We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Rail Journey”

PeruRail - Vistadome
Book In Advance
More Info
$346.99*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Ranked #20 of 912 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vistadome connects you with the beautiful andean landscape through a totally panoramic view on the route to Machu Picchu. It highlights the andean culture in diverse forms such as music, gastronomy, folk dancing, history and even scents.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is the upmarket train provided by Peru Rail, well worth taking as it's definitely one up on the ordinary Expedition train, you even get entertainment from the staff and a fashion show as well, best thing? seeing the sacred valley again on the way down from Machu Picchu

Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. pnash52,
It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and we are very happy to know that you had a fantastic journey aboard the Vistadome train. Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time and we hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains and enjoying a memorable and wonderful adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,877 of 5,670 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved the opportunity to ride this train as part of our Machu Picchu adventure. Our group enjoyed the sites along the way. Interesting to pass by farms and homes, etc. to see rural Peruvian life. Very relaxing. Food and beverages were provided as part of the ticket price and were tasty.
Fashion show was OK.-- could have done without it. Resented the "hard sell" of the staff. They had a difficult time taking no for an answer.
Would recommend the Vistadome as a great way to get to Machu Picchu.

Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. Peggy C,
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and also for your preference with PeruRail. We are glad you enjoyed the journey aboard the Vistadome train and that you had a great time. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you have daylight to travel to or from Machu Picchu, spend the extra money (@76.00 PP) to take the Vistadome train. The views are magnificent plus, there's entertainment, elegant table settings, above- average food-truly an experience in itself!

1  Thank SMRCORNISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Mrs. SMRCORNISH,
Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option and also for taking the time to share your travel experience aboard the Vistadome train with our community. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful adventure and that you had the chance to admire the incredible scenery we have along the way. We really hope to see you soon enjoying our services one more time.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

You pay an extra 100 dollars but it is a must. The ride is beautiful, following the very fast moving Urumbaba river.

Thank idus1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Mr. idus1926,
We would like to thank you for traveling aboard the Vistadome train and also for sharing your feedback with our community. We hope to see you soon for another adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

That was a great trip, slowly defending from Cusco to Machu Picchu through some quite poor villages showing normal Peruvian life, and really fantastic vistas across beautifull jagged mountains and fast moving rivers, a great eye opener. We were presented with some small but tasty dishes for the journey and a fashion show, they have learned about service probably from the Americans who travel there.

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Mr. Chris S,
Thank you for your preference with PeruRail and also for taking the time to share your experience aboard the Vistadome train with our community. We are very pleased to know that you had a great journey and we really hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Vistadome also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail - Vistadome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing