We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train travel with a flair”
Review of PeruRail

PeruRail
Ranked #142 of 1,172 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Vistadome connects you with the beautiful andean landscape through a totally panoramic view on the route to Machu Picchu. It highlights the andean culture in diverse forms such as music, gastronomy, folk dancing, history and even scents.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although the windows on the top of the train are what gives it the name of Visatadome, they did not add to the view as you really can't see much by looking up. But on the way back from Macchu Picchu, we had the pleasure of a fashion show and some local costumes which made the trip pass quickly.

Thank efabrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. efabrika,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and also for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you enjoyed the journey aboard the Vistadome train and that you liked our fashion show. Once again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope this will not be the last time visiting Cusco and travelling aboard our trains.

Sincerely,

The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fashion show"
in 962 reviews
"hiram bingham"
in 387 reviews
"train ride"
in 602 reviews
"observation car"
in 261 reviews
"peru rail"
in 415 reviews
"bar car"
in 204 reviews
"andean explorer"
in 204 reviews
"aguas calientes"
in 644 reviews
"orient express"
in 162 reviews
"large windows"
in 95 reviews
"machu picchu"
in 1,758 reviews
"dining car"
in 70 reviews
"luxury train"
in 98 reviews
"vista dome"
in 158 reviews
"hour journey"
in 90 reviews
"poroy station"
in 104 reviews
"return journey"
in 107 reviews
Filter

3,378 - 3,382 of 9,317 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I flew into Cusco from Lima. We arrived to the Peru Rail depot in Cusco by taxi ride. Apparently, we looked like confused tourists because we were greeted by Alfredo at the station. He was most helpful and took our bags and walked us through the process of getting our train tickets. Upon check-in, he noticed that we were given backward-facing seats on the train. He rode with our group to the Pachar station. He was quick to answer any questions that the passengers had, and also was bilingual. The whole process was very easy because of his assistance. We are not fluent in Spanish and it could have been quite cumbersome. Alfredo is a wonderful, professional station manager. We enjoyed the train ride because our seats were upgraded and the scenery was breath-taking. The trains were riding pretty much according to schedule, but we were on vacation so there really wasn't any issue if it had not been. I enjoyed the air conditioned cars and the ride was very accommodating.

Thank Batnmyeyez42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Batnmyeyez42,
It is a pleasure for us to receive your feedback and we are very happy to know that you had a pleasant experience and first class assistance. Thank you for your compliments for our overall service and for letting us know that we fulfilled all your needs and travel expectations at this time. We are continuously working to offer our passengers a memorable experience in Cusco and that they can leave with a very good memory of our country. We hope we can have you back for a new and exciting adventure with PeruRail.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked the vistadome train about a month ago and were informed that part of the journey was to be replaced by a bus service. Whilst it would have been nice to do the full train ride I'd rather stay safe and travel part of the journey by bus. The replacement bus is only meant to be until 21st July 2013 so shouldn't affect travellers after that date. We found the train seats comfortable and the food was really good. We had fresh pancakes, strawberries, melon and spinach quiche. We had a choice of hot and cold drinks also. The scenery was spectacular and well worth travelling by train. The glass ceiling really added to the experience as you could see the tops of the mountains all down the length of the train. The staff were really friendly and when they came around with a "duty free" style trolley selling Peru rail gifts they were up for a laugh letting passengers try on the Indiana jones style waist coats and hats for photos. There wasn't a hard sell at all, just letting passengers try on the hats. A thoroughly memorable experience! :-)

1  Thank LondonE3Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. LondonE3Traveller,
We would like to thank you for your comments and recommendations to travel in the Vistadome train, and also for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed it to its fullest. We are sorry for having to operate with our bi-modal service and for all the inconvenience this may have caused to your journey. We appreciate your patience and understanding with our service in this opportunity and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Because of landslides, the train started at Ollantaytambo and everybody took the same buses from Cusco to the Ollantaytambo station. The buses were extremely uncomfortable while the Vistadome train was moderately comfortable. It served surprisingly nice food, however, and the views were great. Also, they tried to get more money from the passengers by doing things like a Peruvian fashion show which was either a fun way to pass the time or an annoying attempt at further profit, depending on your preference.

1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mr. Ryan G.
We would like to express our apologies for our bi-modal service. Fortunately, starting July 22nd we are resuming our regular service to better serve you. We are sorry for all the inconvenience this may have caused in your journey. We put our best effort in to providing the best possible service so our passengers can have an unforgettable experience when travelling with PeruRail. We hope we can have you back and we are always at your service.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very Scenic if you sit on the left side going up.
Leave before 4:30 so you can see the area going back, after that it is too dark!
Great snacks and service!

Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Marshmaloowman,
We would like to thank you for your comments and also for sharing them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had a great journey aboard the Vistadome train and that you enjoyed our service. We are always working to offer an excellent service with all the comfort and fun that our passengers expect in this journey. Once again, thank you for your recommendations for future passengers and for your preference with PeruRail. We hope we can have you back for another adventure with us.
Best regards,
The Vistadome Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing