We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 1:00 PM, 3:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Alpaca Expeditions
from $589.00
More Info
from $789.00
More Info
from $576.00
More Info
from $695.00
More Info
Reviews (10,553)
Filter reviews
10,553 results
Traveler rating
10,402
125
15
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,402
125
15
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green machine inca trail chose alpaca cake machu picchu juan carlos head porter every meal food was amazing sleeping bags once in a lifetime other companies sous chef making sure these guys hard work sun gate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,232 - 3,237 of 10,553 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2019

Originally had signed up for the 4D/3N trek, but due to a healing foot injury, ending up switching to the 2D/1N camping trek. I was worried I’d miss out with the switch, but this trip exceeded all expectations. Alvin, our guide, truly made this experience incredibly memorable. Alpaca Expeditions was impressive from the start - prompt to respond, organized and punctual. Alvin was so knowledge, funny, encouraging and such a great leader. I appreciated how much he supports his fellow teammates - the chef, porters - to boost their morale and recognize their hard work. From the way Alvin lead the Alpaca team to how he led us through the hike, he didn’t miss a beat! He was patient when we needed breaks and also made sure we took advantage of every single photo op. Our group had such a memorable experience and I accredit it to having an amazing guide! So thankful for this trip and it’s a memory I’ll always cherish.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Briana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019

I cannot fault this company. The guides, the porters and the Chefs were all absolutely fabulous. The organisation was second to none, the food was incredible and the guide's knowledge was amazing. A trip of a lifetime and I 100% recommend Alapaca Expeditions if you are considering the Inca trail trek. Jamie and Marizol (the guides) were a credit to their company.

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Mhairi-Clair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I completed the 4 day classic Inca trail trek, and it was an incredible experience.

Henry and Max were our amazing guides. They were both really friendly and informative, and they made our trek memorable. They both did a great job explaining Incan history and the historical sights along the way.

The trek itself is full of beautiful landscape and speaks for itself, but Alpaca Expeditions make it unforgettable. The porters do a great job of setting up everything you need at camp, the food is amazing and plentiful, and the equipment is in great shape. The logistics were really well organized and made for a worry free experience.

Alpaca also did a great job of putting us in an amazing group with people of around the same fitness level, which I thought was really thoughtful.

If you want to hike the Inca trail, be sure to book with Alpaca!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Bert415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019

We did the 2 day 1 night camping. Highly recommend, as you get to Machu Picchu TWICE. Once in the evening which is the best as most all other travelers have left for the day. And the needy morning which was packed with tourists, but Alvin knew the places to go to avoid the crowds. We have perfect weather. The weather was hotter than we imagined it would be! The hike was amazing, hard, but Alvin made sure everyone was going at a comfortable pace. The meals they prepared were better than any restaurant we went to, and the camp site was much nicer than I imagined. Alvin is the best guide- so friendly, sweet, funny and knows so much information! Highly recommend him! We had the best time. The company is beyond reliable and organized.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank maggiemaher914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019

The 4 day Inca trail was one of the most amazing adventures we have been on. Our guides Lucia and Max and our green machine porters and chef made us feel safe, welcome and assured that we could complete this adventure. Alpaca Expeditions has this whole excursion including transportation, food and sleep accommodations well down to a smooth flowing process. Porters had tents and toilets tore up and down, worked seemingly effortlessly getting our equipment where it needed to be. Although I know it was hard work. Chef made the most fabulous food catering to any food restrictions. I especially am grateful to Lucio who helped me on my 3rd day when my muscles were sore. He ensured that I got down this mountain and made it to Machu Picchu. Even porters were their support anyone if they needed assistance. Lucio was very knowledgeable as I learned about the Inca’s. Max was also very encouraging as we trekked and he put a humorous spin on our journey. Lucio and Max were also always willing to take many photos on this trip which was very important for me to have my photo memories. The Alpaca customer service team always answered via email any questions I had before the trip. Made me feel confident that we were travelling with a company that cared, and was organized. I always felt safe and inspired that I was going to get this most interesting, wonderful and challenging adventure done as part of the green machine team.

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews