We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Ranked #14 of 365 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and great value”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at about 5am and they gave us a room where we could go to sleep for a few hours until our room was ready at 9. For that I'm eternally grateful! The staff here really are superb and can't do enough for you. It's about a 10 minute walk along a main road to San Blas but the area is nice and quiet. Rooms are spotlessly clean and showers are seriously powerful! Booked in for another night after our Inca trail and the bags we had left there were waiting for us in our room. A great, clean, quiet, budget-friendly (but still very boutique-y) option for Cusco.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorkKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    91
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
165
35
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great value for the price
Each room had a different theme
Comfy beds
Large bathrooms
Came around a night with hot water bottles to warm up your bed
Very helpful staff
I would definitely stay here again
About a 20 min walk to plaza de arms but only a 5-10 min taxi ride depending on traffic which will only cost you about 8 soles

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I will GLADLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL to anyone. We stay in this hotel for two nights in two different rooms (Aug. 28-30). The rooms are a bit smail, but very clean and stylish, all different, with creative and interesting décor...the owner (Monica) and the rest of the staff were more than wonderful, helpful and friendly at every moment and did their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel is in a neighborhood's hill, just about 15 minutes walking distance from the Plaza de Armas, but I heard it can be very noisy if you stay around that area so that is why we decided to stay at Wifala. The owner, Monica, designed a walking tour for us from the hotel to a location with a great view of the whole city, then to the main plaza, to Puerta del Sol and a local souvenir market. Breakfast was great, tasty and different every morning. You can take a taxi from or back to the hotel for only 5 Soles (less than 2 US dollars) if you don't want to walk. The hotel does not have an elevator just in case you can not go up stairs, so have that in mind. PROS: Rooms, Staff, Décor, Breakfast, Service CONS: not worth mentioning. Thank you Wifala!!!

Room Tip: If you can not go up stairs, ask for a room in the first level, but you will get some noise. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almeidasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wifala Thematic Hotel was such a wonderful place to stay. We came here after a long active day @ Machu Picchu and were amazed by the comfort and charm of our room. The neighborhood was quiet at night. The staff was so kind and caring -- everyone we interacted with seemed to be happy to be there. We were met with genuine warmth and smiles and yummy coca tea. The hot water bottle at the bottom of the bed was a nice touch and it stayed hot all night! Breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend Wifala for your stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 2 separate occasions during our two weeks in Peru.

Located right beside Iglesia de la Recoleta, Wifala hotel is a cost-effective (yet modern!) solution for travelers on a fixed budget. The hotel itself is quite small, but every square foot is efficiently utilized. Every floor and room has a theme, and the decor is deliberately colorful, clever, and creative! The rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable, and afford just enough space for two people. There is no central air (heating or cooling), but they provide a plug-in space heater and water-based heating pads at night to keep you warm. Each room has a flat screen TV, and we were fortunate enough to find an English channel that played CSI-NY re-runs in the late hours. After over a week in Peru, hearing English was a nice change of pace... Speaking of which, the staff does not speak any English (at all!), but they are extremely friendly, and they make a killer Peruvian breakfast (included)!

The hotel is about a 10 minute drive to Plaza de Armes, costing about 5-6 soles each way (very cheap). You can walk there if you'd like, which would take anywhere between 30-40 minutes. If you choose to take a cab, the host/hostess will call one for you, so no need to run down to the main street to hunt down a taxi. The staff even helped us negotiate a cab ride to Chinchero when it was time for us to leave Cusco. We found this aspect of their service to be extremely convenient (since we were so tired by the end, and could barely get another word of Spanish out of our mouths).

It was such a pleasant stay, and we definitely got a bang for our buck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

When I first look at the pictures of the place I thought it was a going to be a good experience.
I was underestimating my feelings. It was a great stay!
From the first day to the last - 2 weeks of a very nice and comfortable stay.
Monica - the owner, and all the staff were fantastic and made our stay something to remember.
The rooms are cozy, the (very clean) bathroom nice and the shower, great with lots of hot water.
I would for sure recommend this place to all travelers that don't feel like staying in the middle of the touristic zone - just around six walking blocks from it or a S/4 ( US$2) cab ride. Besides you would have the chance to get to know more of the way of living of the cusqueños.
Waking up with the view of the mountains over the Recoleta church is priceless.

Room Tip: Would suggest third floor, but be aware of the soroche -altitude sickness in Cusco; Gotta climb th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went to Cuzco in August 2013. We spent four days at the hotel Wifala Thematic. The hotel is very clean. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. Most importantly, it is Monica and the rest of the staff that made our visit so much better. She made all reservations for us for the bus and entry to Machu Pichu. They made sure that we were comfortable and were very friendly. We had an amazing time, and the staff at Wifala were a big part of that. We would highly recommend anyone going to Cuzco to stay at this hotel. If we ever go back again, we sure know where to stay! Branislav & Sadbera

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branislav-Sadbera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 169 in Cusco
441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 169 in Cusco
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 169 in Cusco
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 462 in Cusco
1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#165 of 462 in Cusco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique

Property: Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Address: Jiron Tetecaca Nro 111 | Cusco, Cusco Cusc 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing