We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and warm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PeruRail - Expedition

PeruRail - Expedition
Ranked #28 of 773 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the adventure traveller who enjoys discovering every destiny at his own pace, the Expedition is the best option to Machu Picchu, in which the trip transforms into a journey that begins even before reaching its destiny with the best quality and comfort at the best price.
reseda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“comfortable and warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

comfortable and warm train, was the only place I was while in Cusco that had heat.... im typing more because trip advisor wont let me post with out 50 characters

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ohsooocute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. ohsoooocute,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them with our community. We are glad you had a comfortable and warm journey aboard the Expedition train.​ We are always working to offer our passengers a comfortable and pleasant journey so they can have a memorable adventure with us. We hope we can have you back again soon and with all that Peru has to offer.

Sincerely,

The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    336
    130
    49
    49
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What did I pay for?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is very disappointing that I spent $150 round trip per person on this train. The only thing included is transportation, nothing more. The seats are acceptable, the views are spectacular but that’s no thanks to Perurail. The windows are scratched and dirty so you can forget trying to take pictures. The bathrooms are nasty, dirty, stink, and very small. The stops in between are not long enough to use the restrooms or buy food. The food they served on the train was terrible. The sad part: unless you’re going to take the bus you don’t have any other option.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“slow trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

train was clean, comfortable seats, offer complimentary snacks. you can purchase merchandise but there is no pressure to buy. train component of trip to Machu Picchu is very slow but scenery is beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. D700,

We are glad to know that you had the chance to admire the amazing scenery and that you enjoyed the journey aboard the Expedition train. We would like to thank you for your comments and recommendations, and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in your visit to Cusco. Your opinion helps future passengers to decide the most convenient way to travel to Machu Picchu and to take the best advice for their journeys. We hope to see you soon aboard our trains for another great adventure with us.

Best regards,

The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take the Vistadome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We took the Vistadome to AC and took the Expedition back, as it fit better into our schedule. If it fits well into your schedule, I suggest paying the extra money for the VistaDome- although the views are exactly the same, the upgraded train car and service are worth the extra. I think there was a difference of only $12 when I used the service at the end of April.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NBLAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Courtney E,

We appreciate your comments and recommendations for future passengers so they can take advantage of them in their visit to Cusco. We offer different types of services and schedules, all with the same excellent service, to offer our passengers a memorable experience. Our goal is always to fulfill all our passengers’ needs and expectations with the journey. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity and we hope we can have you back again soon.

Best regards,

The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
233 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“fun, but short train ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I got a chance to ride the Expedition from Ollantaytanbo to Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu station).
The train big windows filled the cart with lots of light and the opportunity to enjoy the scenic route.
The train goes at a leisurely pace where one can enjoy traveling along the valley.
The best side is on the left heading up. At first great views on both side, then the right side is just rock while the left side offers a great river view.
The staff on the train are polite and service good.
A small snack and drink is offered. They also offer books and music CD's.
The only fault is due to train track condition if you are staying in Cusco you can't catch the train from there. Peru rail will bus you to the Pachar station. This results in 1.5 hours of your train ride on a bus instead of the train.
I rode the Vistadome on the return trip and to me there was really no difference on the ride, food or service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank airlink9972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Expedition, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr. airlink9972,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you had a great time aboard the Expedition train and that you enjoyed our service. We are continuously working to provide our passengers with the best possible service, especially nowadays that we are suffering with the serious weather conditions that force us to use the bus service and not our regular train service. Once again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back again soon for another great adventure with us.

Best regards,

The Expedition Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Expedition also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail - Expedition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing