We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel”
Review of Novotel Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Cusco
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Novotel Cusco is located on a small street near the main plaza. The hotel had a charming lobby/courtyard area and the rooms had a modern, simplistic decor. We were greeted with coca tea during our check in, which helped a little with the altitude sickness. Our room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was well maintained and stocked with the standard bathroom amenities. The hotel provided an early breakfast for those leaving for Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu in the morning and were willing to hold your luggage if you planed to stay overnight in Aguas Calientes. The location was great and nearby many restaurants. All major sights are within walking distance from the hotel and there's a convenience store at the end of the block that sold all the basic necessities. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaseMe516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    547
    151
    36
    11
See reviews for
301
607
85
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in the inner court yard rooms which were wonderful. The staff was very thoughtful to all our needs. The locations was perfect, very close to the Plaza and just for enough to walk off some of the excellent dinners we had. The whole stay was great before heading to Machu Picchu and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

THE BAD: Rooms 201 to 206 are ground floor, with high windows looking out to a narrow alley. You open the curtains, and you are face to face with strangers !. We had 4 days with our curtains closed. Simply not nice. The carpet leading to these rooms was also badly worn and stained. Compared to the rest of the hotel, you feel as if you had paid half price... which we hadn't. We had actually booked in February and paid in March. The hotel was full, so moving us (allegedly )was not an option.
The airconditioning system (we were told) heats only, despite having a "cool" button. Our room in mid winter was always hot, so all we could do was open a window to the dingy alleyway. This let in all the noise from the alley. Again, not nice.
These rooms should be sold at a reduced rate, with honest advice given to people booking them
.
THE GOOD: The position is really great. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, recently renovated, and beautifully presented each day. The restaurant had a wonderful courtyard setting, and served reasonable, but relatively simple meals. Breakfasts were fine. The staff too were generally good.

In summary, we really enjoyed Cusco, and we enjoyed most of the Novotel....expect for what we mentioned above

Room Tip: MAKE SURE YOU ARE NOT IN ROOMS 201 to 206 , and you'll probably really like this place !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was hesistant about the choice of this hotel. I had read mixed reviews so I checked the room out before letting our guide leave us there! The room was part of the old building and it was big! There was a king size bed on the lower level and 2 singles on the upper loft. It was very comfortable and quiet inspite of being so closed to everything. Great courtyard to chill out, run of mill tourist type breakfast, but note- the service was really good. The staff at the concierge made multiple phone calls for us when my daughter left our camera- of course with all our MP photos in the back of the travel agency's van. They were so eager to help!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brassac, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there two nights. First one was beatifull above the lobby and the old building. Roome was excellent in any ways, breakfast good. Almost perfect! what a disappointment the second night. the room was in the new building and was a 2 star hotel room! clean certainly but very cold atmosphere with furniture in plastic ... we were told later that this are the standard room in the hotel and we were upgraded the night before in superior room
so I recommend this hotel for superior rooms, otherwise for sure avoid it !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleue-marine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a great hotel with good location, colonial courtyard, helpful staff and tasty breakfast. But telephone rates are over-expensive. We had to make local calls. We paid 35 USD for total call of 10-15 minutes. Roaming would be less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElifSonmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a by far the best hotel you could get in cusco They will serve you Mate de Coca to help you adjust with the altitude ( 3400 Mts ) , Its just 2 min walk from the Plaza de Armas , and all the museums , You can actually hike to some archeological sites if you are adventurous and in good shape . Great shopping areas and the night life is also around the corner ..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aashieshpounj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, General Manager at Novotel Cusco, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience in Novotel Cusco.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Kind Regards,


Daniela Longo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#15 of 165 in Cusco
2,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 165 in Cusco
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cusco

Property: Novotel Cusco
Address: San Augustin 239 | Esquina Pasaje Santa Monica, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cusco
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cusco
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cusco 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cusco hotel is the perfect place to spend a few days or vacation as it is located in the historic center, close to the Plaza de Armas and cathedral, and 10 minutes from the airport. The Novotel Cusco is an historic base for discovering the Inca civilization. This 4-star hotel has 99 rooms including 16 Superior Rooms, all inside a 16th century building. We have a restaurant, café and bar. Ideal for family trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cusco Hotel Cusco
Cusco Novotel
Accor Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing