We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Boutique Hotel in Cuzco”
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #17 of 413 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rumi Wasi is an immaculately maintained boutique hotel, about a 5 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. (The entrance on Calle Suecia is not signed; be sure to note the number.) The owner, Mr. San Roman, believes that it is one of the few colonial-era dwellings in Cuzco that has been rebuilt to something resembling its original condition. In any case, it has been lovingly and tastefully restored, with exquisite attention to detail. Also, the hotel offers a full range of modern conveniences, including up-to-date stylish bathrooms, in-room heaters for Chilly Cuzco nights, Internet access and wide-screen TVs. A great place to soak up the atmosphere of Cuzco or to recuperate from the rigors of sightseeing in the back country! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night after our Inca Trail hike. We chose here because it was nearby our previous hotel which was booked up for that night and we didn't want to travel far with our belongings. We really appreciated the nice hot shower since we were dirty and exhausted from the hike. We liked character and the more boutique, home-like feel of the place. We appreciated the little touch of placing a warm water bottle in our bed on arrival....it felt nice to lay on and kept bed nice and toasty. In the morning the two young men that worked there helped to organize a taxi to the airport while making our requested breakfast from the night before. We were in a bit of a hurry and wish we had more time to sit back, relax, and enjoy this place for few more hours but the boys helped expedite our checkout by taking care of billing during our breakfast. The one bad thing is that our room was adjacent to a back alley way that was quite noisy with party people the night before. It was a Saturday night so we kind of give it a pass, but still there was no insulation between the room and the outside so it felt like any talking was right there in the room with you. Overall though, we enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We liked the hotel a lot when we recently visited Cusco during a short family vacation. The hotel has just a few rooms, which provides the right environment for someone who enjoys peace and likes to stay at a place and feel like home. The staff was very nice and helpful, and they gave us very good hints on what to do during our stay, including help to organize the trip to Machu Picchu. They will pick you at the airport at your arrival, but make sure you give them your itinerary in advance. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas square and the rooms are nice and comfortable. We will definitely stay again at the hotel the next time we visit Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. We wanted that our guests feel at home in a nice colonial house in Cusco´s historic center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose Rumi Wasi based on reviews on booking.com since it had limited reviews on trip advisor. We wanted something smaller and with more character than Cusco's higher-end chain hotels. This place was perfect.

Rumi Wasi is located about 70 meters up a steep street/alley from the Northeast corner of Plaza de las Armas. This little bit of separation is extremely important in my mind since the Plaza is bustling and noisy at all hours, but also the center of the Cusco universe. This hotel allowed easy access, but was just far enough to cut down on the crowds and the craziness.

The hotel itself was extremely well presented and maintained. Each room was unique (we peeked in several) and all had character. The staff was fantastic - we met four employees during our four day stay (usually only one was there at a time) and all were very helpful and friendly. I got hit with a miserable 18 hours worth of traveller sickness while staying at Rumi Wasi, and everyone was understanding and helpful. It was also very useful that the shower was modern and had great temperature and pressure the whole time (as I took a lot of showers while sick.)

Breakfast was good, they make it for you whenever you emerge from your room.

We also found it handy that there was a wash and fold about a hundred feet away, which made our life much easier.

The only small issues we had with the hotel were that the wifi was barely usable in our room (we had to stand by the door to catch it), the walls between rooms are a bit thin (but there were few other guests when we were there, so not too much of an issue), and a couple of the employees had little or no English.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

We try that our guest feel like at home that is why all our effort is in service. We apreciate ver much your coments.

Regarding the wifi we are working to improve the strength of the signal service inside the rums. Since is a old restored colonial house the walls are very thick that makes that the signal is weak.

We are also working hard to improve the english level of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel just opened in April. My family were glad that I picked the hotel. It was the best hotel during our SA trip. The owner and the staffs are so nice, friendly and helpful. They think of everything and make sure u are being take care of it! The room is so beautiful ( we are family of 4)....and lovely! Location is great...a short distance walk from the square and far away from the noise and close to walk there (3 min walk). My husband and I had an wonderful breakfast on the hotel and looked over the city view of Cusco.....it was so nice!
Highly recommend to family, couples and friends.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

We like very much your comments , our goal is to offer the best service in a privileged location in Cusco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a terrific experience staying at the Rumi Wasi hotel. The place had character and charm, but also all the comforts and conveniences that we would hope for. Breakfast was served daily from their courtyard which overlooks the city. I will never forget it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They assisted us in getting tickets to Machupicchu which was extremely helpful since we were having a difficult time getting this done any other way. The location is just up the hill from the main square, which was very convenient. We will surely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cusco.

Room Tip: Rumi Wasi is tricky to find the first time since it is unmarked from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

There is not a sign on the door, so take the hotel address and phone number with you! The hotel is like a museum on the inside! The patio and outdoor breakfast area are beautiful! The showers are wonderful and we loved the antique wood and hardware on the doors. The rooms are very clean and very comfortable even during the winter!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 172 in Cusco
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $65 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing