We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Ranked #68 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was so surprised with the quality of this hotel. I loved the fresh flowers in my room and the comfortable bed, as well as the big shower. The breakfast was also very welcome with the selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, breads and cereals. Staff were very helpful and the wifi was fast- definitely a good choice!!

Room Tip: Ask to not be put near the breakfast area!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jess1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Jose M, Gerente at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Wakapunku Boutique Hotel with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Wakapunku is as pleasant as possible.

We hope to welcome as our guest again.

Best regards!

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent a few nights here and with the wealth of options in Cusco I wished we had gone somewhere else. The room we had was tiny and I always felt claustrophobic and my husband had to struggle not to hit his head on the roof. Staff spoke basic English and generally didn’t seem to care about any request we made so we were worried about leaving our luggage there when we went to Machu Picchu but it turned out ok.
The main positive of this hotel is its location, just a few blocks from the main square but after speaking with other travellers who had paid a similar amount we felt we could have done better for this price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Jose M, Gerente at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Pa T,

We have read your comments carefully and would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your impression about the Hotel.

The staff in Wakapunku always do our best to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay in Cusco, as such we would like to take the opportunity to sincerely apologize if you felt that our staff was not able to comunicate well with you.

Our receptionists speak very good English, however we are very sorry that you didn't feel safe.
The Hotel itself is very secure, and we always look after the safety, security and comfort of our guests and their belongings, our staff is very realiable.

Once again, we are sorry that our hotel has not fully met your expectations. I assure you that we are taking the necessary corrective measures to ensure that such situations do not happen again and we don't cause bad impressions. We are working very hard to improve our service and comments like yours are very useful.

I did not want to miss the opportunity to express to you our regret for causing this discomfort.

Best regards,

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Everyone who worked here was very pleasant and helpful. The whole process of reserving, checking in and checking out all went smoothly. They emailed us ahead of time if we'd like an airport pickup which we did reserve and were greeted by the driver holding a sign at the airport. Very happy with our room (4) which was spacious, clean with modern decor and a small balcony. Breakfast was a spread (on same floor as room 4) of coffee, tea, milk, cold boiled water, sliced cheese, meat, fresh diced fruit (kiwi, papaya, etc), empanadas, fresh juice, kefir, rolls, jam, cocoa leaves, sweet bread (sometimes orange), etc. Sweet, sunny area in which to eat too. Very nice of staff to keep our suitcases safely stored while we went on a hike to Choquequirao for 5 days (gave us tags to put on cases of which we were given half of each tag with same number on it; we just left the cases in our room the day we left and they were placed back in our room upon our return). The hotel is an easy walk to the plaza and sites with small restaurants in easy walking distance too. Definitely is a great value hotel with caring service and we would return.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which we loved - spacious and clean with modern decor and a small balcony overlooking...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 246LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Jose M, Gerente at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us at Wakapunku Boutique Hotel.

Our mission at Wakapunku is to contribute to make everyone´s trip an unforgettable experience. That means, that we will do whatever is in our hands to help our travelers to enjoy their visit.

Best regards,

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had such a great stay at this hotel. Perfect location and lovely rooms. Wifi was the strongest we had in Peru. The staff were super friendly and looked after our bags before and after our stay. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Jose M, Gerente at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Best service is what we constantly try to achieve. It is great to read you had a good time with us.

Recommendations for a unique experience like yours are greatly appreciated.

Warmest regards,

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

friendly staff, helped me arrange a driver to take me around the sacred valley. kept my luggage while i visited aguas caliantes for 2 days at no charge before checking in. very clean hotel, nice room. poor breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Azizrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

An overbooking at our original hotel meant we had to move for one night to Wakapunku Hotel. Our room was small and overnight quite stuffy as there wasn't any ventilation that we could find. Beds clean and comfortable. Small communal dining room next door with spindly stools to sit on ( bit of a worry for a buxom lass like me) No lounge area with comfortable seating that we could find and the lass on reception didn't understand our request for one. We ended up sitting on our bed to write letters which wasn't very comfortable. Kitchen adjoining dining area had a fridge but this was padlocked so although it was 24 hr availability of tea and coffee... we couldn't access the milk. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel was very close to shops, restaurants, and central plaza. OK for one night but wouldn't have wanted to stay any length of time.

Room Tip: Check out availability of lounge or outside areas as we could find neither.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annpalmer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice hotel, conveniently located in Cusco. They were very nice and upgraded us to a bigger room at no charge after our first night, when my husband had altitude sickness. Even gave him oxygen! We stayed 3 nights before our trek, and one night after. They held our stuff in between. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison, Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.7 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#51 of 170 in Cusco
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruinas
Hotel Ruinas
#56 of 170 in Cusco
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 170 in Cusco
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 170 in Cusco
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakapunku Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Address: Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $64 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakapunku Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Cusco's main plaza and minutes to some of Cusco's best known bars and restaurants, lies the hideaway WakaPunku boutique hotel. Meaning "Door to the Sanctuary" in the native Quechua language, we have worked tirelessly to make the hotel warm and inviting to the weary traveller, and offer exceptional service to match the exceptional value for our hotel. Each room is unique; its layout provides an oasis of calm in Cusco. With abundant 24 hour hot water, comfortable beds and modern necessities such as an iPhone dock in every room, we hope you feel comfortable during your stay with us. At WakaPunku we go the extra mile, from our complimentary mini-bar to buffet continental breakfast with fresh natural juices, we leave no stone unturned in our quest to offer exceptional value in this exceptional city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wakapunku Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing