We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every superlative in the book” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Every superlative in the book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Perhaps it's as well that we stayed here for the final two nights of our holiday, for anywhere else would be a disappointment after the Nazarenes.
We are picky travellers, we like all our comforts and really appreciate fine hotels. This delightful haven of peace and tranquility in a bustling city suited us perfectly. No noisy groups overwhelming the breakfast buffet - well, actually the breakfast buffet was brought to our table as a fantastic arrangement worthy of a stilll life photo in any upscale lifestyle magazine.

It goes without saying that the bed was super comfy, the bathroom extremely well thought out and the amenities first class. Those are the easy things to get right - it's the incredible staff, their genuine concern for our well being and the warmth of their welcome, together with the seamless attention to detail which makes the difference between any other deluxe hotel and the Nazarenes.

Dinner - a special Valentines menu - was excellent. Beautifully presented, it was a sophisticated interpretation of Peruvian cuisine at its best and, by European standards, very reasonably priced.

Palacio Nazarenes goes straight to the top of our 'favourite hotels of the world' list, alongside the Villa St Michele, another OrientExpress property. We'd love to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Elegantraveler,

Thank you for a beautiful review.

A lot of thought went into everything from bathrooms, beds, the food,… but as many reviewers mention as well, it’s the genuine warmth of our team that makes it realy special.

Thank you for reminding us,

With warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
323
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed in numerous top hotels (including the Monesterio, also run by Orient Express, next door) and this is the best. U.S. hotels could learn a lot from this place. Service, food, presentation all perfect. Location only a block from the main town square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for your words.
Short but “the Best” is fantastic to read!

With warmest regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is now on our list of the finest hotels in the world. It is charming and personal. The restoration has been thoughtfully and exquisitely done. The rooms are spacious and perfectly decorated and equipped. Each room is unique so be sure to let the staff know what you like when you reserve. We enjoyed the bar and restaurant on several occasions. The breakfast was a 'personal buffet' - which meant a perfect assortment of goodies were delivered to you...no picking through a buffet - wonderful idea!The staff were lovely and committed to making our stay wonderful - which it was! It was particularly nice to get a break from the large crowds of tourists and enjoy this little elegant oasis. The only challenge we had was with the reliability of the internet - I am sure this has been fixed by now. My deepest regret is that we won't be able to go to this hotel on a regular basis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Edward,

Thank you for sharing here on Trip Advisor.

Indeed, as you mention the rooms are all very distinct and if any preferences it is allways great to receive these to best assign the room, all are great dough…

The Internet has now been revised and the optic fibre in the street has been replaced by our provider.

With warmest regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here during our tour to Macchu Picchu over the Christmas/New Year's holidays. We've stayed at a lot of nice places and I agree with more than one reviewer that this was easily the nicest stay I've EVER had ANYWHERE for a number of reasons. 1. The Staff- nicest, most respectful, genuinely helpful and caring staff I've ever encountered. When we left my wife cried and hugged our personal butler Barnaby. 2. The setting. An old monastery recently renovated.To have the history, character, and beautiful serenity of the place with all the modern amenities, like radiant heat in the bathrooms, oxygen pumped into the rooms, etc...was amazing. ..this hotel has more character than anywhere I've ever stayed. 3.Attention to detail. From the hot cup of coca tea they offer when you arrive to the bellman taking your bags out of your room to the front on the day of your departure to the turn down service and little treats on your pillow....you want your butler to make you a pisco sour at night? Done. have him draw a bath with a selection of oils and herbs? Done. Example. On our first night, at turn down, they laid out a pair of his and hers slippers on the floor near the bed. My wife and I switched sides in order to sleep where we were accustomed. I guess we left the slippers by the bed the next day. That next evening at turn down the staff placed the slippers on the right side of the bed for us! They noted the change and remembered it. It's a little detail but indicative of our whole stay, incredible service and attention to detail, but behind the scenes, not at all stuffy or overbearing. The manager's happy hour reception in the bar was fun too, nice chance to mingle with interesting people from all over the world. We've already "done" Macchu Picchu but I would go back to Cusco just to stay at this hotel for a few days. Highly recommended without reservations!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RckyMtnDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
RckyMtnDoc,

Realy good to read your review, thank you!!
As you can imagine what we love to read most is regarding the service, the people. Words like “Genuinely helpful, respectful and caring” are great and go up on the wall for all to see. Service is where the difference lays indeed
With warmest regards and hopefully until soon.

Best Regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just adding some photos to my October 25 2013 review:
"Let me just add my voice to the chorus. This is simply one of the finest hotels anywhere. The room was terrific, the restaurant and bar first class, and the service was above and beyond. Highly recommend a stay on your way to or from Machu Pichu."

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pvguy90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear MilouA,

It was great to have you all with us over the festive season!

Hope to see you back soon and in the meanwhile, thank you for your comments!

Warmest,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. From the moment you check in you feel like you are royalty. We booked suites in the new section next door to each other - one for me and one for my adult son. Amazing views of the mountains, breakfast on the terrace, Incredibly well appointed rooms complete with a bar, espresso machine. The oxygen pumped into the rooms helped with the adaption to the altitude. I had a woozy night with dinner in my room - cozy and just what I needed to get ready for the next day of sight seeing. Had a massage the next morning which was probably the best I ever - and get regular massages. The beauty of the place - old walls from the Inca, blended with new construction is wonderful. Hidden gardens, winding passageways. Staff is very helpful. Just loved our stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor suite overlooking Cusco and Andes. Heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Ranchmama,

Wonderful review and thank you for your time in sharing it.

Our rooms are just perfect to be enjoyed and spend some time in during your stay, even dough Cusco and surroundings have soo much to see. It’s a trend we see more and more with our guests.

Looking forward to have you back with us.

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Warmest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Palacio Nazarenas is definitely a wonderful to stay in and one the best Palace I ever been to.
From the breakfast to the diner the meals are very tasteful. I recommended to try the fresh juice of orange tuna ( local fruit) it is very addicted ans sweet!!! The restaurant Chef is Virgilio Martinez, the same chef of Central Restaurant in Lima. It a very exclusive gastronomical restaurant, if you are looking for common meal this is not the place but if you are looking for something different and amazing you will not be disappointed. The room are very spacious, the beds are so comfortable and the bathroom are so romantics, very large as well....The pool area is very relaxing and the staff very careful. I loved the spa as well. I had a massage from Florentina and it was great. Indeed I had a very bad backache for a couple of month and she did such a good job i felt a lot better after. She customized the massage to adapt it to my needs!!!! so cool!!!!
The hotel have a secret mint garden and it smell so good...Staff is so friendly, discreet and helpful.. thanks to the restaurant staff and the little magic musician who made my every morning very friendly and peaceful...
Pet friendly which is very very rare in peru!!!
This place is the place to go in Cusco if you like Luxe and thinness at the same time... quiet and just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milou a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear MilouA,

It was great to have you all with us over the festive season!

Hope to see you back soon and in the meanwhile, thank you for your comments!

Warmest,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona
Inkaterra La Casona
#2 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Plaza Nazarenes 276 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing