We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ - Peruvian Style”

Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 715 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Best and only Barbecue restaurant in Cusco, family owned, our passion for service makes our food spectacular you wont be dissapointed here.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BBQ - Peruvian Style”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We'v eaten here twice since coming to Cusco. First time we tried the ribs with texan sauce and a chicken curry type dish. Both were stunning dishes. The portion sizes were generous and the prices ideal (20-25 Soles). The service was impeccable too; friendly, fast, attentive.

My wife got food envy the first time we were leaving as the couple next to us had ordered the burgers. Serious food envy! So we came back a few nights later. I ordered the Stroke Burger (S28) ...it's big and mean, but fantastic. The meat was cooked perfectly, a little smoke flavour and juicy. All t he additions to the burger were phenomenal. I struggled to finish the burger and fries, which is unusual even by the Peruvian portion size standards. Ellie's caramelsied onion burger (S18) was also tasty and she failed to finish the fries.

The view of the plaza is pleasant, as is the ambient music. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyndwr1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reynaldomonzon, Propietario at Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your opinion, it makes us really proud of what we do. We hope to see you again soon.

Team Fuego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    189
    47
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Mucho deliciosa!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I visited in January 2012 and although still starting up it was amazing! Excellent balance of the fusion between Peruvian and BBQ that all us westerners ( particularly Aussies) enjoy so much!! Their house cocktail was also so good I had about 3! Staff were nice and spoke both English and Spanish which was good too! A definate recommendation while in Peru, venture from the main square and u will find more hidden gems!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika-marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local Staple”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've lived in Peru for 1.5 yrs and this is the first place to serve a respectable filet mignon! ...for 27 soles! It was beyond respectable, it was excellent! The vegetables are to die for. Maracuya sour is a must. Chicken nuggets, corazon, ribs or pork sandwich, you can't go wrong. They have pumpkin pie, to top it off. Clean bathrooms with toilet paper! Perhaps the best service in town! LOVE this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayakchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Illinois
1 review
“Nice joint”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A friend of mine recommended this place the last time he went to Cusco. I've gotta say it's one of the best BBQ places I've ever been. It has a very peruvian style and I particularly enjoyed the smoked ribs, they were fantastic.

The service was swift and very kind, son no complains in that area. They really made me feel at home.

If you're lookingfor a nice BBQ joint while visiting the millenary city of Cusco, don't miis this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KamiVelarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks so much Kamila, we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best American food in Cusco”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I'm from the U.S. and have lived in Cusco for 2 and a half years. This place easily has the best American style food in the city. If you are looking for a hamburger...this place is the best. There are others that advertise great burgers (like Jack's Cafe), but it's not a true U.S. hamburger--usually has a bunch of herbs and junk in the meat. At Fuego it's a pure american hamburger (with lots of different options--bacon, BBQ sauce, etc.). They smoke all of their meat before serving it, so it is delicious. They also have some great pumpkin pie and banana bread. If you are from the U.S. and are looking for some U.S. style food, especially a big juicy burger, this is by far the best place in town. The only problem is that it's not in the tourist area. It's about a 10-15 minute taxi ride from the Plaza de Armas. It's right off of Cultura, the main drag that runs the length of Cusco. So, you'd get to see a part of Cusco you might not see as a tourist. It's probably the nicest area of the city (other than the plaza area), but there are no tourists. Right across the street you'll find, in my opinion, the 2 best super markets in the city. The chef is from the U.S. and has worked for Marriott there. The really sad part is that he passed away about a month ago and his Peruvian wife is running the restaurant now. But, she knows how to make this food and she does a great job! Oh, and the great cheeseburgers are right at $5...so it's a great deal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattcookwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for your awesome opinion, we hope to see you soon again... team fuego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Fuego, Burgers and Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing