We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable train ride”

PeruRail - Vistadome
Book In Advance
More Info
$346.99*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Ranked #19 of 797 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vistadome connects you with the beautiful andean landscape through a totally panoramic view on the route to Machu Picchu. It highlights the andean culture in diverse forms such as music, gastronomy, folk dancing, history and even scents.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable train ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

the train travels to Macchu Picchu, about a 3.5 hour ride from Cusco, along the way it traverses farmland, mountain slopes and runs along a river with rapids. Food service was good with superb views from the large windows on the side and roof of the train. On the return to Cusco the conductors became models and held a fashion show with a court jester type entertaining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JDSOUTHFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. JDSOUTHFLORIDA,
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant journey aboard the Vistadome train and that you had the chance to admire the incredible views we have along the way. We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail on this occasion and for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community and us. We hope we can have you back for another wonderful adventure aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,913
    1,382
    370
    115
    99
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“The Vistadome Vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have traveled to Machu Pichu on both the Vistadome and non Vistadome trains. I preferred the Vistadome train for better views of the mountain peaks, especially if you do not have a window seat. The ceiling windows also make the train car feel more open and certainly brighter. Though the Vista coach ride costs more, as an introduction to the sacred valley and Machu Pichu, it was worth the extra expense.

The food seemed like airline fare to me; nothing memorable. The service was both friendly, efficient and polite.

The native dancer on the return trip was interesting for a while but the same movements and gestures over and over got old fast. The fashion show on the return trip was interesting for the many, varied ways demonstrated to wear the same beautiful garments. All of the items were for sale, of course, to a captured audience on the train. All in all, perhaps a nice diversion during the 90 minute return trip from Machu Pichu back up the sacred valley

Piper

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Peter K,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience aboard the Vistadome train with our community and we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable journey. Thank you for traveling with PeruRail one more time, and we hope to see you back aboard our trains.
Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worst part of our Peru trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

It's beautiful and that's the one star.

Going up, the train was very late. Turned out they had cancelled the Vistadome train without telling anyone, so the VIstadome train was in fact one carriage hitched on the back of another, later train. Together with a number of other anxious tourists we eventually worked this out for ourselves.

Coming back, they rushed through the meal and then embarked on a deafening "fashion show" aka hard sell of clothes modelled by the train crew. Requests to turn the music down were ignored. All they were interested in was making sales.

We were tipped off the train before our destination, which would have been a relief except we were then bussed back to Cuzco, took over 2 hours in the traffic.

You can hike up and avoid the train, but I don't think you are allowed to hike back. So you have to submit to this treatment. It's a shame because almost everywhere else we went in Peru was charming, if not a patch on Ecuador. And Machu Picchu is unmissable. But getting there and back is not fun.

Tip - take earphones and block out the world, except for the views!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Discowilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Discowilly,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community, as they are very important and help us to improve our services. We apologize for all the inconvenience.
Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Few Options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

There are not a lot of options when traveling to Macchu Pichu. I would say just about any of the trains would be fine, the vistadome is not necessary. The side windows are really where you will see the scenery. The seating is uncomfortable since you share space with another couple, the 4 of you facing one another at a table. The prices are way too high.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeruvianChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mrs. PeruvianChica,
We appreciate your preference with PeruRail and your time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. In addition, we would like to thank you for your feedback and also to comment you that the opinion of all our passengers is invaluable to further improvements in our services. We are always at your service.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Overpriced, tacky tourist attractions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The train to Aguas Calientes and back is very pricey, though the service is adequate. Except for the 'folklore' show on board, which is hands-down stupid and as un-Inca as imaginable...

Passengers in wheelchair need to be carried on board and seated in regular seats, which is not exactly easy, but doable. The staff is helpful, assistants are required.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. kratky,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are sorry we did not fulfill your expectations on this occasion.

Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Vistadome also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Vistadome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing