
Loved this hotel overall, but room and price can't justify me putting 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

So 1st ill go by saying we stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago and it was amazing, the service was great, the room was beautiful and we really enjoyed it that when we decided to come back to Peru we booked it again. BUT this time was not nearly as good... On our 1st visit some on the employes found out we did charity work and we received emails from the employees asking for money. And when we never responded finding it inappropriate when we returned they employe was working at reception and treated us terribly. When we checked in he made us wait in the bar and had someone else bring paper work back and forth because he didn't want to talk to us... We felt really uncomfortable but thought maybe it was just him and we went about our stay.... Well throughout the stay we felt ignored by employees and like a burden to the hotel. Towards the end we had had enough and went and talked to the manager and that was on our final night... We felt we had to say something, when you pay for good service you expect to be treated well, and for our final night things were better but it was too bad that this happened. My family travels to Peru a lot to work and we go to Cusco to rest and I don't think we will book the Novotel on our next visit. We were good clients who stayed repeatedly for long visits and were treated bad no fault of our own... Because we didn't "sponsor and employee" who wanted to come to Canada and one who wanted money... It was extremely uncomfortable.
****also the beds are extremely hard!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank keelytate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing