We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice trip”

PeruRail - Vistadome
Book In Advance
More Info
$346.99*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Ranked #19 of 888 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vistadome connects you with the beautiful andean landscape through a totally panoramic view on the route to Machu Picchu. It highlights the andean culture in diverse forms such as music, gastronomy, folk dancing, history and even scents.
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Very nice trip”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very comfortable and pretty trip. We had a great view of the raging river. We had to sit with strangers who did not speak English or Spanish, so ad bit odd, but we ignored them. Decent onboard service, nothing overly special, but meets needs. I would have rather have taken the Hiram Bingham tran round tirp. I took the Vistadome to Aguascalientes and the Hiram Bingham back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Happy_on_the_road,
Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option and also for sharing your feedback with our community. We are very happy to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable journey, and we hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,217
    1,488
    417
    126
    124
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We caught the Vistadome from...Olante station to Machu Picchu in Peru ....the train ride was in the first carriage, comfortable seats, staff on board gave us beverages and a lunch bread roll.
Scenery along the way was absolutely beautiful....so a very relaxing train ride.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mrs. Rosemarie G,
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable journey aboard the Vistadome train. We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and for sharing your feedback with our community. We hope to see you soon for a new and exciting adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Rail Journey”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the upmarket train provided by Peru Rail, well worth taking as it's definitely one up on the ordinary Expedition train, you even get entertainment from the staff and a fashion show as well, best thing? seeing the sacred valley again on the way down from Machu Picchu

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. pnash52,
It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and we are very happy to know that you had a fantastic journey aboard the Vistadome train. Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time and we hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains and enjoying a memorable and wonderful adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to get to Machu Picchu”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved the opportunity to ride this train as part of our Machu Picchu adventure. Our group enjoyed the sites along the way. Interesting to pass by farms and homes, etc. to see rural Peruvian life. Very relaxing. Food and beverages were provided as part of the ticket price and were tasty.
Fashion show was OK.-- could have done without it. Resented the "hard sell" of the staff. They had a difficult time taking no for an answer.
Would recommend the Vistadome as a great way to get to Machu Picchu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. Peggy C,
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and also for your preference with PeruRail. We are glad you enjoyed the journey aboard the Vistadome train and that you had a great time. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, ME
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What an Experience!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you have daylight to travel to or from Machu Picchu, spend the extra money (@76.00 PP) to take the Vistadome train. The views are magnificent plus, there's entertainment, elegant table settings, above- average food-truly an experience in itself!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SMRCORNISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. SMRCORNISH,
Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option and also for taking the time to share your travel experience aboard the Vistadome train with our community. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful adventure and that you had the chance to admire the incredible scenery we have along the way. We really hope to see you soon enjoying our services one more time.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Vistadome also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail - Vistadome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing