We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without exceptionally helpful Perurail staff I would have missed Machu Picchu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PeruRail - Vistadome

PeruRail - Vistadome
Book In Advance
More Info
$335.99*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Ranked #19 of 771 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vistadome connects you with the beautiful andean landscape through a totally panoramic view on the route to Machu Picchu. It highlights the andean culture in diverse forms such as music, gastronomy, folk dancing, history and even scents.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Without exceptionally helpful Perurail staff I would have missed Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I and my school friend are on 2 week trip visiting Lima, Cusco, Machu Picchu, Foz do iguazu and Rio. We had a very tight schedule and missing any one leg could have unravelled the trip. That is what I feared would happen when we arrived 2 minutes late (scheduled departure of 13:27) at Ollantaytambo station for our Perurail Vistadome train to Machu Picchu on 7th Aug.

However the staff at the Perurail ticket booth contacted the Perurail manager Mr Alfredo who was a star of the day and perhaps of the trip for us. He understood our situation, told us to wait at the waiting room on the platform and that he would check on availability of seats on the 15:30 hrs train; which he promptly did and we were able to reach Agua Calientes and visit Machu Picchu on the 8th Aug as scheduled.

The staff also advised us to leave our heavy bags at the 'Left Baggage' at the station which saved us from lugging it around.

Kudos to Mr Alfredo and his team at Perurail in Ollataytambo- Great job and thanks a lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Sahil K,
It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and you are very kind for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We feel very proud and happy that you had an excellent experience travelling with us and that our staff was very helpful and caring in your special situation. Also, we are glad to hear that, fortunately you did not miss Machu Picchu, and that you enjoyed the experience. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option on this occasion and we hope we can have you back for more exciting and memorable adventures in Cusco.
Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,823
    1,358
    362
    110
    95
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Set of from Cusco at 7am to Macchu Picchu.It was great to see the countryside early in the morning in the mist and frost !
The train and service were excellent.Breakfast was served on the way and consisted of fruit, cake and a choice of drinks.
On the return trip there was a fashion show and music performed by the train stewards which was very entertaining. To experience the magnificent scenery was fantastic. Would recommend this train without hesitation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Nigel G,
We are very happy to know that you had an excellent experience aboard the Vistadome train and that you liked the journey from start to finish. The scenery of the Peruvian Andes is one of the highlights of this adventure and we are glad you enjoyed it to its fullest. We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and also for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took the VistaDome train back from Machu Picchu after doing the IncaTrail. The views were incredible and the service was really top-noch. They even brought around a little fresh-flower centerpiece for the table during the meal.

There was a dance and Alpaca fashion show during the trip from Ollyantambo to Cusco. Given that it was getting late, I think the show was a bit long and the music a bit noisy. It was kind of hard to relax and look out the window with all the jumping around. This is the only reason why I'm giving the train 4 circles instead of 5.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 753Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. 753Traveller,
It is very kind of you to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us, as we are always open to suggestions and comments from our passengers to improve our services. We appreciate it a lot and we are glad to know that overall you had a great experience aboard the Vistadome train admiring the spectacular scenery that we are very lucky to have in Peru. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail in this opportunity and we hope we can have you back visiting Cusco and enjoying another adventure with us.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the extra $50”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This train is an additional $50 from the standard train, which happens to be operated by Peru Rails as well. Included is a little ham and cheese "sandwich" and a cinnamon roll. Both cheap/tasteless so eat before or bring something aboard. Water/soda/coffee included. Beers/alcoholic beverages more money. Really not sure where the extra $50 goes.... Definitely not to the 10 minutes of horrific dancing. Also not to the "fashion show" of overpriced alpaca put on by the attendants. Really just felt like a scam. All trains have good windows for scenery. Also, there was no air conditioning or circulation and everyone was complaining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Jerry G,
We appreciate for taking the time to share your travel experience aboard the Vistadome train with the Trip Advisor community and us. We are sorry that we have not exceeded your travel needs and expectations in this. We try to provide the best possible service and make this experience unique and memorable for all our passengers. We hope we can serve you better next time and we are always at your service.
Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good train to visit Machu Picchu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Not the greatest, but the staff is very friendly. There is a small breakfast in the trip getting there and a snack on the return, with an option to buy drinks if you want.
The train is well kept and clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VCMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Vistadome, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. VCMoreira,
Thank you for your comments and also for your time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a good experience travelling in the Vistadome train and that you enjoyed our services. Once again, we would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back.
Sincerely,
The Vistadome Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Vistadome also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Vistadome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing