We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 4 nights and it was great”
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #17 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights before a trek and then returned for another 2 just after. A lovely hotel just 2 blocks from the main square in Cusco. The staff was really wonderful....as other reviewers have mentioned. In particular, Manuel gave us a 1/2 hour talk when we arrived about how to deal with acclimatizing to the high altitude. Very valuable. His English is perfect. Gave suggestions for local restaurants. Rooms were very charming with wonderful bathrooms and great showers with very hot water at all times. Some slight noise from a local disco on the back side of the hotel but not all that bad. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The location is good, being near the square. It's a little bit up the hill but also relatively quiet. The rooms are unique, as in the photos. It was chilly as we were there in the winter, but they have heaters and also heating pads for the bed, so we were comfortable. Overall it's a fine base of operations for exploring Cusco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maginitude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

the rooms are clean, the breakfast provided is good if not spectacular, pickup from airport did not show up, I had to call, and they did not provide cab to airport. we had to pay.

located 2 long blocks uphill from the main square is convenient, but only one block from a loud disco going all night, i guess that is the price of being near the action.

since lodging in cusco is generally inexpensive, for the price i would have expected a higher level of service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Rumi Wasi and would highly recommend it! The location is great (a short walk from the Plaza de Armas, but far enough away that it's not amidst the bustle of the city center), and the hotel has an authentic South American feel.

I cannot say enough about the very sweet and welcoming staff - they were all so attentive and helpful! We stayed here before and after our Inca Trail Trek, and they gave us a to-go breakfast bag on the morning we departed for the trek and had our suitcases ready in our room when we checked in again a few days later. They also arranged a (free) taxi for us to return to the airport. The service was absolutely wonderful and truly had a personal touch.

One last random note - the shower had really good water pressure (we especially appreciated that after we returned from our trek being very worn out and dirty!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaV1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by our stay here! The hotel is located just minutes from the main plaza. When you enter, there's a nice open courtyard and we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who took our luggage and lead us directly to a serving parlor room where they served us tea and presented us with our room keys. We were then given a form to fill out for our breakfast order which we could have in our room, or out in the courtyard. They have quite a variety from eggs, toast, juice, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, preserves, etc. We were then lead to our room which was nice and clean and included a flat screen TV, toilet, stand up shower with multiple jets and hot water! The room had an extra space heater for additional heating and there was even an outlet converter for us to use. We were also pleasantly surprised, and a bit shocked to find heated warmers at the foot of our bed under the covers! My husband got into bed first and slowly got out and told me to step away from the bed as he felt something "warm and fuzzy by his feet". We soon found out they were warmers with fuzzy covers! :) Very nice place and friendly service! We loved the convenience of the location as well!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel on Expedia and ended up staying an additional night. On arrival the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming and ensured we settled in quickly. Our room was lovely, very clean, great shower and free wifi. Overall attention to detail was excellent e.g. candles and oil burner was lit as we arrived, hot water bottles delivered each night to warm the bed. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to sights and restaurants. Some noise from other guests can be heard in the central courtyard, but not enough to worry us. The hotel booked our return taxi to the airport which was prompt - we were 2 mins late and arrived to find our bags already packed in the taxi with the hotel staff waiting outside until we arrived. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepuswarmandfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were so thrilled to have a wonderful stay at this small safe hotel a short walk from the Plaza. The staff here was so wonderful and I have nothing but good to say about this little hideaway. A comfortable little courtyard and upper balcony was nice for a reading spot and a cup of tea.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a bath tub, so you would have to very specific if you wanted that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsmgoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 171 in Cusco
1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 171 in Cusco
923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing