We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Valley and life is in a great location, with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House
Dining area
Living room comfort, 42' TV, Direct Tv, gallery of films
Wonderful time, cinema time
Dining
Perspectives of Living room
Kitchen area, full apliances
Dinner at House
Dining area at day
King bedroom with balcony
King bedroom view
Double Twin bedroom, peace and silence
Doubles, feather comforts, cotton sheets,
Doubles details
Breakfasts
Pizza Night at House
Inner roof garden
Rainbow from house
Salineras is walking distance from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cusco, Cusco Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Olidavies
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Valley and life is in a great location, with excellent hosts”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Urubamba AirBnB

The house was located in a gated community within a ten minute walk of Urubamba town centre. There were about 8 houses on the complex which all seemed to be let out in some way shape or form. There was a family living at a bungalow at the gate who seemed to be the house keepers. We arrived at the house late around 10pm, by taxi which the owner Juan and his wife had arranged for us from Ollantaytambo (95soles). They were there to greet us when we arrived and showed us around the house.

There was a well laid out kitchen with pots, pans, plenty of plates, utensils and a gas stove and a fridge/freezer. There was lounge area adjoining the kitchen which had a log burning fire and TV with plenty of channels. The wifi was excellent with great upload and download speeds. There was also a toilet hidden under the stairs. Upstairs there were three bedrooms - 2 doubles and a twin. They were well made up and clean. There was a shared bathroom with a shower which was hot, although occasionally the temperature would change randomly.

The house was very quiet in the evenings and we enjoyed lighting a fire (wood is an extra 10soles) and chatting and watching the TV. It is also well located for day trips. We went into Ollantaytambo to see the ruins there - 1.5soles for a tuktuk each to the bus station, then bus to Ollantaytambo for 1.5soles each which leave every 20 minutes or when full. The next day we hired a taxi for the morning for 80 soles between the 4 of us to take us to Moray and the Salinas mines, we picked him up from the bus station with little difficulty. Juan the owner and his wife can organise taxis for you however the quote they got was 280 soles for the day. Presumably because the taxi firm know it's a captive market.

We had a lovely time at the house for 3 nights and I would recommend it to others who would like something different to a Hostal or hotel. Juan and his wife were very friendly and helpful hosts and also speak English if your Spanish is lacking. Location is good, amenities are good, rooms pleasant and clean, for £59 ($90) a night a reasonable deal for a family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charwolfv...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cabin is lovely with fireplace and an amazing view. Also very quiet and well located. . However what is the best are the mangers. They were so helpful with transportation, suggestions, restaurants and more. If we return we will be sure to stay at this lovely place. .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2012

The Sacred Valley is truly a unique and beautiful place to visit. Four of us stayed in Recolleta Cottage and Dew was very attentive and organised which allowed us to relax and enjoy the stunning beauty and history of the place. The cottage is charming and cosy and has a gorgeous sun trap garden to soak in the atmosphere. Dew organised all of our tours for us, I think it is the first time we've ever had an itinerary organised for us on a holiday but everything was brilliant. The guides, the transport, the sacred Valley. A truly memorable holiday.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaroloWin...
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like visiting family”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Dew made our experience in Peru fabulous. She exchanged many emails helping us with our plans. We rented Recolleta cottage with two bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths and a yard with laundry outside. The only negative is the shower which is hot but very low water pressure - but really not a big deal. We added their homemade breakfast each morning since it was so nice to start the day in the kitchen together and visit. They provided a free phone so if we had any questions or troubles, they could help. We also were invited to a meal in their home. Starting our 3 week stay in Urubumba in the valley made acclimating to the altitude much easier for the four of us. There is so much to do in the Sacred Valley and it is quite beautiful.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail J
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The managers were outstanding”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The house was wonderful, but Dew and Juan made the stay, They were friendly, knowledgable and spoke wonderful English.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Backyard
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreensSEa...
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week Long Stay in Urubamba”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family of four stayed in one if Dew and Juan's cottages for 7 nights. Having room to spread out and a yard in which to play in quiet neighborhood was a nice change of scene from busy Cusco. The hosts, Dew and Juan, were so kind...setting up our MP visit and even having us to their home for a pizza dinner. Above and beyond! The cottage itself was nicely set up, beds comfy, & location good to enjoy the Sacred Valley. Wifi was weak however that's common in the valley and stronger service was being added the same week we were leaving. Highly recommend staying at these rentals.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaTys...
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recolleta Cottage is fantastic!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great location. Quiet. Safe. Short walk to town. Modern conveniences with old town charm. Dew and Juan were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again on future trip. So much to see and do in the Sacred Valley. Make sure you visit Ollantaytambo.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing