We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hearty stews, Peruvian with Caribbean influence, one of the best restaurants in Cusco do try it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Inkazuela

Restaurant Inkazuela
Ranked #14 of 601 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Soups, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy restaurant managed personally by it's owners in the front and the back of the house, located in a colonial home with amazing views of monuments, churches and the Cristo Blanco. It's ideal for romantic ocasions by the wood burning fireplace. It's counts with two ambiences decorated in a rustic colorful style. It's menu is a combination of dishes from the Caribbean, Mexico, Spain and Central and South America. Restaurant is closed on Sundays and mondays closed for lunch. Only Visa credit card is accepted. Inkazuela will be closed for vacations from the 21st of January til the 1st of March. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Hearty stews, Peruvian with Caribbean influence, one of the best restaurants in Cusco do try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A real find and worthy of their trip advisor ranking. Inkazuela is a small place, warmly decorated on the square at the end of Palacio, you need to go into a small courtyard and upstairs.

Francisco who served us each time was really lovely and after our final meal we chatted to the chef and lady owner? and loved their passion for the restaurant and great food.

Andean melted cheese and spinach starter was superb and came with lovely fresh bread. The chicken and quinoa soup was amazing. These stood out but the other dishes were good as well.

Stews may not be 'fine dining' but when you want to finish your meal with a warm, well fed glow that comes from great, hearty food and a convivial atmosphere you can't beat Inkazuela. Prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    164
    29
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“5 stars for everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Service, atmosphere, food, price you name it. The inside of the place is very neat - dark, wood floors, nice decorations, and a fire going to set the mood. Our waiter Francisco was awesome. Very helpful in choosing what to eat, conversational and really added to the experience. The Andean cheese and spinach dip might have been the best thing I ate in Peru. It was baked just enough that the cheeses were somewhat melted, but you could still taste each individual one. The quinoa soup had excellent flavor, as did the stew with lamb and other meats. Even the bread we used to soak up everything was great. Very, very reasonable prices too - even with drinks and tip our meal was less than $40 USD. The only disappointments are that we could only eat here once, and that we didn't have room for more food. One of those meals I'll want to re-live over and over again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank live1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom p, Owner at Restaurant Inkazuela, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No. 1 place to eat in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Firstly order the Andean Cheese and Spinach for starters then the Caribbean Coconut Chicken for your main. You will not be disappointed.

This is not only the best place to eat in Cusco but the best restaurant we ate in Peru. It is exceptional value, hearty helpings and very tasty. The service is second to none and the setting is very relaxing and unpretentious and we went back 2 nights in a row.

See our photo for the menu when we visited along showing the very reasonable prices in sols.

We wish the owners all the best for the future ( as they so kindly did to us for our travels) and hope that people read this review and enjoy the restaurant as much as we did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
211 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great flavours and a range of choices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The menu is in Spanish and English. There are a range of flavoursome starters and main courses. We ordered a starter each and main meal and were stuffed. It a difficult choice to make but we were pleased with all of our choices. The fruit juices are good value too.

The service was friendly and attentive. The restaurant is colourful and clean.

For a budget traveller it is a little more pricey but by far the best value meal we had in Peru.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
574 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

OMG, this food was the best food I've ever had. Anywhere. We had the BBQ Ribs, a soup, and the spinach dip. Everything was amazing. The wife was our waitress and she was super friendly. This is THE place to eat in Cuzco. Its just behind the square, easy to find. I left disappointed, not by the food or the service, but knowing that I would never be back.

AMAZING PLACE!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Inkazuela also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Restaurant Inkazuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing