We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Cuzco, Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you are ever in Cuzco visiting Peru, or trekking to Machu Picchu this hotel is by far the best one to stay in. The rooms are spacious and clean, centrally located, excellent staff, and the showers are the best in South America.
The on site restaurant delivers some of the best gourmet food I have ever tasted. If your are staying somewhere else you are definitely short changing yourself.
6 stars out of 5!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a huge honor to receive your comments, which are so valuable to us. We are convinced that if we do everything with effort and dedication always things will come out right. And it is even better if we receive this kind of feedback from our most important guests like you.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the service from our staff, the room features and benefits and we feel really pleased to know that you had a nice experience in our restaurant.

We highlight our commitment to continue in search of the excellence. And if you would think to return in the future, please feel free to contact us in order to make all the possible arrangements and make you feel at home.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,763)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 2,763 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Plaza de Armas. My husband is a Marriott gold member and we got upgraded to a suite. Words of advice, ask for a room location inside. Our first night was located outside along the busy street. All night long we heard honking, talking, and cars idling. JW should place double pane windows in those rooms to help decrease the outside noise. We asked for a room change and moved us to a regular inside room which was very nice. It was very quiet and roomy. We then returned back to Cusco for another night prior flying back to Lima. We got upgraded again to a suite located inside. The staff is very courteous, attentive and very pleasant. Breakfast was included which was very good with yummy pastries, cereals, hot food and egg station. We had free wifi in our room which was plus. I would definitely recommend this hotel. My husband and I travel extensively throughout the world and this is our favorite JW Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VegasLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your encouraging comments about the hotel in the trip advisor website; we truly consider that your opinion is a really valuable tool.

Sincerely, I feel honored for you and your husband considering us your favorite JW Marriott, we are proud of the service and product we deliver daily to our guest but such kind words coming from a Marriott Elite Member and a well-known traveler is really flattering.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, our nice rooms, the delicious breakfast we offer as well as our convince Wi-Fi internet available throughout the property; but most of all I would like to thank your gratitude to our staff service, it makes me feel proud and also thankful for bringing out this generous comments from our guests. Also I appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms that is definitely something we will keep in mind.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in the magical city of Cusco.

Warm Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

By far the best hotel in Cusco, excellent service, excellent location! Food is excellent too. Staff was excellent, we felt very comfortable and very safe in hotel. Keep it up. I would definitely stay in this hotel if I come back to Cusco.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kundur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your opinion is very much appreciated by us in order to achieve our goal of excellence.

It is gratifying to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service and the Hotel facilities.

Please let us know if you plan to visit Cusco again so we can provide a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights and it was one of the best experiences I ever had.My friend and I checked in before and after doing the Inca Trail.The rooms are very comfortable, the facilities were excellent and the location is wonderful because you can walk anywhere in the Downtown area.But above all what made my stay one of the best ever was the staff.They were courteous,friendly,warm and always behaving in a professional way.They cater to all your needs and ready to serve you at the drop of the hat.When I get back to Cusco I am not staying anywere else.Just the best Hotel I have stayed in my life

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We very much appreciate your feedback; an invaluable tool in search of the excellence.

We are really pleased to know that we exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Room was nice. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food from hotel restaurant was excellent! Much better than most restaurants with higher ratings in the city. Very close to the main plaza and lots of nearby restaurants. Streets are safe to walk at night. Ps. Map location on tripadvisor is inaccurate! It's maybe two blocks from main square. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Th623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is my honor to read your comments, as they encourage us to continue improving in search of the excellence.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the fact that you received a special service from our restaurant and all of our staff.

On the other hand, please let us know whether you would think to come back in the future, in order to offer you the service you deserve and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Excellent! Fantastic stay in a re- claimed monastery. Our understanding is that 60% of the reclamation needed to be true to the original. Couple this beautiful structure with great rooms, caring staff, and central location and you are at arguably the best hotel in Cusco. Don't miss the native weaver in the courtyard. After our stressful driving to get to see the Nasca lines this was a restful refuge to recover and experience the true beauty of the people and history of Peru. Don't miss the San Pedro market, Sacred Valley, and Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the Hotel facilities.

Moreover we very much appreciate your feedback; it is an invaluable tool in search of the excellence. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Built out of an old monastery with real inca walls, we stayed here for four days and the experience was fantastic. The food was great, Peruvian style and included in our room package. I felt sick due to the altitude the first day and the hotel sent their onsite paramedic to administer oxygen. I felt better the day and they kept checking on me for the next two days to see if we needed anything. The concierge was very helpful whenever we had questions. You can’t beat the location of the hotel; close to the Plaza des Armas. Enough said - this is definitely a place to consider staying on your visit to Cusco.

Room Tip: Choose a room with oxygen supply. You wont regret it!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service you received from our staff, the atmosphere of the Hotel and our facilities.

Looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#13 of 170 in Cusco
3,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $202 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing