We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Cusco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent hotel, just a 2 min walk from the main square. Very grand entrance with a wow factor. Hotel is quite new and hence everything was nice, clean and modern. Best breakfast buffet we have had in Peru. Clean and comfortable rooms with hot showers. The spa (steam, sauna and jacuzzi) is also very relaxing and we had a dip in the swimming pool on both days. Great stay.. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meera520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is a huge honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than pleased to host you and make you feel at home.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great location next to the main square. The hotel entrance, rooms and spa are wonderful. Staff are very friendly and like to give guests tips on places to go. The breakfast alternatives are excellent and the bar very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments through our Trip Advisor web page.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy a wonderful stay with us, the infrastructure and facilities were specially designed to our most important guests like you. And our staff is prepared to exceed the expectations and go one step further.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than honored to receiving you again in the future.

Cordially,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family stayed here over Christmas and found everything to be perfect. The entrance is beautiful and the service excellent. We lacked for nothing during our stay.

Our rooms were very comfortable, we had balconies overlooking the courtyard, where we enjoyed wine in the evenings. The beds, hot showers and linens were up to date and we enjoyed the pool and saunas after rainy exploration days. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and a few other meals, it was quite good.

I would definitely stay again when in Cusco.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank nathalieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is an honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy a wonderful stay inside the Hotel and in our Restaurant. Our staff is always ready to serve and make everything possible to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than glad to receiving you once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of Cusco! The Hotel is just a street down from the main square and the cathedral. The best restaurants within a block or two. The hotel was built in 2012 so it is fairly new. The service at the breakfast buffet was amazing. Our server even offered us some snacks to go for our train ride to Machu Picchu.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hiral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Let us express our gratitude for taking the time to share your comments with us through Trip Advisor website.

It is great pleasure to know that we could exceed your expectations in service and enjoyed a pleasant stay. We are convinced that if we anticipating the needs of our guests things will always get a good result.

Once again thank you very much, and look forward to your valuable visit in the not too distant future and share the best service JW Marriott Cusco has prepared for you.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is new to the City, and is a beautiful 5 star facility, but lacks the charm, sensitivity that they might have otherwise included in a new built hotel. Rooms are typical JW quality, but bathrooms are tight, and the showers are affixed to the ceiling and difficult to adjust.
Biggest disappointment is the lack of any exercise or fitness equipment. The website is a bit misleading as it indicates the availability of a facility, but consists of a tiny pool (good for dunking) and and whirlpool spa. This is a major failure of Marriott to allow a new built facility without incorporating these features. Finally, any 5 star (US Branded hotel) notwithstanding the fact that it is not in the US, should have a potable water system. They are available and other companies have figured out how to build them it--Marriott needs to as well. Overall, the staff was great and the hotel beautiful. If you are looking for a local experience, you might consider another location--otherwise, this is a great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside overlooking the courtyard are quieter and there is not much of a view from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on our trip advisor website. Hereby receive our sincere thanks for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco as a destination for their stay in Peru.

Regarding the points mentioned in the survey, we would like to inform you that if we have the necessary equipment for water filtration so that it can be safe in the hotel, however we always recommend to take bottled water for that reason are these complementary the room.

Furthermore, we are very sorry to disappoint you by not having a gym at this property, however we thank you for giving us your suggestions, which are very valuable to us.

Again thank you very much for giving your time and if there is anything additional that you can attend hereinafter please feel free to contact us. It will be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Service. Best hotel experience I've ever had! Totally recommend it. From the arrival to the check-out, they treated us like royalty. The restaurant was the best, the best breakfast buffet I've ever tried, and dinner was always great, I even liked it better than the other restaurants outside the hotel. But the best of all was the STAFF, just excellent, they made our trip one unforgettable.

- Always thankful,

Ileana from Puerto Rico

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank IVJR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is an honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy a wonderful stay inside the Hotel and in our Restaurant. Our staff is always ready to serve and make everything possible to exceed guests expectations.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than glad to receiving you once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Cusco hotel is one of the best run, most beautiful hotels we have visited anywhere in the world. The staff, from management to housekeeping, were friendly, attentive and simply a pleasure to interact with.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HighExpectationsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is a huge honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than pleased to host you and make you feel at home.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 171 in Cusco
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $204 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing