We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word : Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our last stop for our 3 week tour of Peru was Cusco. In fact it was a double stop because first we visited Cusco and Sacred Valley and twe returned to Cusco after our visit to Machu Picchu. It was good planning to stay in total 6 nights in Palacio Nazarenas (first 4 nights and then 2 after our visit to Mach Picchu). We could not have selected a better place to stay in Cusco.
We had booked a junior suite but got upgraded to a master suite and the only description is : Fabulous.
From the moment you arrive with a welcome bouquet of flowers for the lady, to the moment you depart the service is friendly and impeccable.
We had left our luggage in the hotel for our short overnight stay at Machu Picchu, to find our luggage already in our room when we returned late in the evening from the train, it is these types of excellent service that adds to the feeling of well being.
Also the location in great to visit the center of Cusco, for shopping and to enjoy the local restaurants.
Another great orient-express experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear KVG01,

Thank you for staying with us and, as many other reviewers, setting the trend for longer stays. “Wish we could have stayed longer” is a frequent comment….

Looking forward to your return and remain with best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 726 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel was just perfect! The rooms were wonderful and the bathrooms were gorgeous! In fact, I took pictures of the tiles in the bathroom for reference when I re-do my own bathroom. The bed was super comfortable...the quality of the linens were memorable. There is even a private bar in the room to make your own pisco sour! One of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere in the world!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtsomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear mtsomerville,

Thank you for naming us also as one of the best, keeps us humble and growing
Sleep experience is after all what we do, hence the great beds and private bar

Happy to read you enjoyed and hope to have you back with us.

With our best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is newly opened and beautiful. Our suite was off of one of the central courtyards and very private. Everything about this hotel from the food to the rooms to the service is top-notch. We had a huge living room, bedroom and master bath- all beautifully decorated. The ceilings were quite high and oxygen was pumped into the bedroom at night. This is very necessary is you are not used to trying to breathe at 11,000 ft altitude. The service was fabulous - the staff came running when they saw me trying to bring my suitcase. The food was superior. The location is right off the main square so you can walk to everything there. This was our place to depart for Machu Pichu.

Room Tip: We had a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Openstudio,

Thank you for sharing your experience here.
A pleasure to hear we came "running", the difference is in the details.

With my best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

WOW. The only negative about this place is that we had to leave!!!! This is by far one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in. My husband and I visited in October for our first anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. At the same time, we felt like we were treated like friends. The service was amazing but not overly formal. They were perfectly attentive. They never said "no". They always found an answer or a solution no matter what the question or request was.

The rooms: WOW. The rooms were breathtakingly beautiful. We stayed in a room with a balcony which overlooked the beautiful pool as well as the hills of Cusco. I could've spent a whole day just sitting on the balcony and relaxing! The beds were unbelievably comfortable. The bathrooms were spacious and luxurious to the max. The closets were extremely spacious as well. There wasn't anything we needed that wasn't already in the room. Unbelievable! You can even ask your butler to give you complimentary Pisco sour lessons - SO neat!

The public spaces in the hotel are absolutely breathtaking. There are a number of courtyards available for exploration. The hotel is a destination in and of itself. You could wander for hours just exploring the grounds and taking in the peaceful surroundings. You really have a sense of place when you're inside the hotel. There is a wonderful spa as well. The dining and bar options are very nice too. Breakfast was out of this world!!!!

Palacio Nazarenas will not disappoint anyone. It is the perfect place to stay in Cusco. The location can't be beat, and it is wonderful in every way. I can't wait to visit again some day. Do yourself a favor and stay there - I assure you it will be unforgettable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear EliB123,

My turn to say WOW, thank you for a beautiful review!

It gives all of us great pleasure to read and keep us going and pushing the bar
Warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Superb hotel in the middle of the bustling historic part of town, but an absolute oasis inside the gates. The only swimming pool in town right next to the bar and restaurant, in a separate courtyard.

Ask for rooms 101 / 103, amazing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cmwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear cmwellington,

Thank you for your comments.
Indeed, the location is very special and a great base to explore Cusco from.

Welcome back with us anytime

With best regards

Floris Boyen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed there overnight before catching an early train to Machu Picchu this week. Arrived in the afternoon and check-in was a breeze. The next day, the restaurant was open at 5 AM! for a very good continental breakfast. The room and bathroom were huge and beautiful, the toiletries smelled great, soda,gatorade, beer, juices, rum, pisco and snacks are included in rate. Very close to most atractions, restaurants and stores, but on a quiet square. Returned to hotel after a night in Machu Picchu and the bag left in storage, was already in the room. Requested steam pressing at 6:50 AM and the ítem was returned in 15 min. Great service overall. Defitely the best hotel we stayed in in Peru(,stayed at JW Marriot and Sol de Oro, Lima and at the Sanctuary)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank lvmv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Ivmv29,

Thank you for writing us with your experience.
Indeed 5AM and our Breakfast Team are morning birds so allways there with a smile.
Hope on your next visit you will have more time to sleep in and enjoy the hotel grounds a bit more

Warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights in a junior suite in late April. We were immediately greeted and shown to a lovely brand new room-hotel is quite new. The room was large, not huge, with a beautiful terrace overlooking the swimming pool. We were on an upper floor with a view over the city. The bathroom was excellent, well stocked and excellent size. We were shown to our room by our personal "butler" who offered to make us drinks, pisco sours for instance, on demand. I laughingly asked what if I wanted the drink at 2 in the morning and was informed that it would take a bit longer as he would have to come from his home to the hotel. Excellent service! The bar next to the swimming pool was excellent and had a nice selection of bar food. Breakfast was good, not great, but very acceptable. All in all Palacio Nazarenas was a lovely oasis of quiet. The design if the hotel is lovely-they kept nice old touches of the original building and then added lovely courtyards with trees etc. The grounds need a bit of tine to grow in but an overall excellent mixture of modern and old. It seems that some of the smaller rooms that faced the courtyards might be a bit small-I don't know as I did not see them. Excellent location. It is not inexpensive at all, but we felt that the stay was worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear sftcat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regarding the breakfast, we are improving constantly trough feed back from our guests, I thank you for yours. As we are located in an ancient convent some of the rooms have kept their original size but the few smaller rooms we have are extremely charming and we managed to add a stunning bathroom in most.



Hope I will have the chance to show them to you on your next visit



With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $399 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would the nuns in this converted 17th-century convent have approved of the pisco sour cocktail-making stations? Anything is possible, given the diverse incarnations of this contemporary urban retreat. Belmond Palacio Nazarenas was built on Inca foundations and became a palatial private home in the 1500s. It was owned by the conquistador Mancio Serra de Leguizamon—a warrior who is said to have gambled and lost the gold Inca image of the sun from the Coricancha temple. The Jesuits converted the building into a school in 1644, which itself became a convent in 1715. We’ve preserved all that’s most precious here: you’ll find original Inca stonework, colonial frescos and gold-framed paintings collected by the nuns. At the same time you’ll discover the best of the new world within our walls. We’ll look after you in the most elegant way possible, whether your idea of relaxing is taking a morning yoga class or an evening salsa lesson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing