We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed in some luxurious hotels all around the world, but this one has to be the best one to date. Not only is it the most luxurious but the facilities and quality of food and service are unparalleled. We were in the Chica Junior Suite but there was nothing junior about it, it was extremely sizeable. We stayed here for 3 nights after our trip to Machu Pichu and before heading to the Galapagos but we wish we could have stayed longer. It was a shame that the weather wasn't hotter as we were unable to utilise the amazing pool. We have only positive things to say about this hotel and strongly recommended you choose it when visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you for your recommendation
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, hopefully warmer weather during your next visit
Warm and sunny regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
348
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here prior to our journey to Machu Picchu and had a wonderful stay. The room was nice and the bathroom, well that was proably the most delightful part of the stay. The floors were heated and the tube and shower were awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Stacy m,

Great to read your comments, thank you

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed our bathrooms, indeed great personal spa’s.

Best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was the most beautiful and well run hotel I have ever visited.
Although expensive, The Palacio Nazarenas is a a luxury worth paying for!
The whole staff, including the General Manager, was extremely friendly and available throughout our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank miriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Miriamb,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I do hope to have you back soon with us!

With best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending five nights at this gem in October during our Peruvian tour. Overall, it's an outstanding hotel and a sister to it's next door neighbor, the famed Hotel Monasterio.

Rooms

We splurged and reserved the enormous Palacio Suite. It was very residential in feel, well appointed and supremely comfortable. The butler service was a sheer delight and really made our stay feel like home.

From what we could see most all of the rooms looked very spacious and well appointed. I would request a room in the historical building as they have more character.

We had some minor problems with air conditioning but we like to sleep at 18 celsius so we're a bit exceptional. The staff did everything possible to make the room comfortable. Also in room internet connectivity and speed were an issue and the staff worked hard to rectify the issue.

Service

All staff were genuinely friendly hotel professionals who took great pride in their hotel and a job well done. Service was excellent from butler, bell staff, front desk and dining room. All of the staff were exceptional!

Spa and Pool

The outdoor pool is lovely and I wish we would have made time to spend a couple lazy days around it. The spa is compact and well appointed with a steam room which I took advantage of to help alleviate elevation sickness.

Dining

Breakfast was great; no complaints. Dinner was a huge disappointment. I do realize that Peruvian "haute cuisine" or Modern Peruvian is the hot fad right now but I truly hated the dinner. As did my two dining companions. Instead go to the classic French dining room next door at the Monasterio for truly exceptional food.

Overall this hotel is a stunner and a real winner. For most of you the question comes down to The Monasterio or the Hotel Palacio Nazarenas. The Monasterio oozes charm and history and is full of architectural detail. The Palacio Nazarenas is restored a bit more contemporarily than is the Monasterio.

Overall I would recommend the "lighter and fresher" Palacio Nazarenas. Newer rooms and very spacious rooms. As the Monasterio and Palacio Nazarenas are neighboring hotels you can visit both.

Room Tip: Palacio Suite was enormous and well appointed. The Nazarenas Suite has the best balcony view in Cus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Balimontana,

Great to hear from you and thank you for a great review.
After our sit down at breakfast, I can tell you that all advise you provided me has been put into practice, it has served us well.

As mentioned, the Bistro will be available by March in order to have a more comfort food option available, hope to have you back to try it out!

It was great to meet you both and look forward to our next meeting

With my best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you are a high end traveler, this hotel is for you. I booked it as part of my Orient Express trip to Machu Picchu. We were in the newer part of the hotel. Fabulous suite, close to the city square and shops. we had three nights there. We should have stayed 5 nights to enjoy the hotel and the Cuzco more. Excellent friendly, professional staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Lynton R,

Thank you for your remark, indeed 5 nights is a must to take full advantage of both the area and the property.

Let me know when you return!
With very best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the more elegant but inviting hotels I've ever experienced! We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite upon arrival and from that point on, expectations continued to be surpassed. The service was impeccable, the staff were very friendly and anything we asked for was handled immediately. We even had all the ingredients for a Pisco Sour in our suite and the butler gave us a lesson in how to make them! The minibar had complimentary drinks and snacks and there was an oxygen tank in our room in case we had difficulty with the altitude. This was in a addition to the oxygenated suite.

The inclusive breakfast was lovely and I enjoyed the spa immensely! What a wonderful home base for touring Machu Pichu and the Sacred Valley!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toronto2AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Toronto2AZ,

Thank you for taking your time to share.
Great to read your expectations were surpassed! Thank you for letting us all know.
Hope to have you back at Nazarenas soon.

With warmest regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at Palacio Nazarenas for a total of 4 nights on our way to Machu Picchu and back. During our trip we stayed at other Orient Express properties as well as two non-OE hotels and there is nothing that can compare to Palacio Nazarenas.

The rooms are stunningly beautiful and even the junior suites are huge and luxurious. The many courtyards of the hotel are lovely and perfectly kept. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Our personal butler Alan contributed to our wonderful experience by providing a truly remarkable level of service. The complimentary in-room bar and snacks, the excellent food in both the restaurants and room service, and the beautiful tea service in the herb garden all also contributed immensely to our enjoyable stay.

The facilities, food, staff and ambience of this hotel cannot be beat. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not just a gem in Cusco, but in Peru in general and in the Orient Express collection as a whole.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Brittadine,

Happy to hear you had a great time with us, and thank you for sharing.
With warm regards, also from Alan!

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing