We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The beauty, the setting, the service, the great buffet breakfast, the elegant courtyard setting,-its just a wonderful property and i would have loved to spend a few more days there
Only issue is windows weren't double paned and noise from the streets was loud and audible
Basically if you dont carry ear plugs with you as i do , then assume you will not get any sleep except for between 2-5:30 AM
The whole second floor facing the street has the same problem

Room Tip: stayed suite 225 -whole row is exposed to all street noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Igppres,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience, makes me happy to know that you loved the hotel’s beauty, Colonial charm, dedicated service, impressive courtyard and large buffet breakfast .
Regarding the noise you commented, I have shared your comments with the engineering team so that we can find a solution.
Since the days here with us felt short, please come back any time you wish, it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back and offer you more than what you expect.

Kind Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have to congratulate the best SPA TEAM IN CUSCO, incredible staff, after a long journey , flying from the other side of the world, after check in , what I really need is a massage, sauna and jacuzzi, so I have to share the most wonderful experience at the JW in Cusco..
excellent TEAM, at the SPA, congratulations for Edith!! Anita!! and Marlene!! you are doing a great JOB and you are wonderful warm people, keep smiling , you are a great Team.
Congratulations!!! ....the Staff in Cusco is fantastic, good job !

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Alex d,

I am glad to know that we contributed to your relaxations and enjoyment because you overall well-being is our overall purpose.
I agree with you, our spa facilities and service are spectacular! With our heated pool, sauna, steam room, chromotherapy showers and whirlpool free of use is what all our guest deserve after tiring days of tours, about the service is so professional and smooth with amazing therapists with privileged hands, rest assure that I let Edith, Anita and Marlene know about the wonderful comments that you have made on this review.
Please Alex d any time you are planning to come back to Cusco let us know in order to delight you not only with a special spa session but also with our great food and drinks.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just what the doctor ordered after spending 3 nights in the Amazon. The décor was culturally fitting. I believe this hotel was once a monastery. Rooms were very modern. The only thing keeping me from giving a perfect score is three months later I receive a charge for the room and also someone is in a jewelry store in Spain trying to use my card. I believe the two are linked. this hotel is in downtown Cusco and in walking distance to the Cathedral, square and Starbucks. breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ayannaluv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Ayannaluv1,

I really appreciate your kind words It feels like we are the best medicine to relax!
I am glad knowing that you liked our decoration where we have mixed Colonial features with JW Marriott’s elegance, and you are right regarding our past, we are located in the formers Agustins’ Convent from XVI century. About your card, I am sorry for the misunderstanding but I completely trust in our security procedures, but please let mi know if there is any information you need so that you can feel relief about this topic.
I hope to welcome you back soon so that you can not only enjoy our delicious and varied breakfast but also our Restaurant Pirqa menu, Drinks at Qespi bar and a treatment in our spa.

Kind Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Perhaps the nicest hotel we have ever visited. And I travel 100 nights/year! Best JW I have ever visited, better than Ritz and Four Seasons hotels I have stayed in.

Breakfast is over the top! As is the spa. Staff is incredible, but the building is the star. Make sure you spend an hour getting the 6 pm building tour. As good as a museum, but you are staying here.

The only downside so that our rooms facing the street were very noisy. I imagine the hotel is aware of this and likely working to improve the soundproofing for those rooms.

Would love to return some day.

Room Tip: As there's have said, ask for a courtyard or Inka room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DinoTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear DinoTheDiver,

I am thrilled with your review, makes me feel in the clouds! I will share your comment with all the staff, because they are achieving their major job: exceed guest expectation creating unforgettable experiences. Being you a continuous traveler who knows about quality your opinion is very important for us.

Thank you so much for appreciating our archeological exhibition areas, we feel proud of having a piece of history with us. Regarding noisy room we will take action as soon as we can, so next time you come you will completely relax, it will be our pleasure to host you.

Cordially,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Really loved my experience at this property. One of the front desk associates named Joseph could not have been any more kind in assisting me with our Machu Picchu tickets, as well as, most anything that I asked for. He was utterly amazing. So kind. This hotel is the best hotel in all of Cusco in my opinion. The service is spot on. The downstairs lobby bar is large but super cozy with a nice fireplace in the center. Was able to watch the golf championship game in English down there. Food was great. Spa is free to all guest and is very nice. Just love this place. A+++++

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Karen S,

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us. It is our pleasure to make you feel welcome and right at home and we are glad your enjoyed our spa as well as the common areas.

Our service as usual shines! I will extend Joseph your appreciation words for his kind services and helpfulness assisting you with your Machu Picchu tickets.

Thank you very much for considering us the best hotel in Cusco! Anytime you would like to come back we will be waiting for you with open arms.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is visually quite impressive with its entrance, lobby and patio. Service has been top-notch from the moment we stepped out of our taxi even before staff knew my husband is a platinum elite member. This hotel doesn't have an executive lounge but I think they make up for that with individualized attention. We received one of the rooms with a terrace and it was very quiet during sleeping hours. The hotel is modern yet it still has that South American charm. Close to tons of shopping and restaurants. I cannot say enough good things about our experience with the hotel from front desk to the restaurant manager who have us tips on the different teas to drink to help with altitude and digestion! After checking in we were so pleased with the establishment that we have decided to extend our stay by a day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Spinto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Spinto74,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience during your stay with us! Your comments are very important for us to rate the quality of service we are providing.

Thank you for highlighting our superb service, we are always thriving to give the best experience we can, not only with details but also caring in all our guests needs. I am glad you could enjoy the different herbs we have it is impressive how good they are solving some health problems in a natural way.

Makes me so happy to know that our beautiful common areas, rooms, location and of course crafted service made you decide to extend your stay!

It will be a truly pleasure to welcome you and your husband once again in the future, so that you can continue enjoying all that we have to offer as well as this beautiful city.

Sincerely yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is 2 blocks away of dowtown Cuzco main plaza. You will find everything 500 meters from the hotel, walking distance and without ups and downs. The hotel used to be a Monastery, however renovation has made it very confortable.

Room Tip: For couples ask for the rooms with a nice terrace and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojasaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear ojasaui,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a few lines about your great perception of the hotel.

I am glad that our central location resulted convenient to you, it is one of our advantages to be located so close to Cusco Plaza de Armas and many other places of historical interest. In addition, being located on the formers Agustines’ Convent give us an especial charm combined with JW Marriott’s elegance and good taste.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future to exceed your expectations and that you can completely enjoy all that JW Marriott El Convento Cusco has to offer you.

Cordially yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $204 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing