We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cusco Experience!”
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #16 of 379 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Since I was traveling as a family of four with two young kids (13 and 11) I chose this hotel primarily for the authentic "cusco/Inka" stone house feel as well as a convenient location near the main plaza. However, this b & b turned out to be so much more.

Prior to arrival, the owner and staff were very helpful in setting up free pickup at the airport, purchasing Machu Picchu tickets in advance and arranging tours to the Sacred Valley and taxis during our stay.

Upon early arrival (7:00 am) we were greeted with cocoa tea and allowed to use one of the empty rooms while our deluxe double room was being prepared. Being able to take a shower and resting up after a long trip was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated.

By 11 am our room was ready and we were able to check in early. The room was very charming and had been renovated with all the latest modern amenities (i.e. free wi-fi, flat screen tv, mini fridge, in room safe, full bath with jacuzzi as shown on their web site).

Every morning a cook to order breakfast with fresh eggs, fruit, bread, juice, lattes, coffee and/or tea was prepared and sent to our room at any time we desired. The day we went to Machu Picchu a lunch bag with ham and cheese sandwich, rice cracker, fruit and juice box was prepared for each of us for our journey.

The quaint and charming courtyard and upper terrace were well kept and provided a great way to sit and view the city over a cup of coffee.

Being just up one block from the main square made it very easy to walk to the bank, go shopping and eat out at the local restaurants. Police presence was felt all around the square and we felt very safe even at night.

I would highly recommend this quaint little b & b to anyone visiting cusco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donavan94563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Rumi Wasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at the Rumi Wasi for 10 days while going to Spanish school in Cusco. The hotel has been restored in perfect taste and the rooms are charming. It's a short walk to The owner and staff were helpful and friendly. It was cold in Cusco and every night two hot water bottles were tucked into my bed. Rumi Wasi means stone house. This Spanish colonial era house was built on the original Inca foundation. Talk about sleeping with history....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citysparrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Rumi Wasi in Cuzco before our trek to Machu Picchu and after our trek. It was a perfect location and the staff was amazing. They were so helpful with everything, even storing our luggage while on our trek. When we retuned exhausted and dirty, they had our luggage in our room and brought us tea. It was perfect. They sent our laundry out for us the next morning so we didn't have to pack wet clothes home. Home away from home

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely boutique B@B, very well maintained, delicious breakfast and helpful staff. The place is just off the central historical plaza. However, it is up a steep climb. This does not matter if you are arriving by air because there is a free shuttle. If you are arriving by bus, get somebody to drop you at the gate as it is really difficult to lug bags up to the hotel. We always finished all our work and visits in the city before we climbed back up to the hotel! There is no fridge in the room and the basin is inside the living area not in the bathroom. There is a TV with English options and I was even lent a computer for urgent work as I was not carrying my own. The ambience is really lovely and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmandBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Rumi Wasi after the amazon and before our trip to Machu Picchu. It was a great little spot for over night. The room was very romantic and rustic looking and the hotel is very near to the square in Cusco. The hotel was even nice enough to hold some of our luggage that we could not take with us to Machu Picchu. They were great hosts. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here after returning from Machu Picchu for one night before our trip with Manu Expeditions. We didn't get in until after 10 pm & had an early pickup time of 6:15 am the following morning. It was tricky to get to & the van that was supposed to pick us up couldn't make the turn off the main square to come up to pick us up. It is a one way street so we ended up having to walk up to the top of the hill so we could get picked up for our tour. They did find someone to help with one of the bags (there were 3 of us with bags).There was a whirlpool tub in our room but the water pressure was too low to fill it up so we used the shower instead. I didn't check the hair dryer before washing my hair which didn't work so I had to go to bed with wet hair. The rooms were large with interesting decor. Breakfast was served in the room & they had a small menu to pick from the night before. I loved the hot water bottles in the bed & used the extra one (there were 2 beds in our room) for my back after all the hiking at Machu Picchu. There was a nice courtyard in the center & you had a nice view of the city from their upper level. Our daughter had a window with a view of the street & watched fireworks from a party down the street. Our windows opened up on the courtyard rather than the street. This was the quietest room we had in all of Peru which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I found a room at Rumi Wasi on Hotels.com, and while the photos made it look really nice, I was a bit skeptical at first, because sometimes images on travel sites can be deceiving. I am happy to report that Rumi Wasi met and exceeded my expectations, both in terms of the room and quality of service.

The bed and breakfast is located just a few blocks from the main square in Cusco. They picked us up for free from the airport. The room was charming, with candles in the corner, stone walls, and neat artifacts decorating the room. Also, the bathroom in the room was luxurious, with a great shower head and consistently hot water (something not to be taken for granted in Peru). Cuzco can get chilly at night, so it was nice that the room had a space heater and that the staff put hot water packs at the foot of the bed every afternoon (a unique touch I haven't seen at any other hotel).

Manuel was also very helpful, and helped us book a cab at a good rate to tour the Sacred Valley. The staff was very accommodating, and was even able to bring us a full breakfast at 5am the day we had to depart early to hike the Inca trail.

Overall, a highly recommend Rumi Wasi - it is a unique place, in a great location, with great service and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grecianadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#18 of 170 in Cusco
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $86 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing